GreatSchools Rating

Eastwood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 760 students

We are best known for 2011 National School to Watch award

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2013

Too much drama and the teachers here....OMG i hate most of them (except Mr. Mitchell) ok but the acedemics are awesome i guess... bye


Posted November 26, 2012

Eastwood Middle School has been a wonderful surprise for this mom. With one child who is now a 7th grader & another who'll be entering next year, I can compare & contrast my apprehensions about my oldest child's first days at Eastwood with the excitement I feel now for my younger daughter next year. The school is rather small; very simply laid out.We felt a warmth & sense of welcoming I just never had associated with the idea of "middle school." But that's Eastwood. Not that the curriculum isn't rigorous. Eastwood is an IB school & Principal Matt Kaiser & his staff ask no more of the students than they ask of themselves. & they ask A LOT of themselves.I volunteer a few hours, weekly & I see only part of what these men & women put into their days, nights & wknds on the students' behalf. It may take a village to raise a child, but it takes a group of people who give above & beyond to make a public school this good.In my 2 years of being an Eastwood parent, I've met many such teachers & staff. We're a family of Chinese Americans.My daughter had to deal with racial taunting in another school.There have been NO such incidents at Eastwood where my daughter feels, in her words,"at home."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Great opportunities, great faculty, great kids. We have two very advanced children, and the school has done anything we have asked to challenge them and provide them with the resources they need. They faculty is good at differentiation of instruction
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers are dedicated, caring, and knowledgable. The administration seems Intelligent, committed, and keenly interested in making the school better. A public school in a township whose demographics have become quite mixed socioeconomically, Eastwood, like the Washington Township school district in general, has worked hard to change with its shifting student population, and to keep up with the latest in pedagogical methods. The faculty does a good job with discipline, which, as we all know, is never easy. The school, incidentally, is underrated--a lot better than its GreatSchools ranking of 6 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

ive been going to eastwood for 3 years this is unfotunatly my last year here the schools great and i love it this is the school for me i wouldnt have it and other way and the football program is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

My daughter went somewhere else and she was getting d's now that she goes to eastwood she has been getting c's b's and some a's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I have only been attenting Eastwood Middle School for nine weeks, but already, I feel like it's been all three years. Even though I'm only a sixth grader, I still have almost as many opportunities as even eighth graders! I love all of my teachers, and our assistant principals. I have made lots of new friends, and had a great time. The building even sets a good vibe because of how clean and beautiful it is!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

I think they need more resoures for child with disabilites. And better programs for them. Teachers need to learn about didabilites so they can better help children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I Diddio the previous comments/reviews made. Eastwood staff seem to really care about the students and their future. I feel the curriculum maybe tough, but if students are to be college bound, this is a good start for college. Overall, I think WTS is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

My son just transferred to Eastwood Middle School- and I cannot tell you how glad I am! The teachers and principal are responsive to parents and really care about the students. Thank you Eastwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Our child is an 8th grade student on the Gold Star team. We couldn't ask for a better group of professionals to teach our child. The curriculum is challenging and is definitely preparing our child for high school next year. This is our second child at Eastwood and we have been very pleased with the most of the teachers we have encountered. Plenty of chances for parent involvement as well. Our 8th grader often makes positive comments about how much she appreciates her teachers. Of course, she has her favorites. But all in all, she is enthusiastic about her school and has obtained a great level of confidence there. The performing arts program is particularly well-run. Both of our kids participated in the music program, both band, orchestra and choir. The teachers there care and it is very much appreciated. Thank you, Eastwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

I am a student at Eastwood and I love it! There are so many oppurtunities for me and other other students! I am an 8th Grade student on the Blue Star team. I have so many good teachers that are wonderful at what they do!I love Eastwood and I'm sad Because I have to leave next Year and i really don't want to! If you are thinking about putting your child into Eastwood You are making the right choice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2005

Four Star School again! Eastwood exceeds in meeting all expectations for our family and many others. Quality of academic programs - excellent. Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities - excellent. Parent-teacher involvement - excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

My son just started at this middle school. He enjoys it so much! The teachers are wonderful! I was nervous about the transfer to middle school but this school has a great system in place for the kids. I will never take my children out of Washington Township!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2003

Eastwood is a great school. My child has ben going here and she loves it. I've met all the teachers she has ever had and the teachers do provide a safe and likeable enviroment for my child.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 72%
Black 37% 12%
Multiracial 9% 4%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 5%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:10 am
School end time
  • 4:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Matt Kaiser
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 259-5407

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
North Central High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4401 East 62nd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46220
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 259-5401

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Matthew School
Indianapolis, IN



Nexus Academy
Indianapolis, IN




St. Pius X School
Indianapolis, IN


Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download