Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
930206581c716e154ea7b89008f7de7a4e18a1ec-130

Southport Middle School

GreatSchools rating:
Community rating:
State rating: C
7-8
District
Indianapolis IN

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Help this school win $5,000
by posting a review


12 reviews of this school


Southport Middle School 5379204 4

Posted December 08, 2013
- a community member
I love my principal at SMS. There are some teachers that I hate their teaching style. I pove how we have so many fundraisers. Student of the Month and Cougar Extra Effort Award is sponsored by Texas Roadhouse. The deans are hands on with bullying problems. The counsellers try their best to help. The teachers are absolutely amazing. Go to this school. There are amazing students here too.

Southport Middle School 4972525 1

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
Parents are not provided opportunities to be involved. Bullying is rampant, classes are chaotic and fighting occurs on the regular. I have had to make extraordinary efforts to communicate with teachers as they do not reach out to parents at all. After a year at this school, my daughter could not tell me who the school principal was. That is a serious disconnect. If you have any alternative choice of school, I would recommend you avoid this one for your child's emotional well-being.

Southport Middle School 2195702 1

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of a student at SMS. I have not had a good experience with this school. I recommend going to a different school if you are choosing between multiple schools. The teachers are absent a lot. I do not feel that the teachers are concerned about providing an education. If a student doesn't start out ahead, they will have problems at this school. There is no room for improvement. You are bad or good. It is hard to dig yourself out of a hole. My child makes good grades, but some of the teachers do not like my child. My child can't do anything to please some of the teachers.

Southport Middle School 3539384 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a student
i am a past student at Southport and its a wonderful school Ive met some of the best people you can find the teachers are nice the students are great and the school is magnifecent I'm very happy i chose to attend the school and if i was still in middle school id go back

Southport Middle School 3425431 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Southport Middle School 3412320 1

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southport Middle School 2518570 5

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southport Middle School 2368370 0
no rating

Posted June 02, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southport Middle School 1479794 5

Posted October 06, 2006
- a parent
Our family has had a wonderful experience at SMS. There are many helpful teachers and staff who all seem very involved in each child's abilities to achieve in all areas of life, not just academics. We have superior music programs, sports programs, after school academic offerings - it's nearly limitless! My children have a difficult time selecting what they want to take for after school programs! I know it isn't a perfect school, none are, but as of this writing, we've had a very positive experience with the school, teachers and staff. I would recommend SMS over other area schools - despite our socioeconomically varied student body, SMS seems to have good student/teacher ratios and is striving to help each child become their best! I love the dress code, too. What a difference it makes. Improvements? Parent involvement is terrible - not the fault of the school though! Involvement is key!

Southport Middle School 1625154 5

Posted May 11, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools, Inc. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools Inc. All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southport Middle School
5715 South Keystone Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46227
(317) 789-4600
Last modified
Southport Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.