Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Indianapolis, IN
Students enrolled: 430

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Scecina Memorial School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 09, 2015
- a community member
Scecina is one of those schools that used to be great, lost it's greatness, and has the potential to gain it back. The problems they retain unfortunately cause a drastic decrease in their overall quality. Main problem being some of their staff, particularly in admissions. Some of them are not the most effective of counselors and lack a certain energetic and motivated attitude. More recently they have become more active about weeding out their less effective teaching staff. However, this was something that should have been tended to constantly. Also, their discipline has been more lenient in general but especially for more serious infractions such as fighting, disrespect, and extremely low grades (way below what should be aloud). At a private school like Scecina, there should be an extremely low tolerance for both unacceptable behavior and academics. Especially if the student is attending through any financial aid, which is something being offered more lately with no extra expectations in behavior or academics, causing the overall image of Scecina to worsen. Nothing will make you angrier than when your child comes home from their day at high school to tell you about a fight that took place by below average scholars with financial aid, only to then be informed that no expulsions were made. Though the school now might seem as a low quality private school, as i said, it has the potential to be great again. These problems could be simply eradicated if only the effort was put forth. The school has one of tge best music division I've seen lead by their current best staff member ,Donnie Glowinski. From my experience meeting him and watching him turn my child into the musician they are now, i can easily say he is their secret weapon. You can overlook all other schools who have a lot of what Scecina doesn't, mainly what I listed earlier, but no school has the energetic, compassionate, knowledgeable, and just outstanding teacher that Scecina does. He's their golden star. On top of that, they also have a lot of students who surpass academic barriers and climb to the top with the best of behavior. Scecina is a far from perfect school, as many are, but so long as they have the potential to be great again, willingness to fix their obvious problems, and of course Mr. Glowinski...then I wouldn't have my child attend anywhere else.

Scecina Memorial School 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
My son is happy at Scecina. He enjoys his courses and teachers very much. Instrumental Ensemble with Mr. Donnie Glowinski has been a fun learning experience for Spencer. Latin II and Chemistry are challenges that enable him to THRIVE...and he plans on taking Latin 3 his junior year. Theatre with Mr. Jones has been a new & positive experience as well. Meanwhile, during mass he is a Eucharistic Minister. Although, Spencer came from Holy Name (south deanery), he has be welcomed and made new friends rather easily.

Scecina Memorial School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
In the beginning I struggled with Scecina but my son had some major emotional challenges and they were so very supportive. He has become more concerned with his academics, and even asked to return next year!! The administrators and staff have gone out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The rules are strict, the work is hard but its well worth it for my child.

Scecina Memorial School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a community member
Scecina Memorial is truly a community school and affords students opportunities from athletics, band (garage bands), choir, drama, Christian service, Brain Game etc. The recent appointment of Mr. Joe Therber reinforces the total commitment of the archdiocese to Catholic secondary education on the eastside. Beginning 2 -3 years ago, Scecina has undergone major upgrades with it's facilities and academics. Alumni, November 7, 2009

Scecina Memorial School 4

Posted September 02, 2009
- a student
i love Scecna its warm and welcoming and is big in sports which is good considering the growing obesity in the world!

Scecina Memorial School 5

Posted April 17, 2009
- a student
Scecina's been the best possible place for me. I have been able to do everything from football to mens volleyball to the brain game team. I know my teachers very well and respect them to the fullest. I could potentially graduate with around 20 hours of college credit due to their AP program which makes up for the cost in itself. And only at scecina would the calculus teacher stay after the school's fund raising dinner to help you and your buddy with that night's homework. It's just a great place to be.

Scecina Memorial School 4

Posted February 18, 2008
- a parent
While open to any students who would like to come, Scecina is a good example of a small neighborhool highschool. The teachers are easily accessible and respond quickly to concerns. Students are valued and encouraged to try new things.... The academics are improving every year, and at the present time we there are many AP offerings available. I've had several children attend this school and we have been very satisfied.

Scecina Memorial School 5

Posted March 29, 2006
- a parent
I love Scecina! You have to realize that it is a traditional Catholic school and they are going to have strict rules about attire and appearence. By keeping in this mode, they focus on what school is supposed to be for; EDUCATION!! They do so in a city environment and Christian virtues are high on the list.

Scecina Memorial School 2

Posted March 13, 2005
- a student
I think that this school has its positive parts like the teachers are dedicated in what they do and teach. Most of the faculty is responsible and trustworthy. There are also some negative aspects at Scecina. This school has to deal with racism. I have been submitted to racism acts like being pushed around and other aspects of racism.

Scecina Memorial School 3

Posted October 21, 2004
- a parent
Scecina is a good school, if the child is very mainstream. I do not believe that it is the best choice if a student is not the best academicaly and or athleticaly. They have harsh and arbitrary rules on hairstyles (what they define as trendy) Some of my childen have done very well while students at Scecina, others have struggled just to fit in. The main problem with Scecina is keeping and developing good teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scecina Memorial School
5000 Nowland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46201
(317) 356-6377
Last modified Scecina Memorial School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scecina Memorial School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top