Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Indianapolis, IN
Students enrolled: 3,402
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

North Central High School, located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the North Central HS website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, and three middle schools. Beyond our websites, we hope that you will plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. North Central High School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. North Central is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
January 02, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Central High School 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a community member
North Central High School provides the ultimate learning experience, both in and out of the classroom. The sheer size of the school, the diversity of the student body and the interactive nature in which the teachers interact with the students is something that many other schools can only dream of. I graduated from North Central in 2009 and I would not trade my experience at North Central for anything. Learning to interact with kids from all different socioeconomic backgrounds, different religions, different races and different countries is what really shaped me and helped me going forward. If you can get into the IB program, that is fantastic, but the honors classes are just as rigorous. NC is also home to amazing athletics teams, dance groups, showchoirs and student clubs, allowing a nurturing environment for kids to explore their talents, whatever they may be. As it is with most things, you get as much out of it as you are willing to put in. So for those willing to go all in, North Central provides the best opportunity to learn about in a real world environment where the sky really is the limit!

North Central High School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Please take the time to actually visit schools as you make your school choices. Schools such as North Central, which have a wide diversity of students from many backgrounds, may have lower scores on standardized tests than other schools, but if you compare the top students at North Central with students at other schools, you'll see that North Central is a FANTASTIC school that truly challenges and prepares its students for rigorous futures. The performing arts -- band, orchestra, choir -- are top notch, consistently placing in the top of the state competitions year after year. TAKE TIME TO GO HEAR THEM -- you'll immediately notice how fantastic they are. The discipline the students learn in these arts programs rubs off into all areas of their lives. My oldest son is now thriving as a sophomore in engineering, and has landed a highly sought after paid internship as a coop student. His NC education definitely prepared him for this.

North Central High School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
NCHS is a welcoming and rigorous school with a strong focus on the academic and character development of its students. It s a large school with an ethnically and economically diverse student body, which accounts for its wider spread on standardized test scores and state rankings. This in no way reflects the school as being sub-par. The well-rounded diversity of students and faculty at NC is one of it core strengths. While it has areas that could be improved, NC offers a broad range of opportunities to meet most any students needs and interests. For parents concerned about the quality education their student will receive here, rest assured, NC will challenge any student who wants to excel, and provide the faculty, facilities, and resources to enable them to succeed. NC has leading visual and performing arts programs - an overwhelming number of these students are college bound. Community volunteerism is high. It is topped ranked in the state for college readiness and competes very well with its peer public and private schools. The administration and community provide the resources its students need to succeed, and are very encouraging with students and communicative with parents.
1 person found this helpful

North Central High School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
North Central is a great high school school in a very supportive community. The North Central staff embraces the very diverse learners that they serve. They provide excellent educational programming for all students; however, with more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.
1 person found this helpful

North Central High School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
North Central HS is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.
1 person found this helpful

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
North Central High School, located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the North Central HS website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, and three middle schools. Beyond our websites, we hope that you will plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. North Central High School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. North Central is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
Posted January 02, 2015

North Central High School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a teacher
Outstanding staff with supportive parents that creates a wonderful learning environment for students! Washington Township Schools are one of few public school districts in the nation offering International Baccalaureate (IB) to all students in all schools!
2 people found this helpful

North Central High School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a Senior at NC. I have to say Mom and I are very happy with her experience all years. The thing I wanted to comment on was the anti bullying and safety policies- they have been excellent. Have to say, stuff happens and NC has jumped on it fast to squash it. Teachers are out in the halls or stand next to their classroom doors when classes change. Teachers have come from other classrooms when necessary - programs in place for quick response. There are armed police in school and there is an Indianapolis police roll-call building on campus grounds. There is a Middle School, a Special Ed school and a J Everet Light student career training center on campus. There exists great "unit integrity" within the student body. Especially impressive with the local and international social-economic diversity within the student body. As young brains develop and exposure to new things come quickly; choices are made. I want to thank Washington Township for adhering to the core principles introduced in Kindergarten and maintained all 13 years that gave a strong support network to kids making choices.
2 people found this helpful

North Central High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a student
North Central is a very big, diverse, challenging, and fun high school. However, it might not be perfect for everybody. I really like all of the opportunities North Central has to offer. There are more than 100 fun, random, crazy, community service, and academic clubs. (Flash mob, national honors societies, rock climbing, outreach, key club, the lemonade club, etc.) There are a lot of languages that one can learn, and the AP courses are rewarding. In the performing arts department, there are 3 orchestras (go symphony orchestra!) more than 4 choirs, and a few bands (?) Summer school is also a blast! You get credits, learn the way around, and meet new people! (4 credits before I even started freshman year. thank you panther prep!) North Central is not perfect though. Yes there are some very rude, mean, snotty, lazy, and/ or wild people, but those types of people are EVERYWHERE! I am in all honors, meaning I am with the kids who actually care about their education and future. To really have the best experience here, get involved, be social, know people, be in honors, and do your best. North Central might not be for everybody, but I think It is worth looking into. Thank you! :)
2 people found this helpful

North Central High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My sons are both graduates of NCHS. One is a UMich graduate who entered there with enough credits to finish in 3 years because of AP and IB credits. He has a Georgetown law degree and works for Boeing. My other son is a 2012 Georgetown University graduate. He teaches AP World History at Wilson High School in the Washington D.C. schools. He also is doing graduate work. NCHS is a great school. Parents need to be involved. For students, there is everything to learn and experience. It is the last chance for free education! NCHS prepares students for college and for life in the big world out there!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Central High School
1801 East 86th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46240
(317) 259-5301
Last modified North Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top