Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Indianapolis, IN
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Crooked Creek is an amazing place to be! The teachers are some of the best professionals I have seen. They embrace every student and culture who comes in the door. I would put my own child in any of the classrooms because I know that the teachers want what is best for every individual. They get to know the students and their families and build strong relationships with them. The administration works very closely with families and students, so they are in classes and ready to learn. The teachers are lifelong learners who embrace new information and professional development. Crooked Creek is a model school!
January 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Crooked Creek Elementary School 4

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
We are a highly rigorous school district that provides learning opportunities for all abilities and ages.

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
Crooked Creek is a great school school in a supportive community. The Crooked Creek staff embraces the diverse learners that they serve. With more state funding, they could provide even more opportunities for students beyond the traditional school day.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Crooked Creek is an amazing place to be! The teachers are some of the best professionals I have seen. They embrace every student and culture who comes in the door. I would put my own child in any of the classrooms because I know that the teachers want what is best for every individual. They get to know the students and their families and build strong relationships with them. The administration works very closely with families and students, so they are in classes and ready to learn. The teachers are lifelong learners who embrace new information and professional development. Crooked Creek is a model school!
Posted January 05, 2015

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
Crooked Creek is part of Washington Township Schools located in Indianapolis, IN. Washington Township has been a standard bearer for excellence in education throughout the state of Indiana for decades. Students are challenged academically, nurtured socially, and supported by dedicated and committed staff. Parents of the Washington Township community along with community leaders have provided over $4million to support innovation in the classroom through the Washington Township Schools Foundation. Washington Township is dedicated to the education of the whole child. All students in grades K-10 are provided a second language learning experience. Opportunities for students to experience leadership and community service are embedded in the culture of this diverse and exceptional district.

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
Outstanding staff with supportive parents that creates a wonderful learning environment for students! Washington Township Schools are one of few public school districts in the nation offering International Baccalaureate (IB) to all students in all schools!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Crooked Creek Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate World School, is located in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township (MSDWT), and is situated in the northern section of Indianapolis, Indiana and Marion County. It is a dynamic community with broad diversity in cultures, religions, ethnic groups, races and socioeconomic levels. MSDWT has been an educational leader in Indiana for the last forty years. We hope that beyond this website, you will visit the MSD of Washington Township website at http://www.msdwt.k12.in.us/ where you can also access the Crooked Creek Elementary School website, and every website of each of our seven elementary schools, three middle schools, and North Central High School. Beyond our websites, we invite you to plan a visit to any one of our schools, and see firsthand why Washington Township schools are superior schools, in a supportive community. Crooked Creek Elementary School offers a comprehensive educational curriculum with special activities and programs geared to provide enrichment, exploration, and instructional support for students. Crooked Creek is also proud to provide excellent opportunities for students to participate in outstanding performing arts, fine arts, academic teams, publications, athletics, and other student activities. Very valuable to the administration, is the role that parents have always played in the operations of our school through a very supportive Parent Teacher Organizations (PTO). All Crooked Creek students move through one of our district s three middle schools, and eventually to the MSDWT flagship high school, North Central. North Central High School has the finest high school curriculum in the State of Indiana. It annually produces the highest number of students taking Advanced Placement exams and scoring high enough to earn college credits. North Central High School was the first high school in Indiana to offer the International Baccalaureate Diploma program. The high school also offers programs that allow students to earn the North Central Academic Honor Diploma and the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma. North Central High School also has the distinction of being Indiana s number two high school in the number of Indiana athletic championships. The MSDWT provides quality education in award winning schools built on a foundation of outstanding educators, administrators, school board members, and supportive parents. Our vision is Superior Schools in a Supportive Community. Come and experience excellence in education, today in our school district.
Posted December 30, 2014

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My husband and I were in a real quandary when the time came to decide where our daughter would attend Kindergarten. She was already attending preschool in an affluent suburb which boasts some of the best schools in the state. It would have seemed the easy choice to move away from Indy as so many do, except that we didn't feel the community's values were a match with our family's, and didn't want to have to "unteach" what she'd pick up socially/culturally. On the other hand, many schools in Indianapolis are quite troubled, and we weren't about to sacrifice our child's quality of education either. Crooked Creek is our perfect answer. They embrace racial, religious, and socioeconomic diversity, create a sense of community and genuine warmth, appreciate parent involvement, and set very high expectations for their students. I can't speak too much about the IB program yet because we've just begun that journey, but so far our child loves learning concepts along with facts, and is excited about learning Mandarin too. I would recommend Crooked Creek to anyone who wants an exceptional alternative to moving to the 'burbs for better schools.

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
While I have been a Crooked Creek Parent, the teachers have been excellent in setting high expectations for my child and communicating with parents. There are plenty of volunteer opportunities for parents, including, PTA, sports, classroom volunteer, school events, etc. The school and school district typically provides fun events to allow your child to interact with friends outside of the classroom. Parents are welcome to enter into the classroom at any point in time during the day. Parents have daily communication on your child's behavior and academic effort through student folders. Parent s notices and letters are provided weekly by both the teacher and the principal. The principal reviews EVERY student s report card and writes notes to the student and/or the parents regarding academic achievement for that grading period. Community partnerships allow for the school to provide awards for Honor Roll students and attendance. Parents have access to teacher s emails and teachers respond within one business day. The school is a great place if you are a parent that would like to be actively involved in your child's learning process and enjoy supporting school activities.

Crooked Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of 2 Crooked Creek "graduates" (both our kids are now at Westlane) I'm dismayed and disappointed by this posting. Dismayed because thiis posting doesn't accurately represent Crooked Creek much less the entire district. Disappointed because the writer is using a public forum to air what appears to be a personal problem which without any details on the original issue or how they worked to solve it doesn't help other parents judge Crooked Creek's fit for their child. Crooked Creek (and Westlane, I'm finding) has leadership that has resulted in some of the most collaborative, committed and caring teachers I have ever encountered. And as the child of 2 parents in education I should know! Personality conflicts and problems arise in teaching hundreds of children with very diverse parents and family situations. Still, we experienced staff who would do everything possible to help kids learn and grow. There were no excuses for certain behaviors and zero tolerance for safety issues, but white, black, brown or yellow, Crooked Creek focuses on a child's success while teaching tolerance and respect for others. Don't let this single post put you off a great school.

Crooked Creek Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers strive to bring out the best in their students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crooked Creek Elementary School
2150 Kessler Boulevard West Drive, Indianapolis, IN  46228
(317) 259-5478
Last modified Crooked Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crooked Creek Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top