GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit School

Private | PK-8 | 391 students

Strong Catholic Presence; Academics, Service to Others, and CYO sports

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2012

This school is an absolute beacon for the community. At the beginning of the year, the principal always says that you will get out of this school what you put in. If you are not very active as a parent ,then you won't get AS MUCH as someone who is. Let me say I am not the most active of parents,but this school pulls you in and makes you one of their own. The principal knows every child in that school. The office staff is the same way. If my three children ever have a problem, they know they can go to any of the adults to get help. Whether it's something major like technology or simple like school lunches; the staff are always trying to improve the school. The church community is very open and welcoming, unlike some other parishes I've heard of. This school and parish asks a lot of you...but it gives TWICE as much back. I wish our principal was running the whole school system, but if she could wait until my kids have graduated!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

We come from the Indianapolis Public School system and we are thrilled with the high level of education at Holy Spirit. This school is a safe place for my children!! They encourage parental involvement in the school which is something I am not used to! Everyone has been welcoming and my girls are fitting in great! Thank you to the teachers, staff, and PTO for making us feel right at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

Holy Spirit School has been a wonderful experience for my kids and my family. I have two children who went from Holy Spirit to a competitive high school, and both said they felt very prepared for their freshman year. My oldest is now a senior and has been offered significant scholarship awards for academic achievement. I have no doubt that Holy Spirit laid the groundwork for my children's academic, social and moral success. I have one child who is still at Holy Spirit, and the administration and teachers are constantly working together to provide the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

Holy Spirit provides a caring and nurturing environment through dedicated and supportive staff. In this environment children are encouraged to learn about academics subjects as well as the catholic faith. Learning progresses through the use of traditional text books as well as technology. The school now has a computer lab as well as computers in the class room. Smart board technology is available so lessons can be enhanced through teacher guided interntet use. All the while parents can be involved in their childs experience. Parents are welcomed to come into the school to view the classroom, help with the teacher or just have lunch with their child. Through an email program called Homework Wathcer parents are kept up to date about what is happening in the classroom as well as the school. I know all this is because I am a parent that visits the school and I see it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

My child has since graduated. No family atmosphere at this school, as I had growing up in Catholic school. No emphasis on Christian environment. Large turnover in teachers. We stayed at this school because my child's cless was very close and inclusive . My child made what I feel will be lifelong friendships. Principal is definately not leader material...quick to overreact
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

I am a former student of Holy Spirit, and while I cannot tell you how it is now, I can tell you about how it was up till 5 or 6 years ago. There was a high level of parental involvment,the parents helped out alot and the teachers/principal made it their business to keep the parents informed on how their child was doing.(I diddnt appreciate that at the time, although I can see why my mother did) The programs were fine, I was on par with my classmates when I moved and had to go to a public middle school. The only things I can think of that needed improving (and may have been improved since I went) were the tiny library, not having many choices in extracurricular activities and the lack of computers. We had one in every classromm, sometimes two, but they were rarely used, and not taught.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2003

I currently have three children enrolled at Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit has worked diligently in the last couple of years to improve its facility. The results are new restrooms, a beautiful school caf , and science labs with state-of-the-art equipment, just to name a few. Our administration and teachers are also working together to improve teaching methods based on best practices in education. But I think the best resource Holy Spirit has is its extremely involved parent community. The current administration is very receptive to parent involvement, and parents are encouraged to come into school and classes to see what's going on, as well as to assist our teachers in any way we can. I feel confident that my children are receiving an excellent education, as well as a spiritual foundation upon which they will depend their entire lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 74%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 8%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Honors Student Council (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Rita Parsons
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 351-1822

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Green, gold
School mascot
  • Rams
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
65
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
70

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $150.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Scecina High School
Cathedral High School
Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7241 East 10th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46219
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 352-1243

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download