Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Homecroft Elementary School 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
The staff goes above and beyond for the love of their students. The administration is ok. They say they care but they only care about scores. They arent very unorganized. Not sure why, but there are a unusually high number of male teachers. If your kid does well with men, this is your school.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Homecroft is a great school. Mrs. Poynter goes above and beyond making my child comfortable, happy to learn, and helping her do her best. All the teachers and staff have been helpful and when problems did come up quick to help solve them. We love the new teaching methods! Keep it up. The problem that they can't fix though is parent involvement. More parents should be here to support their kids.

Homecroft Elementary School 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Homecroft used to be a good school under the old administration. Now, their Istep marks have decreased dramatically. As a result,, starting in third grade, the children are no longer receiving a quality education. They are being trained how to take Istep. Everything revolves around Istep. Parents were not told that their child was one of several who was labeled a failure before they even took the test and we're being taken out of class everyday to attend remediation classes. We paid book rental for books (science and social studies) that they have never opened. Let's not forget the humiliation they felt being pulled out of class in front of others and labeled as slow or stupid. We found this out from the children. Trying to talk to the administration and staff is a joke. They are only concerned about funding and how the low scores will affect the almighty dollar. They are getting a surprise. More than they suspect are pulling their children out of Homecroft. We are pulling our child and putting him in private school as I am sure most Perry schools are like this. Save your time and money and avoid Perry Township schools. Don't learn the hard way like we did.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2012
- a parent
Great schools! Great teachers! My kids have attended since kindergarten and will finish 5th grade this year. They have received a lot of support throughout the years, specially the one that has autism. Special Ed staff has always worked extra hard and I don't have the words to express all my gratitude to them. Really great school, I would recommend it in a heartbeat! One time when my child was in 1st grade and he was sick, the teacher came to our home to visit and see if he was doing ok; she also brought him a coloring book. That was the most amazing thing I could ever ask for-teachers that actually enjoy their jobs and are willing to go above and beyond expectations. Thank you very much, my kids will miss Homecroft a lot.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
Homecroft is a fantastic neighborhood elementary school. The administration and teachers are very friendly and have built a wonderful community among the whole staff. We appreciate the diverse student body, and the teachers do a nice job of challenging students at a wide range of ability levels. We considered several other schooling options, but we are very glad that we chose Homecroft.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
My husband and I love how our son , who is in second grade,is excited about going to school. Mrs. Fletcher goes above and beyond to make his educational experience exciting.

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
The school is great my kids like the teacher 's and staff it first year for use .we like it alot . submitted by laurie jenkins

Homecroft Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a parent
Posted March 20, 2008 This is our 5th year at this school. It's great to see a faculity that love their jobs. It shows! Submitted by Roxann Pattison

Homecroft Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
We came from another school in this district and are very pleased with the school as a whole. Special Education teachers are very well trained and want feedback from parents as to how to best serve our children. This did not happen at the other school we came from. I really love this school and the staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Homecroft Elementary School
1551 Southview Drive, Indianapolis, IN  46227
(317) 789-3500
Last modified Homecroft Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Homecroft Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.