Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for viewing Spring Mill's page on the GreatSchools website! We are proud to be an International Baccalaureate World School and an Ashoka Changemaker School. If you are looking for a school with a strong sense of community, a welcoming and caring atmosphere, a world-class rigorous academic program, quality instruction tailored to the strengths and needs of students, strong student achievement data, solid partnerships between families and staff, tremendous parent involvement, a well rounded creative arts and wellness curriculum, Spanish instruction, experiences for service learning and action, and an outstanding group of educators, then Spring Mill is worth a view! Do visit us and peek into our world! You'll understand why I think it's a pretty special place for kids! I look forward to meeting you and your family soon.
January 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Mill Elementary School 3

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
The school has difficulty recruiting and retaining minority staff member which they need. Many of the white teachers do not know how to discipline all students correctly.

Spring Mill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
Thank you for a wonderful beginning for our granddaughter who already loves school and learning with you! Great start!

Spring Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
It is observable and very apparent as one makes their way down any hallway at SMill. Students and teachers are on task with lessons and/or ,meaningful activities.

Spring Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
Yes Definitely. The teachers and older students serve as role models for these qualities. WE appreciate that emphasis.

Spring Mill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
It is evident in the activities appropriate to each grade level as well as in the "messaging" throughout the school. We also hear it echoed in our child who attends SM.

Spring Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
Our Family is new to spring Mill School this Fall. We as parents and grandparents have only high regard for the Teaching staff, the Administration, and the After School Program. Every aspect of our experience has been positive....the most important one being the experience of our kindergartner. The energy level we observe as we arrive in the morning or afternoon is high, with students being the focus of each individual we encounter. The special activities such as End of Q1 recognitions, the All-School Walk, emphasis on the wellness of every child demonstrate caring attitudes on the part of all staff. The IB , PYP, focus builds great minds and good character. We are very very happy to be at Spring Mill! Keep up the great work!

Spring Mill Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
My husband and wanted to move our child into a Washington Township school. The start of his 4th grade year he started Springmill Elementary. From the first day we had problems and the school failed to make a good impression. The front office staff are rude and make parents feel unwelcomed. This year my child's teacher made a racist comment toward him and other students of color. When I approached her about it she lied and called my child liar. The principal also called my child a liar until the other students came forward and confirmed what was said. However, that situation was swept under the rug and my son has been a target for behavioral issues since filing the complaint. A lot of the staff members come across prejudice, and culturally insensitive. Diversity training is needed for many staff members at this school. I wouldn't recommend anyone send their children to this school. Your concerns will be ignored and the principal is biased when issues arise concerning the teachers.

Spring Mill Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
We have two high achieving students at Spring Mill. Spring Mill teachers do a great job challenging our children. They are accessible and responsive whenever we have questions/concerns. We are impressed by the teachers' abilities to meet the individual needs of a very diverse student population. We have no doubt our kids are getting a first class education, while also developing empathy for cultures, families, students, situations that are different than ours. We LOVE the IB curriculum and the way that Spring Mill focuses on the IB Attitudes. The principal is outstanding. When she speaks to the students in a convocation, she communicates such important ideas to the students in ways that they can understand. Our kids love all the specials - art, music, Spanish, gym, library - and those teachers are dedicated and outstanding, too. Finally, we appreciate the involvement and commitment of the Parent Teacher Organization. There are some really awesome people who are helping ensure the school has the resources it needs to meet the needs of the students. Thank you, Spring Mill! We are so pleased to part of this special community.

Spring Mill Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
We have had children at Spring Mill since 2008, and we have been extremely pleased with our experience. The teachers and staff go above and beyond to provide an excellent learning environment for each and every child. We feel that our son, who is now in middle school, was academically and emotionally well ahead of his peers. Overall, Spring Mill provides a great education in a community and family-oriented environment.

Spring Mill Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
Spring Mill is a highly diverse school community focused on developing the unique skills and strengths of each child. It is a true community where children, parents, and staff work together in an atmosphere of high expectations and solid core values. Teaching and leadership at Spring Mill are focused and skillful. The school climate is nurturing, accepting, and highly aligned with the core values of the school district and the International Baccalaureate program. It is a great place for children and families.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spring Mill Elementary School
8250 Spring Mill Road, Indianapolis, IN  46260
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (317) 259-5462
Last modified Spring Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top