GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher School

Private | PK-6 | 185 students

SCS is known for our Catholic identity, academic excellence, and community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2010

St. Christopher is the place to be! We live several minutes away and I even teach at a different school. We still choose to send our children to St. Christopher. The teachers are caring and experienced. The staff provides a safe environment in which to learn. Our children attend Mass regularly and are growing in their faith. Field trips are paid for by a dedicated Parent Teacher Partnership. St. Christopher is our second home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I am very pleased with the entire educational experience for my children at St. Christopher School. My oldest is in college and has always been a good student; the foundation laid for her while at St. Chris prepared her for the many learning experiences in and outside of the classroom. My youngest child who is currently still enrolled at St. Chris has learning and behavioral challenges that have been met with educational professionalism as well as genuine care by all of his teachers. I have been blessed with teachers and administrators who are willing partners in ensuring that my children succeed, regardless of their special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

This small school has been an excellent place for my high-performing 1st-grader. He has a love of school, everyone knows him (and he knows everyone!). The small school size allows for very personalized instruction. And it is excellent value for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

I have been totally impressed with the wonderful education my children (2) have received at St. Christopher. The curriculum has exceeded my expectation. Both of my children have a well-rounded educational foundation that will serve them well through their adult years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

I really can't fit into this little box how much I love and appreciate St. Christopher School. I have a 5th grader there who has been there since 1st grade and it has been a God send in our family. It's a quaint, quintesential school house filled with so much love and attention for the students. Everytime I walk into those doors, I feel embraced by the teachers and the staff, as does my daughter. She absolutely loves St. Christopher and I can't wait until my 3 year old starts going there for Pre-K. It has that old-fashioned small feeling to it that new schools are lacking, yet all the trimmings of current & even future technology. The other parents are a part of one big St. Chris family and we've built strong friendships with other parents. Every teacher has gone above & beyond in helping my child acheive her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

We have two children at St. Christopher and it has exceeded our expectations. It has a family feeling with small class sizes and teachers who encourage students to do their personal best. Staff is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

My daughter attends St. Chris and we couldn't be happier with the school and community. It is a wonderful place for education and spiritual growth, not just for the kids, but everyone involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

I was a student at St.Chris and absolutely loved it! I recieved a great education, learned the state standards and more, and was well prepared for junior high. I also grew in my faith and learned christian values. My experience was so great it's hard to describe it in words. There is such a unique sense of family as soon as you walk in the door! The teachers really care about you and your classmates. I will never forget St.Chris, my experiences and the people there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 18, 2004

What a wonderfully warm school! Small classrooms, attentive teachers and a principal that meets you at the door every day greeting each student by name. Such a family feeling. Lack of bus service is no problem with willing parents. Friendly, inviting and just named a Blue Ribbon Winner for 2004. If you're thinking of a home on the Westside, think about St. Christopher School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 72% 74%
Multiracial 1 10% 4%
Black 1 7% 12%
Hispanic 1 5% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Ronda Swartz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • dguenin@saintchristopherparish.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 244-6678

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiation based on student needs
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • RTI (Response to Intervention)
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Team
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Geography Team
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white
School mascot
  • Cardinal
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cardinal Ritter Jr./Sr. High School
Speedway Jr./Sr. High School
Avon Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5335 West 16th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46224
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 241-6314

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download