Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Westlane Middle School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Westlane Middle School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Westlane Middle School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Westlane is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Westlane Middle School graduates attend the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
January 2, 2015

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westlane Middle School 4

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
We are a highly rigorous school district that provides learning opportunities for all abilities and ages.

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Westlane is a great school school in a supportive community. The Westlane staff embraces the very diverse learners that they serve. They provide excellent educational programming for all students; however, with more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Westlane is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a teacher
Outstanding staff with supportive parents that creates a wonderful learning environment for students! Washington Township Schools are one of few public school districts in the nation offering International Baccalaureate (IB) to all students in all schools!

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended Westlane. She was able to excel academically (with a fabulously challenging honors program) and be highly engaged in their arts program and women's show choir. It really prepared her for a successful high school experience. This is a great school for kids who want to excel and parents who value diversity.
1 person found this helpful

Westlane Middle School 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Westlane Middle School does not have the resources to support special needs students who are very high functioning. My son is in eighth grade and in all honors classes. There are 30 or more kids in every class, and the teachers are too overwhelmed to give him the time and extra support that he needs to be successful. In addition very little effort has been put forth to establish a relationship with him that would help foster his performance in the classroom. The teachers expect him to take more responsibility simply because it is honors classes. We have worked unsuccessfully with his resource teacher to provide him with the tools he needs. There has been very little communication with several of his regular classroom teachers. A couple of them have not even answered emails. As a former educator it is unbelievable to me that a teacher would allow a child to fail a class without even an attempt to communicate with a parent.
1 person found this helpful

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
We came to Westlane from a small, pre-dominantly white, "exclusive" private school. I am sorry we ever wasted time elsewhere as Westlane has been the answer to prayer. The education is sufficiently challenging in an environment where good choices and appropriate behavior are the expectation and the rule. The administration and teachers get results! Our child is happier than ever and thriving academically.
3 people found this helpful

Westlane Middle School 4

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
Westlane has grown every year since my child started. We have had wonderful teachers with the exception of one this year. She has been teaching to long and I feel that she needs to go. The principal is overwhelmed but does the best she can. The school needs attention from the township and some updates to the building. Good school over all.
1 person found this helpful

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a teacher
I am a teacher at Westlane and I love working here. My fellow staff members are energetic and excited about their jobs. They love kids and go the extra mile to make sure every student is receiving the best education possible. My family lives out of district but I think I am going to have my child go through Westlane because I feel so confident about what is happening here.
1 person found this helpful

Westlane Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
Westlane is a very creative school and i'm happy i've been there for my years of middle school!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlane Middle School
1301 West 73rd Street, Indianapolis, IN  46260
(317) 259-5412
Last modified Westlane Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlane Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top