GreatSchools Rating

North Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 3402 students

We are best known for AVID classes and IB program

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

My daughter is a Senior at NC. I have to say Mom and I are very happy with her experience all years. The thing I wanted to comment on was the anti bullying and safety policies- they have been excellent. Have to say, stuff happens and NC has jumped on it fast to squash it. Teachers are out in the halls or stand next to their classroom doors when classes change. Teachers have come from other classrooms when necessary - programs in place for quick response. There are armed police in school and there is an Indianapolis police roll-call building on campus grounds. There is a Middle School, a Special Ed school and a J Everet Light student career training center on campus. There exists great "unit integrity" within the student body. Especially impressive with the local and international social-economic diversity within the student body. As young brains develop and exposure to new things come quickly; choices are made. I want to thank Washington Township for adhering to the core principles introduced in Kindergarten and maintained all 13 years that gave a strong support network to kids making choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

North Central is a very big, diverse, challenging, and fun high school. However, it might not be perfect for everybody. I really like all of the opportunities North Central has to offer. There are more than 100 fun, random, crazy, community service, and academic clubs. (Flash mob, national honors societies, rock climbing, outreach, key club, the lemonade club, etc.) There are a lot of languages that one can learn, and the AP courses are rewarding. In the performing arts department, there are 3 orchestras (go symphony orchestra!) more than 4 choirs, and a few bands (?) Summer school is also a blast! You get credits, learn the way around, and meet new people! (4 credits before I even started freshman year. thank you panther prep!) North Central is not perfect though. Yes there are some very rude, mean, snotty, lazy, and/ or wild people, but those types of people are EVERYWHERE! I am in all honors, meaning I am with the kids who actually care about their education and future. To really have the best experience here, get involved, be social, know people, be in honors, and do your best. North Central might not be for everybody, but I think It is worth looking into. Thank you! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2013

My sons are both graduates of NCHS. One is a UMich graduate who entered there with enough credits to finish in 3 years because of AP and IB credits. He has a Georgetown law degree and works for Boeing. My other son is a 2012 Georgetown University graduate. He teaches AP World History at Wilson High School in the Washington D.C. schools. He also is doing graduate work. NCHS is a great school. Parents need to be involved. For students, there is everything to learn and experience. It is the last chance for free education! NCHS prepares students for college and for life in the big world out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

this is the worst school in Indianapolis. I went here my freshman year and absolutely hated it!!!!! I am now homeschooled. This school is way to much to handle!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2013

There are many opportunities provided for all students, however, due to it's size, it can be easy to get loss in the shuffle. learn as much as you can abuot the offerings and programs the school has to offer to help your child navigate such a big system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

This school is full of wild and rude kids. they do nothing about bullying and violence. Dont sent your kid here if you gotta choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2012

This school is honestly a very good one, it provides wonderful classes that challenge their students, a variety of diplomas, a great athletic and performing arts program. However, this school is so large and it is extremely " cliquey". Some students are friendly but there are a lot of just really rude students that make the experience un-enjoyable. I wouldn't suggest sending someone to this school especially if they are emotionally fragile. If you kid is super popular and great with people then sure they'll do just fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2012

Many, many opportunities at NCHS. Husband graduated in the 80s, children graduated in the 90s, and currently have a senior attending. Excellent academic programs, superior performing arts. The sports program, however, leaves MUCH to be desired. If your child excels academically or in performing arts, this is a wonderful community for him/her. If your child ALSO excels in any sport other than soccer, you might consider a travel club rather than him or her playing for the high school. Your child can have it all - if you are willing to pursue it for him/her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

A very overrated school. It takes itself much too seriously. It is arrogant in its treatment of students and parents. It has lived off its high rating in Newsweek for much too long. Sure it has a great performing arts program but the emphasis and praise is always on the high achievers. For the average student I really question the quality of the education. In many ways it is saved by having the John Everett Light school next door. I will be very glad when my child graduates out of the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

For some, this school will be great. The amount of different and unique classes offered IS amazing and I loved taking jewelry. Most of the teachers are great but there are, like other schools, incredibly awful ones. My big complaint is the size. There are students who will love going to a school this large and will thrive on in but I personally hate it. Individual attention is lacking, and there is no personal relationship with your counselor. There aren't many opportunities for the shy students to speak up as large classes can be intimidating. I personally believe the middle of the pack can get lost in the eyes of the teachers and administration, most of their praise goes to the few IB students ordisdain the low scorers. Many classes are taught to the AP test and the teachers sometimes lack in creativity because of it. I wish I liked NC more, I really do but it's just not for me. Not to mention the school hours suck, but I guess there isn't much control over that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2010

I am a graduate of North Central High School and I wouldn't have want to go anywhere else. It offers almost any class or extra curricular a child would want to be involved in. The teachers are very helpful. The school excels in athletics as well as performing arts. I participated in both and student government. I think there's a place for everyone at North Central. If you do not believe me google it. I think you will agree with me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

My daughter attended private school from K-8. We always thought we would send her to private high school, but investigated N. Central as well as private high schools. To our surprise,no private school could be N. Central's academic opportunities- AP, IB, ACP classes. Also, our daughter is in the Symphony Orchestra (state champions 2009 and many other years!). No one can compare to N. Central when it comes to performing arts. Our daughter is a sophomore now, and has thrived in the challenging, diverse atmosphere- we are very happy with our choice. Any reservations we had about the size of the school have long faded away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Because it offered the best in many disciplines from math to foreign language, to drama and music but still put its all in sports and alternative ed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Excellent school with a lot of opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I am a alumni of NC. And it was a lovely school, I came from a private school and the school was on the same level as I was on which was a above and beyond any other school. The student body was large but i have lost of memeories at GREAT NORTH CENTRAL HIGH SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

This is a horrible school. It caters to the rich and leaves out poor or less fortunate students, even though it is a public school. It thinks that it is a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I love this school. My kids learn so much at north central and they offer so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

we are a new family to NC and our student transferred from a very small, private high school. everyone from the students, to the teachers, to the faculty, to the staff has been incredible. we have yet to have a bad experience and are overwhelmed with the opportunities available to our child. we would recommend NC to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I am also an alum of NC and went on to Purdue, a master's program and finishing my Ph.D. this year. I feel that many of NC's problems would be characteristic of any large public high school, simply because of the sheer numbers of students. The academic preparation was first-class. I discovered I was more prepared than many of my classmates in college and the standards of discipline I got from orchestra planted the seeds of academic achievement for me for years to come. The best public school education in the state of Indiana, without a doubt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

best school on earth higher education great teachers If you want your child to succeed and have the best education, I reccomend North Central, you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

850 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
41%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

847 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

79%

Average SAT score

1039

Graduation rate

86.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
73%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
33%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.6
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
22
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
81%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 40% 12%
White 40% 72%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 8%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Westlane Middle School
Eastwood Middle School
Northview Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Evans Branigan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 259-5369

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Marching band
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 East 86th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 259-5301

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download