Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 68 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


73 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pike High School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a student
Great AP and Honors classes to prepare you for college. Excellent athletic program resulting in famous NBA and NFL players. Highly recommended.

Pike High School 4

Posted July 13, 2014
- a parent
Pike High School has great honors and AP classes. The music and sports programs are worthwhile. It is a diverse school with many opportunities. Some alumni have become NBA and NFL players and one stars on Saturday Night Live.

Pike High School 1

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Sad experience at Pike!!! This was the absolute worst choice I could as far as a high school for my child. The Freshman Center administration lacks compassion, this isn't a school, it's a prison and children aren't treated with respect.

Pike High School 2

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
Leadership in the district needs to be scrutinized as ineffective. Pike has floundered in mediocrity for the last five years.

Pike High School 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
A horrible school and administration, especially the shameful special education admin. Do NOT send your child to this school, or any of the Pike elementary or middle schools- if you are looking for a new home, seek another township or suburb where your children and tax dollars don't go towards this substandard education. The special ed admin has a well known poor reputation state-wide with other schools and staff. The incompetent special ed admin WILL impact your child: Children with special needs are given little to no assistance, and this not only affects their education but the entire classroom environment as well. The schools are physically and emotionally unsafe for your child unless placed in a gifted and talented class. Save yourself the fear and heartache for your child and do not send them to this school system.

Pike High School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
that school is one of the best school there can be i sent my son to Ben Davis but they did not treat him with the respect he needed just because he is Puertorique o.

Pike High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
My husband and I are graduates of Pike (2002). We took several classes together and both agreed that we had great teachers. We are college educated with great careers. We don't attribute all of our success to Pike because education regardless of the level is what you make of it. Every school has its issues and it depends on the student to not get distracted. Plus my parents were heavily involved in my academic success and didn't leave it to the teachers and counselors.

Pike High School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
Pike is not for everyone. Teachers and Coaches show favoritism towards certain kids. The admistration staff is not worthy of praise; I have not seen them treat students equally in discipline and half do their jobs. The counselors mislead students into taking unnecessary classes. Pike High preachs about doing IB track allowing so the school will look good yet the students grades are average (C). Teachers are not on the same page, which means they teach and grade unfairly. With that being said Pike High School should reconsider their adminstrative staff and teachers.

Pike High School 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
This school is the best place for your child in INDIANA!! Plenty of extra help, great sports programs, fantastic teachers, DIVERSITY which helps create a well rounded child, an international Baccalaureate program and most of all, it' has a first class facility! You cant go wrong....My son is a sophmore and love his school!

Pike High School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a student
As a past student of Pike, I was more prepared than most students in college. Pike taught me the exact skills needed to succeed in college and in the real world. What aggravated me more than anything was the misinformed and ignorant views people have towards Pike. It was viewed as "ghetto" but the massive ranges in diversity, both cultural and socioeconomic, are outstanding. I would recommend Pike to any parent who wants their child to avoid cliques, and bullying from private schools because everyone is so unique at Pike that you'll be accepted into a group somewhere. The fact that Pike got a 3/10 on this website is a travesty and I hope that parents who are looking at Pike don't take those numbers into account and look at the wonderful reviews from parents and students because Pike is really worth it and, in my book, is a 10/10.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pike High School
5401 West 71st Street, Indianapolis, IN  46268
(317) 291-5250
Last modified Pike High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pike High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews.