GreatSchools Rating

Pike High School

Public | 9-12 | 3088 students

We are best known for diversity, community support and IB/AP

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2005

I am a current student at Pike High School. From my freshman year to this now my junior year Pike seems to keep going in a downward trend. The lunches have risen from an already overpriced amount in my opinion. Everyday our meal includes french fries and some other format of the same multi-purpose meat they use. While some of the teachers are truly outstanding and are 100% devoted to the students, there are the ones that either a)are unable to educate the students, b)absolutely hate high school and teenagers or c) both. They are more concerned with students passing the classes more than they are concerned with the students actually learning. Last thing to notice is the amount of focus the school puts on basketball and football. No respect is given to swimming, wrestling, soccer or track & field, which have all had better seasons than football (2-8). 2 words, bye!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2005

I am a current student at Pike High. The school has changed much in recent years in all aspects. The new Freshman building is now present, and it is stunning. It contains top-of-the-line everything, technologically and otherwise. There are also new principals for both the main building and the Freshman Center, both of which seem very promising. The main building is undergoing much renovation, and it soon may be just like new. The IB curriculum is now officially in place, making an extremely rigorous and world-reknowned program available to gifted students. Overall, things are looking up for Pike High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2004

I am a current student at Pike, and I feel like I have received a good education. Although Pike lacks in many things, this year I have felt that many changes have been made for the better. The new principal, I think, has much to do with it. Although Pike Township has spent a lot of money on the building and the new freshmen center, I feel like it gives us something to actually be proud of. It is hard to be proud of your school if it is overcrowded and in bad shape, and I think the cosmetic changes helped for the better. Also, there are now many resources that we students never had. I also have the experience of learning to live in the real world, because of the diversity at Pike and the fact that I have learned to become independent. I feel cultured about many things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2004

Much better so far with the new principals! My son goes there and I can already see the improvement over previous years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

I fear for my granddaughter's safety every school day! There are too many fights and too much violence not addressed. The teachers spend more time keeping the peace than teaching. The average student gets over-looked and left to learn on their own. This is no way to insure a secure future for our children. I feel too much money is spent on athletics, new buildings, and cosmetic improvements. Put that money in teacher salaries, text-books, healthier lunches, and keeping the arts funded. Children live what they learn and most of the kids at Pike aren't learning. Just because they graduate, one way or another, doesn't mean they've learned anything other than how to survive Pike High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

I am a recent graduate of Pike, and my four-year experience was, in a word, subpar. I am fortunate to have been an AP student, member of National Honor Society, and to be a member of the top ten percent of my class with an Academic Honors Diploma. I am also fortunate to be naturally intelligent enough to be self-taught. Anything I truly needed to know, I learned from an AP teacher or from myself. There are too many students for most teachers to make time for an individual. Quality education can be received through the AP and Honors programs, but one is 'hard-pressed' to find the elusive quality education in regular classes. In a school where basketball reigns three thousand students, it is easy to see why many Pike graduates are frustrated and ecstatic to leave Pike behind--not because it is high school, because it is Pike.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2004

I have had a teen @ PHS for the past 3 years and have seen the administration of Pike hide events that would cause any parent to pull thier child from that high school immediatly. This is why I would not recommend PHS to my dead dog!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I feel that this school does not provide enough quality time with the children at this schoool to get to thier needs. This shcool has a poor education skills. I feel that they should help the children more than just pass them. Pike needs to take more time to develpe a good school year curriculum for the students. Although schools have there pros and cons so one of pikes cons is education and one of there pros is Basketball. So overall this school is very poor in education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2004

As a parent of a learning disabled child I am disappointed in their special education department and in some of the 'regular' teachers attitudes toward their needs. rather than tearing down the school next door to make a parking lot and spending money on a separate building for freshman, I feel they would do better to spend that money cutting down the violence and having inclusion classes for special needs. I feel money should be used to get and keep good teachers and to not let kids slip between the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

I feel confident that my child will receive a good education at PHS based on the goals/values of the teaching staff and the curriculum offered. The teachers seem genuinely concerned that my daughter (and fellow students in her class), understand the subject at hand and, if needed, offer a variety of resources to help. For the first time (in a long,long time) my daughter is actually excited about learning and is anxious about attending school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

614 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

685 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
34%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

751 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

50%

Average SAT score

953

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
67%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
45%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.4
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
19
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
65%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 12%
Hispanic 15% 10%
White 13% 72%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A46%
Special education 13%N/A14%
English learners 7%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Guion Creek Middle School
Lincoln Middle School
New Augusta Public Academy North
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 8% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
IUPUI
Indiana State
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Dutch
French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweeks Best High Schools (2013)
  • Washington Post Most Challenging High Schools (2013)
  • Ap Honor Roll School (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • American Cancer Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15 am
School end time
  • 2:25 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Troy Inman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 328-7239

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Best Buddies
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • El Puente
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • JROTC
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Crimson, White
School mascot
  • Red Devil
More from this school
  • As a Pike High School student, your child will benefit from a comprehensive array of academic offerings designed to meet the needs of students at every level of the learning spectrum. Our prestigious International Baccalaureate Program, Advanced Placement courses, and Dual Credit opportunities allow academically ambitious students to realize their full potential, while our unique academy structure provides engaging, relevant lessons in personalized learning environments organized around broad ar
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
IUPUI
Indiana State
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 60%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 8%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5401 West 71st Street
Indianapolis, IN 46268
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 291-5250

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download