Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Indianapolis, IN
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Northview Middle School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Northview Middle School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Northview Middle School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Northview is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Northview Middle School graduates attend the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
December 30, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northview Middle School 4

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
We are a highly rigorous school district that provides learning opportunities for all abilities and ages.

Northview Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Northview is a great school school in a supportive community. The Northview staff embraces the very diverse learners that they serve. They provide excellent educational programming for all students; however, with more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.

Northview Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Northview is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.

Northview Middle School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a teacher
Outstanding staff with supportive parents that creates a wonderful learning environment for students! Washington Township Schools are one of few public school districts in the nation offering International Baccalaureate (IB) to all students in all schools!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Northview Middle School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Northview Middle School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Northview Middle School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Northview is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Northview Middle School graduates attend the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
Posted December 30, 2014

Northview Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Northview is a welcoming school with strong academic programs for kids that want to excel. Lower standardized test scores reflect this school's challenges with its diverse student population (widely diverse race/ethnicity, income, and English learners), but in no way reflect that the school is sub-par. Though there are always things that could be improved, discriminating parents considering Northview shouldn't be concerned that there children won't have access to a high quality education and opportunities. The International Baccalaureate program, honors curriculum, excellent visual and performing arts (orchestra, band, choir), after school programs (such as Achieve "brain game" club), athletics, etc. keep student engaged and academically successful. Faculty and wonderful teachers help make sure the needs of all students are met. Beyond the school, the community is extremely supportive of its public schools. Northview feeds into North Central High School which is top ranked in the state for college and career readiness.
2 people found this helpful

Northview Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is great my daughter loves her teachers and friends.she says it is a great safe environment its fun and really enjoys going! when I had a issue out side of school the school completely supported us in making sure we were happy and safe as well as reassured they would make sure my kids were taking care of in the situation. Which had nothing bad to do with the school.I am extremely happy and pleased with this school and highly recommend it to all who want a safe great learning environmental for our kids.

Northview Middle School 4

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
I love diversity of the school, I moved from another state and the teachers along with the assistant principal made us feel welcome.

Northview Middle School 4

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
I like the diversity of programs. Even though I strongly believe that the class sizes are too large, I believe that the people working at the school do a good job. I feel that this is a good second choice type of option....for my son's schooling...and when I learned that Indiana spends 50% of its budget on the schools...well,...maybe this is a good place to be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northview Middle School
8401 Westfield Boulevard, Indianapolis, IN  46240
(317) 259-5421
Last modified Northview Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northview Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top