GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher School

Private | PK-6 | 185 students

SCS is known for our Catholic identity, academic excellence, and community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2010

St. Christopher School is a Blue Ribbon School and my four kids have received the highest quality religious education that we always hoped for our kids. Kids deserve to be in a safe learning environment, being taught by high quality educators who care deeply about the kids, and that is what you get at St. Christopher School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

This was a great choice for our daughter this year. It was a pleasure listening to her in the evening and hear what she learned each day. With the time I volunteered and met all the teachers within the school, I am very pleased with them and look forward to sending her back there in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

My son was lucky and able to attend St. Christopher School for his kindergarten year. I feel he has received a great start in his education through his wonderful teachers and the staff members who have taught him so much. He is a very well rounded young man and I thank St. Christopher School for that. I loved to hear the staff greet him as he walked through the doors in the morning. It is a small "family-like" school where everyone knows each student and their families. Not only did my son have his friends in his class, but I was amazed at how many of the older students knew him and socialized with him. That says something about this school, it truly is an extension of our family. Not only did we have a great experience with our child as a student but also as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

St. Christopher is an amazing school. They take in our children and nurture them. I could not imagine I kids going to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This is our first year at St. Christopher's. My son is in Kindergarten. He gets a lot of one on one attention, which he needs to excel. He is already reading, which I was amazed since he had no interest a year ago. We are very pleased with St. Christopher's and all of the staff is very friendly. Dawn Voegele
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I have 2 children that attend St. Christopher and I also attended St. Christopher. I am very impressed with the personal attention and well rounded education my daughters are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

St. Christopher School is a wonderful place! It is small enough that every teacher knows every student by name. The student's are expected to excel academically, spiritually and socially. There is a wonderful diversity and each child is nurtured in an environment of discipline and structure.


Posted April 14, 2010

I am a parent of a 5th and 6th grader at St. Christopher School. My oldest started in kindergarten in 2003 and over the last 7 years, I have been thoroughly pleased with all aspects of the school, including the staff, parents, quality of education, class size, religious foundation, opportunities for voluteering, and most importantly, the safety and well-being of my children while at school. My oldest spent the first 3 years at St. Chris dealing with heath issues that required the staff's attentiveness and compassion. They absolutely met my expectations and went out of their way to ensure that my child's needs were met, both physically and emotionally. For that, I will be forever grateful. St. Chris provides an academic environment that challenges the students at all levels, while maintaining and fostering a nurturing and spiritual atmosphere. The entire school community is an extension of our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

The education my children have received at St. Christopher School deserves an excellent, 5 star rating! I am not only a parent, but a teacher at this wonderful school. I drive 30-35 minutes each day to bring my children with me because I believe in the quality academics and the Catholic Christian beliefs that are taught there. The environment is warm and welcoming, and we are very much a part of a school family! The parental involvement and support combined with a dedicated and superior faculty and staff make this school the best of the best. It is truly an outstanding place for your child to grow academically and spiritually! I am so proud to be able to give my own children the gift of a great elementary foundation that they will build on for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

It jsut feels like family there, you get the sense that everyone there really cares about what they do and love what they do. I wouldn't consider sending my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

St. Chris cares. The parish, administration, teachers, parents, and students care about the school and quality of eduction for our pre-K through 6th graders. One of the most telling facts is that each of my children is known by all of the school staff. A great result of this is the mission and Catholic values being instilled at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

Wonderful, dedicated teachers and staff. Educational and spiritual atmosphere. You'll feel like family at St. Chris. We couldn't ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

For us, it was never a question. Sending our boys to St. Christopher School provides the consistency of message we were looking for in passing our Catholic values to our children. They see their classmates at church, in Scouts, and in the neighborhood too. Mass participation gives students the opportunity to work on public speaking in addition to faith development. St. Christopher provides a nurturing environment of faith, as well as an excellent education. Active parent volunteers provide a community that builds lasting friendships and support with people who worship together, while making the school and its activities more affordable to a greater part of the parish. The parish and the school really are part of our extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

As a parent of a student at St. Chris I am very pleased with the educatin they have been exposed to. I fell there is a strong family involvment and the teachers provide a exceptional teaching method. The small classes account for a lot of that. I fell that that waht St. Chris has offered will allow my childern to excel into more as they continue their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

As a parent and a teacher, I can t help but compare the quality of education my children have received and continue to receive at St. Christopher School with the school district I work in. Both have excellent curriculum, hard-working faculty and high expectations set for students. However on 9/11/2001 the difference became apparent. Parents at my school were scrambling to pick up their children and hurry home. My fears were eased when I called St. Christopher School to find that the students were gathered in the church to pray. The difference is Faith and St. Christopher School reinforces the importance of our Catholic Faith for their students very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

St. Christopher exemplifies everything we want for our children in a Catholic school. The staff are incredibly caring and teaching methods are excellent. The commitment to high standards combined with a loving and caring environment is the ideal setting for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

My triplet boys have been at St Christopher since they were in kindergarten, they are now in 3rd grade. We took one semester off to experience the public school in our area, although a great, highly rated school system we could not wait to get them back to St. Christopher. We found that the family environment, the excellent teaching skills, and the love and support at St. Christopher could not be found elsewhere. The staff is exceptional and the curriculum is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

St. Christopher is a place where are all welcome. The staff make it their job to know the students and provide the right learning environment for our children. Our students are taught by some of the best teachers around. We love St. Christopher!! High standards are set and achieved at St. Christopher!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

Having grown up in a small Indiana town, I worried that my children would miss out on all the benefits because of living in a large metropolitan area. St. Christopher offers the best of both worlds! The classes are small, the faculty know each child and the entire family very well, and academics is at the forefront. I am confident that St. Christopher School is going to help make my children as well rounded and confident as they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

My husband and I chose St. Christopher for our oldest daughter when she was in kindergarten many years ago. We sent our other children there as well and when our oldest was in 5th grade we were relocated overseas for 5 years! We kept in touch with the principal and teachers while we were gone because they weren't just our kids teachers they were family! When we moved back to the U.S. we came back to St. Christopher School even though we are closer to another catholic school! We love this school and feel like it's the best place for our children to learn and grow in their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 72% 74%
Multiracial 1 10% 4%
Black 1 7% 12%
Hispanic 1 5% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Ronda Swartz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • dguenin@saintchristopherparish.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 244-6678

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiation based on student needs
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • RTI (Response to Intervention)
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Team
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Geography Team
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white
School mascot
  • Cardinal
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cardinal Ritter Jr./Sr. High School
Speedway Jr./Sr. High School
Avon Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5335 West 16th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46224
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 241-6314

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download