Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Allisonville Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Allisonville Elementary School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Allisonville Elementary School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Allisonville is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Allisonville students move through one of our district s three middle schools, and eventually to The MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
December 30, 2014

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
We moved specifically to a neighborhood so that our children could attend Allisonville Elementary. Could not have been happier with our choice! Outstanding teachers, curriculum and our daughters both excelled in the gifted and talented program. Highly recommend!

Allisonville Elementary School 4

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
We are a highly rigorous school district that provides learning opportunities for all abilities and ages.

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Allisonville's teachers are great! They go above and beyond to make learning fun for the students. They use technology in the classrooms, and students are using inquiry based learning all of the time. The administration is extremely supportive of students, parents, teachers, and the Washington Township community!

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Allisonville is a great school school in a supportive community. Allisonville staff embraces the diverse learners that they serve and helps each student reach his/her potential. they provide excellent educational programs for students; however, with more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Allisonville is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
This is my child's first year and in the short amount of time that he has been there, I can see how he is developing academically, as well as, socially. I'm excited to see what else is to come.

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Allisonville is amazing for my child she loves being there but she is unhappy because this is her last year at aves (allisonvelle school) next year she would be older an not a baby any more she is moving on to the 6th grade she will be find she will still be with allisonville just not there she will be an middle school students her new school is Eastwood middle school she is all grown up thank u aves for making my sweet little girl into who she is now I help of course

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the best elementary schools I have had the pleasure of experiencing. I am a Military Brat and have seen quite a few. The teachers and staff genuinely care about the children and their education. This is a very large and diverse township with all income levels and walks of life. It's one of the things that make this school so great! Regardless what educational level the student enters, the educators here help them to get to grade level, stay at and then excel past it. Truly amazing work! The school should be graded higher!! I am truly appreciative for all this school has done for both of my children. Thank-you for being great!!!
1 person found this helpful

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
Allisonville is a fantastic school - great leadership, wonderful teachers, enriching diversity, highly engaged parents. It is a very inclusive environment, and as an International Baccalaureate school, it offers an interesting curriculum that encourages cross-discipline learning and helps students to think globally. The Dad's Club organizes and hosts many events each year which provide inexpensive or free family fun. For those concerned with test scores, they can rest easy - Allisonville posts scores that are higher than state average in all or nearly grade levels and categories. I have lost all faith in GreatSchools.org. By any metric, A'ville is certainly higher than a 6 out of ten. This saddens me, because many parents will overlook our and other wonderful schools based on bad information. It's all part of the effort to defame urban and diverse public schools to push the privatization agenda. Please take a minute to research this not-for-profit's funders and you will see what I mean.

Allisonville Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
All three of my children have went to Allisonville and I'm so thankful they were able to attend this school. The staff is so friendly from the janitor to the teachers and the principal is great as well. Parent participation is always so strong the parking lot is full:) My kids were not left behind my oldest was a part of title 1 and my youngest did speech therepy. This school tries to make sure our children are prepared for the rest of their years of their education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Allisonville Elementary School
4900 East 79th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46240
(317) 845-9441
Last modified Allisonville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Allisonville Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top