Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Central High School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a Senior at NC. I have to say Mom and I are very happy with her experience all years. The thing I wanted to comment on was the anti bullying and safety policies- they have been excellent. Have to say, stuff happens and NC has jumped on it fast to squash it. Teachers are out in the halls or stand next to their classroom doors when classes change. Teachers have come from other classrooms when necessary - programs in place for quick response. There are armed police in school and there is an Indianapolis police roll-call building on campus grounds. There is a Middle School, a Special Ed school and a J Everet Light student career training center on campus. There exists great "unit integrity" within the student body. Especially impressive with the local and international social-economic diversity within the student body. As young brains develop and exposure to new things come quickly; choices are made. I want to thank Washington Township for adhering to the core principles introduced in Kindergarten and maintained all 13 years that gave a strong support network to kids making choices.

North Central High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a student
North Central is a very big, diverse, challenging, and fun high school. However, it might not be perfect for everybody. I really like all of the opportunities North Central has to offer. There are more than 100 fun, random, crazy, community service, and academic clubs. (Flash mob, national honors societies, rock climbing, outreach, key club, the lemonade club, etc.) There are a lot of languages that one can learn, and the AP courses are rewarding. In the performing arts department, there are 3 orchestras (go symphony orchestra!) more than 4 choirs, and a few bands (?) Summer school is also a blast! You get credits, learn the way around, and meet new people! (4 credits before I even started freshman year. thank you panther prep!) North Central is not perfect though. Yes there are some very rude, mean, snotty, lazy, and/ or wild people, but those types of people are EVERYWHERE! I am in all honors, meaning I am with the kids who actually care about their education and future. To really have the best experience here, get involved, be social, know people, be in honors, and do your best. North Central might not be for everybody, but I think It is worth looking into. Thank you! :)

North Central High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My sons are both graduates of NCHS. One is a UMich graduate who entered there with enough credits to finish in 3 years because of AP and IB credits. He has a Georgetown law degree and works for Boeing. My other son is a 2012 Georgetown University graduate. He teaches AP World History at Wilson High School in the Washington D.C. schools. He also is doing graduate work. NCHS is a great school. Parents need to be involved. For students, there is everything to learn and experience. It is the last chance for free education! NCHS prepares students for college and for life in the big world out there!

North Central High School 1

Posted July 23, 2013
- a student
this is the worst school in Indianapolis. I went here my freshman year and absolutely hated it!!!!! I am now homeschooled. This school is way to much to handle!!!

North Central High School 4

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
There are many opportunities provided for all students, however, due to it's size, it can be easy to get loss in the shuffle. learn as much as you can abuot the offerings and programs the school has to offer to help your child navigate such a big system.

North Central High School 1

Posted February 15, 2013
- a student
This school is full of wild and rude kids. they do nothing about bullying and violence. Dont sent your kid here if you gotta choice

North Central High School 4

Posted November 24, 2012
- a student
This school is honestly a very good one, it provides wonderful classes that challenge their students, a variety of diplomas, a great athletic and performing arts program. However, this school is so large and it is extremely " cliquey". Some students are friendly but there are a lot of just really rude students that make the experience un-enjoyable. I wouldn't suggest sending someone to this school especially if they are emotionally fragile. If you kid is super popular and great with people then sure they'll do just fine.

North Central High School 4

Posted September 09, 2012
- a parent
Many, many opportunities at NCHS. Husband graduated in the 80s, children graduated in the 90s, and currently have a senior attending. Excellent academic programs, superior performing arts. The sports program, however, leaves MUCH to be desired. If your child excels academically or in performing arts, this is a wonderful community for him/her. If your child ALSO excels in any sport other than soccer, you might consider a travel club rather than him or her playing for the high school. Your child can have it all - if you are willing to pursue it for him/her!

North Central High School 2

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
A very overrated school. It takes itself much too seriously. It is arrogant in its treatment of students and parents. It has lived off its high rating in Newsweek for much too long. Sure it has a great performing arts program but the emphasis and praise is always on the high achievers. For the average student I really question the quality of the education. In many ways it is saved by having the John Everett Light school next door. I will be very glad when my child graduates out of the place.

North Central High School 3

Posted January 24, 2011
- a student
For some, this school will be great. The amount of different and unique classes offered IS amazing and I loved taking jewelry. Most of the teachers are great but there are, like other schools, incredibly awful ones. My big complaint is the size. There are students who will love going to a school this large and will thrive on in but I personally hate it. Individual attention is lacking, and there is no personal relationship with your counselor. There aren't many opportunities for the shy students to speak up as large classes can be intimidating. I personally believe the middle of the pack can get lost in the eyes of the teachers and administration, most of their praise goes to the few IB students ordisdain the low scorers. Many classes are taught to the AP test and the teachers sometimes lack in creativity because of it. I wish I liked NC more, I really do but it's just not for me. Not to mention the school hours suck, but I guess there isn't much control over that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Central High School
1801 East 86th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46240
(317) 259-5301
Last modified North Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Central High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews.