GreatSchools Rating

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 521 students

We are best known for high academic achievement
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

My son just started Kindergarten at Burkhart Elementary this year & so far, I am very impressed with the school. The principle, teachers, & staff have been so helpful & have addressed any questions or concerns I have had. I would like others to know how important & crucial education is for our children, after all, they ARE our future. I think Burkhart Elementary is doing an amazing job helping shape & educate our children. I also admire & respect ALL of the teachers & staff for their service. I think they have one of the hardest jobs in the world & I would recommend Burkhart Elementary to anyone in Perry Township who is looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

My daughter is currently a student at Burkhart and we love this school! We've had an amazing experience there. My child was not excited about starting school and though she is very intelligent I feared she would never be an exceptional student because she is very stubborn and simply didn't care. But she is flourishing at excelling at Burkhart. I am amazed at what a wonderful student they have formed her into and how much she has learned in the last two years there. She's finishing up her first grade year in a few weeks and is reading above grade level and understands concepts like fractions and basic geometry. The teachers are amazing and administration is fabulous as well, I couldn't be happier with the education provided and experience gained at Burkhart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

My wife (who is a licensed teacher in Indiana) and I would like to learn more about how this rating was established, we both feel it does not accurately represent what is happening in the classrooms, either academically or from a behavioral standpoint. My daughter (who was selected to participate in Burkhart's equivalent of a 'gifted' program) was being constantly bullied physically and emotionally during recess by bigger kids in her own class and grade. She has always been one of the smallest kids in her class. We approached her teacher first and then the current Burkhart principal, who would do nothing....nothing. The principal even went so far as to inform my wife that if he didn't see it, then it didn't really happen. My daughter became afraid to attend due to the bullying she received at this school under the supervision of the staff at Burkhart Elementary. We finally decided to pull her out and she is doing much better at Hoosier Academies, where they are actually teaching her more. She remains in the equivalent of an accelerated program at Hoosier Academies and continues to be a gifted and prolific reader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Acedemia seems more pointed towards liberal arts rather than basic education cores. We have never been contacted for any pro-active involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

Burkhart Elementary places a huge emphasis on reading. I have a daughter there now and she has become so enthusiastic about reading. This school will place your child according to his or her abilities, in a group that works for them. It is a small school and all of the teachers really care about their students. I am thankful for schools like Burkhart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

I believe that Burkhart is wonderful. My daughter went through Burkhart and now is excelling at Perry Meridian, now my son is in first grade, and I have nothing but wonderful experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 72%
Asian 18% 2%
Hispanic 16% 10%
Black 6% 12%
Multiracial 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 27%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School (2011)
  • Indiana Top Ten High-Growth School in English/Language Arts (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:40 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr John Happersberger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 780-4285

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • All That Jazz Choir
  • Spell Bowl Team
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • Purple and white
School mascot
  • Giant
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Perry Meridian 6th Grade Academy
Perry Meridian Middle School
Perry Meridian High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Brill Road
Indianapolis, IN 46227
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 789-3600

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Mark School
Indianapolis, IN



Calvary Lutheran School
Indianapolis, IN


Faith Christian School
Indianapolis, IN


Montessori Garden Academy
Indianapolis, IN



Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download