GreatSchools Rating

St. Therese Little Flower School

Private | PK-8 | 231 students

Our school is best known for Academics, Community, and Tradition.
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2012

Little Flower is amazing! I grew up attending catholic schools my entire life. But my children never did we always went to the townships. But after moving last year... I was now in IPS school dist. I desided to check little flower out and see what it was all about. Instantly I feel in love. I have never felt more welcomed by a school dist. in my life. My children are so proud to be part of the LF community. They take such great pride in their school. Thank u little flower u have changed my childrens lives!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

Little Flower has been such a blessing to the lives of my whole family. My three children are flourishing at the school and are becoming the most amazing young people. They are challenged daily academically, and also to make the best choices at all times. The teachers, administration and parish staff are completely supportive of the effort to make my children's elementary education the most positive one possible. I am proud to be an LF parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

I have 3 children that attend/attended LF. The teachers are wonderful and very attentive to the students and parents. The principal is responsive to concerns and the Christian environment is top notch. Prayer is promoted inthe school, they have Christmas and Easter celebrations and not just holiday breaks. Truly a blessing to my family and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

St. Therese of the Little Flower Cathjolic School is an environment that is hard to put in to words. Being a parishoner, parent and or student is a wonderful experience that fills you with positive energy! I have two children that have graduated from this school and one who is a current 7th grader. The morals and values taught at home are reinforced at school. Our principal is forward thinking and passionate about learning and creating a positive and exciting environment. We have a physical education teacher that goes above and beyond and takes this class beyond typical PE and uses it to help create healthy children to become healthy adults. Little Flower is a school that will welcome you to a life long journey of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Father Bob, Kevin Gawrys, Mrs. Falk and the teachers at LF are the best! You can tell they care very deeply about the students. LF doesn't only teach school subjects, they also help prepare the students to grow mentally and socially. There is something so special about LF. It is like a family where everyone cares about everyone. I love LF school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I always knew that wherever my kids attended they'd be fine academically because of my own ability to assist them. But, I can honestly say that Little Flower has helped my children become better people and Christians. And, they assist in ways that I cannot or in ways that I need reinforcement. My daughter, as a preschooler, came home one day during Catholic Schools week and told me how happy she was to attend LF. The two reasons she gave me: 'We can have a cross in our class room and we are allowed to get hugs.' I couldn't put it any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

I love this school.. They are always helpful. My sons Pre-K teacher is just a blast, and the teacher before him who is now subbing for someone on maturnity leave, was equally great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I absolutely loved Little Flower. I went there starting in pre-k and graduated 8th grade from there recently. Not only is it a great place to earn a great education, but it gives you a place you know you're always welcome. Anytime I see the school, I think of the bond I formed there with the students and the teachers, and really miss it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2006

i love this school. this school has a wonderful art and music program that encourages those who need artisitc and musical expression in their lives. All of the sport teams are based to raise self esteem, leadership, good sportsman ship, and leadership. please become an involved parent every school need them
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2006

I really think that this school is enjoyable. I grew up in a catholic education, and it really sets you up for the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2004

Little Flower is a very important and stabilizing part of the Eastside of Indianapolis. With a principal who looks constantly for ways to improve and teachers who are competent, caring, decision makers, Little Flower is a best bet for your educational dollar.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

Great faith-centered atmosphere for kids to learn, grow and develop. Many parents are active in the school, which does a lot with few resources. The campus is in a safe, working-class neighborhood. The principal, in his second year, has done a lot to improve the school. Standardized test scores could use improvement, but for parents who aren't too caught up in that, Little Flower is definitely worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 77% 74%
Black 1 8% 12%
Multiracial 1 7% 4%
Hispanic 1 5% 7%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 1% N/A
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 8%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Exemplary Status (2012)
  • Broadway Jr. School of Excellence
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Community Service Challenge

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Kevin Gawrys
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 322-7702

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Social justice
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue and Yellow
School mascot
  • Trojan
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $100.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Scecina Memorial High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 North Bosart Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46201
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 353-2282

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download