Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
My older daughter that about graduate went burkhart she got a real high iq i don't think she would if it wasn't for them my youngest is in second grade she a challenge but got her pass what she should be they work with the kids and make sure they are pose be where they are at only thing I have a problem is the bullying and the way they handle it but kids be kids I quess

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My son just started Kindergarten at Burkhart Elementary this year & so far, I am very impressed with the school. The principle, teachers, & staff have been so helpful & have addressed any questions or concerns I have had. I would like others to know how important & crucial education is for our children, after all, they ARE our future. I think Burkhart Elementary is doing an amazing job helping shape & educate our children. I also admire & respect ALL of the teachers & staff for their service. I think they have one of the hardest jobs in the world & I would recommend Burkhart Elementary to anyone in Perry Township who is looking for a great school.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is currently a student at Burkhart and we love this school! We've had an amazing experience there. My child was not excited about starting school and though she is very intelligent I feared she would never be an exceptional student because she is very stubborn and simply didn't care. But she is flourishing at excelling at Burkhart. I am amazed at what a wonderful student they have formed her into and how much she has learned in the last two years there. She's finishing up her first grade year in a few weeks and is reading above grade level and understands concepts like fractions and basic geometry. The teachers are amazing and administration is fabulous as well, I couldn't be happier with the education provided and experience gained at Burkhart!

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 3

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
My wife (who is a licensed teacher in Indiana) and I would like to learn more about how this rating was established, we both feel it does not accurately represent what is happening in the classrooms, either academically or from a behavioral standpoint. My daughter (who was selected to participate in Burkhart's equivalent of a 'gifted' program) was being constantly bullied physically and emotionally during recess by bigger kids in her own class and grade. She has always been one of the smallest kids in her class. We approached her teacher first and then the current Burkhart principal, who would do nothing....nothing. The principal even went so far as to inform my wife that if he didn't see it, then it didn't really happen. My daughter became afraid to attend due to the bullying she received at this school under the supervision of the staff at Burkhart Elementary. We finally decided to pull her out and she is doing much better at Hoosier Academies, where they are actually teaching her more. She remains in the equivalent of an accelerated program at Hoosier Academies and continues to be a gifted and prolific reader.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 2

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 3

Posted October 18, 2005
- a parent
Acedemia seems more pointed towards liberal arts rather than basic education cores. We have never been contacted for any pro-active involvement.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2004
- a parent
Burkhart Elementary places a huge emphasis on reading. I have a daughter there now and she has become so enthusiastic about reading. This school will place your child according to his or her abilities, in a group that works for them. It is a small school and all of the teachers really care about their students. I am thankful for schools like Burkhart.

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2004
- a parent
I believe that Burkhart is wonderful. My daughter went through Burkhart and now is excelling at Perry Meridian, now my son is in first grade, and I have nothing but wonderful experiences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Henry Burkhart Elementary School
5701 Brill Road, Indianapolis, IN  46227
(317) 789-3600
Last modified William Henry Burkhart Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Henry Burkhart Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.