GreatSchools Rating

Warren Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 3589 students

We are best known for educational and career pathways

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

my school is a top rated school & everyone should come check it out because it is so good
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2011

This school has many teachers who don't seem to understand what a teacher should do, and everyone seems to do what they want, and not in a good way. Kids talking about drugs here and there, pregnant girls over there, some other kids fighting. Not much at this school for success. Only way to try and achieve success is to ignore everyone around you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

5- Warren Central has great parent participation. Almost all extra-curricular activities have their own parent booster organization dedicated to the success of the program. Warren Central also has a PTSA (Parent Teacher Student Association.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Warren Central allows students to achieve the most out of their academic career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

I currently attend the school, and they are cracking down on students, which is fine with me because I don't want the school to be looking bad. We have the best sports teams, and speech time. The PAC center, and WCC is excellent. I take a engineering class, and its a college course class. Its amazing. The more your involved in this school, the better you are, because you don't want to be just another face in the crowd. I love all my teachers, there hard working and they do a pretty good job.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I am greatly disappointed with this school. More money is spent on appearance and sports than education. When I first moved to the Indianapolis area I situated myself in Warren Township so that my son would be able to attend. That was 12yrs ago and boy am I not impressed. It appears that the counselors and teachers are more self-concerned than concerned about the students unless they are some all-star or sports player. Although I pay to rent books, there are some they are never allowed to bring home. My child is as we speak studying for finals with just his notes. I don't know that this book I paid to rent even ever existed. I left a message for my son's counselor regarding his schedule for next school year over 2 months ago and I'm still waiting for a callback. The school is too big, split it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

As a parent of one who has graduated and one who is a senior this year, I can honestly say that is is one of the best schools in the Marion county metro area. The teachers and staff are very helpful and have answered all my questions with respect. The choir and orchastra departments are both excellent. My daughter credits the teachers there with giving her the work ethic needed for Ball State which she is now into her junior year for a criminaligist degree. I hope this review has been of help and that your experiences are as fulfilling as my children were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

Any parent out there with a daughter going to Warren Central, please be aware! Your daughter may be in harms way with no one there that can help her- let's say no one will help her. No matter how many times you or her go to the principal, it does not matter. They will say it is the girl's fault even if the boy admits or is caught on tape. The security and discipline in this school is..well, lets say there is none. I tried calling several times to get involved to get help with this- a situation that is spinning out of control. Do your research, you will find,as I did, the lawsuits for this very samething. Protect your child! Get involved! I am sorry to say it is for this reason, after 15 years we are moving out of this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

I am very disappointed in Warren Central. I graduated from there myself and moved back to the district so that my child could attend Warren. I believe I made a serious mistake in doing that. The younger teachers try to inspire all the students but the rest simply lable them and treat them according to their lables. Most of the administrators try, but they are so fixated on maintaining what they feel is necessary for discipline (and many of the rules are trivial and unnecessary) that they don't manage to accomplish real discipline. I truly believe that I made a real mistake in returning to the district and am working to rectify that error. The district still does a very good job at the elementary level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

'Dub-C' is a great school. Maybe not the best, but it's still pretty awesome. The principle is one of the best principles I've every had. He's funny, has great leadership, and is fully involved with the 3,500 students that attend WCHS. The teachers are pretty good and seem to be quite knowledgeable. As for the facilities...STATE-OF-THE-ART. They have a huge, new Freshman Academy that separates the new-comers from the upper-classmen. Not to mention the Freshmen have their own cafeteria, office, and totally cool fieldhouse. Simply said, the Freshmen are spoiled. WCHS also has a Walker Career Center and Performing Arts Center(WCC&PAC). This helps the students take real life preparing courses and the best thing, it's not just for students. Classes like Denrtal Assisting and Engineering Design are avaliable for adults,too. The only downfall to Warren is their security and parent involvement. I also think the school should be year-round.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2004

I think that Warren is an excellent school, and offers many opportunities not only to the students but for adults as well, through the Carrer center. My only complaint is why is the tuition so high for a public school? And can they come up with a better reason for the cost besides being out of the district? I would like my son to attend this next fall, he has already signed up for his classes, and did better this past year then he did at the private school he attended the past three years. I told him I would get him there no matter what but honestly, I have not a clue, as to how I am going to do it. if anyone out there has an answer, about any of this I would like to hear from you. B. Coilch
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

This is a great school district. Warren Central High School boasts a top-notch performing arts center, a brand-new Freshman Academy, and excellence in academics and athletics. Part of what makes it such a great school is the racial and ethnic diversity that is so prominent; it really helps teach students the importance of respect towards those who are different than them. A school with such diversity better represents and introduces students to the real world that they will face in the future at college and in their jobs. The chance that a WCHS student will get the best education possible is extremely great at Warren Central. Great facilities, professional and exceptional educators, and a diverse range of respectful and intelligent students make Warren Central High School one of the best in Indiana, if not the entire United States.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2004

As a graduate of Warren, and someone who was very involved, I know a lot about how the school works. As with any school, it has its problems, but I have to say that overall, I truly enjoyed my time at Warren. I encountered some excellent teachers, and made lasting friendships. Most of the teachers are serious about preparing their students for college, and they do whatever they can to help. Being a certified band geek, this is where I tell you that the band program is wonderful! I learned a lot about music and life, and am now a music major at Ball State. And one last thing, Principal Burchett is a wonderful, wonderful man. He's very friendly and a truly elegant speaker. I heard many fine words from that man, from the events of 9/11 to inspiration for the graduating class. Warren is a good school, and I would encourage anyone to attend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2003

My children are afraid of negative repercussions if I comment on the school. Suffice to say, I am extremely unhappy with the performance of the entire administration at Warren Central High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Warren Central is a great school. Mr. Burchett is such a wonderful principal. Mr. Burchett, as well as other staff enjoy helping students and keeping the school safe. Students that attend Warren Central can be guranteed a good learning experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

725 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
22%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

868 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
24%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

876 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

51%

Average SAT score

931

Graduation rate

87.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
55%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
48%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.1
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
17
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
68%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 12%
White 34% 72%
Hispanic 9% 10%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 5%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Creston Middle School
Stonybrook Middle School
Raymond Park Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:20 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:50 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr Richard Shepler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 532-6459

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9500 East 16th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46229
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 532-6200

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download