Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
260 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mark School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
No, not really, but this isn't particular to St. Mark. It operates like a medium security prison as if there are kidnappers and predators hiding behind every bush. That really does nothing to develop any kind of persistence or grit in any child, but unfortunatley most schools operate that way today....and then we wonder why kids are so helpless and irresponsible.

St. Mark School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Lots of emphasis on charity and community service here, at all levels of the school.

St. Mark School 3

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
I love this school's small classes, good curriulcum and great teachers. Most of the teachers are very experienced and all are tremendously dedicated and talented. I've never met a teacher I didn't like here. As a previous reviewer has said, many if not most of the kids at this school lack the values and good upbringing that someone might expect from a religious school. Broken families are common here, and parents who want to be their kids friends instead of a parent seem to be the norm. Profanity, inappropripate behavior and kids exposed to adult situations way too early are also the norm. The principal is fantastic and tries valiantly to inject a wholesome, faith-filled atmosphere throughout the school, but there's only so much one person can do to counteract poor parenting and an unstable home life. If you're just looking for small classes and great teaching, you'll probably love St. Mark. But if your sole purpose for paying for private school is to avoid the rabble of the township schools, save your money because in terms of their peers, your kids will have an overall public school experience at a private school price.

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at St. Mark for their entire elementary/middle school years. Words alone cannot express how wonderful this school, from the dedication of the principal, teachers, cafeteria workers, before and after care leaders, and coaches---they each have a vested interest in your child. They spend the extra time to help each and every child to the best of their abilities and keep the parents up to date on their progress and any issues. The school is small enough to where the kids won't feel overwhelmed but big enough for a great Catholic education. Some of the teachers (even the principal) will step up and help coach some of the different sports that are offered, if needed. Even our priest knows the kids and calls them by name. I would recommend St. Mark to anyone who asks.

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
The state of the public education system drove my decision not to subject my kids to the substandard institution known as IPS. We looked at other schools and selected St. Mark. I have two children that attend. They love it there. I have found the staff to be caring and professional. Is it perfect? No, but the team strives to provide the best education and environment for both the student and parent. I'm from a small town and St. Mark's staff definitely provides that small, close knit feeling that so often gets lost when living in the city. If you want your children's school experience to be one of the best then send them to St. Mark.

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
St. Mark is the most wonderful school. My children came from public school and were accepted immediately by their peers and by the staff. The entire staff has a genuine love for their jobs and for their students. All the students look out for eachother like family. In fact, this school is a small family community. The principal knows each child by name and the parents as well. He constantly encourages and cares about each and every one the students like they were his own. The teachers are always willing to help the students with anything. Everyone gets involved in school activities. It's a great school!

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Words cannot describe the love my family has for this school & community. We were welcomed with open arms from day one. All the staff from the principal, secretary, teachers, cafeteria, athletic dept, & aftercare programs show genuine compassion in the healthy growth of your child on every foundation from athletic, social, spiritual, and educational growth. We are proud to be part of such an amazing and supportive community. I would recommend not only for a top notch education but also to aid in the development of a strong moral fiber outside of just the home.

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
St. Mark is a tremendously loving and open environment and a great place to educate one's children. In my opinion this environment is fostered and established with the great leadership of the principal and pastor, and every teacher I have been in contact with tries to emulate the leadership of their administrators. I only have one child (in pre-k) attending the school, but when she came home and told me, "Dad, the only thing that really matters is that you love God and love other people," I was blown away and wholeheartedly convinced that St Mark is a special place. While I can't vouch for the academic rigor of the school, since my daughter is in pre-k, I will say as a teacher at the high school in which St. Mark feeds into that St. Mark has an inordinate amount of students achieving high accolades in academics at the high school level.

St. Mark School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
St. Mark is a welcoming and loving environment. Children are taught in a strict yet loving environment as well. St. Mark encourages parental involvment and all staff and administration work together for the greater good of the student.

St. Mark School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Mark is small enough to provide excellent education and teaching to its students, but big enough to provide many services and participation opportunities for all students! Four of our kids attended and graduated from St. Mark; their preparation for secondary school was excellent!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mark School
541 East Edgewood Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46227
(317) 786-4013
Last modified St. Mark School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. Mark School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top