GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher School

Private | PK-6 | 185 students

SCS is known for our Catholic identity, academic excellence, and community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2012

Our experience with St. Christopher has been wonderful!! I can't say enough good things about this school. It has far exceeded our expectations. Our daughter's teacher is just so great with the kids and you can tell she truly cares about each and every child. We have been so impressed with the school and faculty. Being new to the school, we weren't quite sure what to expect and everyone has welcomed us with open arms. I would definitely recommend St. Christopher if you're looking for a great school that focuses on teaching and living the Catholic faith. We are so happy with our decision to go with St. Christopher and so is our daughter. She loves going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

So far our experience has been superb! Our daughter just entered PreK and everyone has been so helpful in getting her adjusted to her new surroundings. Also, great at answering all of my first-time Mom questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

As a teacher and a parent, I am glad we made the choice to send our daughter to St. Christopher School. The financial sacrifice we make to send her there will be worth it in the long run of her life. I see daily the values, great education and Catholic identity that she is receiving. I feel blessed to have her as this school and look forward to many years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

St Christopher is the best choice for a well rounded education in a school filled with compassion, care, concern and overall a great educational opportunity. I had chosen this school for my children based on word of mouth. But also because they are the second generation in our family attending this school. I will say that some of the teachers that my children are having also taught my husband and brother in law. It was in part another reason why I chose this education route for my children. I want to say as a relatively new parent to St. Christopher's I have felt very welcomed into what is a family atmosphere. Parent involvement is wanted and requested. This is good for the students and the overall school family feeling. All that work in this environment are top NOTCH! The principal and administrative staff to the maintenance team and of course the awesome team of teachers all take the kids and support them emotionally not to mention help them grow into smart and moral young people. I am proud to say that my kids are students at this school. If you want the best of the best for your children..This is the school for your family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

St. Christopher is an excellent school. The teachers are not only good instructors, they care about the children. We are very pleased with the high quality education our child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

As a parent and a public high school teacher I realize the importance of a strong elementary educational experience, and feel confident that my children are being prepared better at St. Christopher than they would have been at their public school. The teachers are committed to preparing our students for more than just a test score, but to be critical thinkers, good citizens, and positive role models. Choosing St. Christopher was the best decision I have made for my children and I would recommend St. Christopher to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

No words can relate how happy I am with our decision to send our kids to St Christopher School. Every staff member... not just teachers but secretaries to housekeeping... is wonderful. I believe my kids are receiving a top-notch education. I think part of that comes from the expectations the teachers have for the students. I also think part of that is because the environment for learning is so strong. The students are very well behaved. There is a true sense of family. We are not well off like many of the families in our private school. But, I have never been made to feel any less welcome or any less significant. Every person with whom I've been acquainted with has just been really warm and friendly. We truly feel lucky to be able to send our kids to such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

We chose St. Christopher because we were unsatisfied with the public school in our area and we could not be any happier with our decision. The teachers really care about the kids and want them to do well. As a volunteer, I am welcomed with open arms and appreciated. My daughter is thriving both academically and socially and absolutely loves her school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

My son is in kindergarten and we Love it at St. Chris. Excellent teachers, sense of community and strong leadership. We hope to have our son complete all grades at St. Chris.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

We initially chose St. Chris after a glowing recommendation from a current parent. Because my husband and I were from a small town and products of a public education, we decided that we would only send our daughter to pre-k at St Chris. Well, our daughter is now in kindergarten and we have enrolled her yet again because we are positive that the education, spiritual growth and family atmosphere would not be found elsewhere. Our daughter truly says prayers of thanks nearly every night for being able to attend such a wonderful school. We are so pleased in every way with her development .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

St. Christopher was the perfect choice for our daughter this year. The school is small enough to have a real sense of community. The teachers, faculty, and other students all knew her after a very short time. She has recieved a great start to her education and has become a very well rounded young lady. We look forward to the rest of her years with St. Chris.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

We initially came to St. Chris because we wanted our son and daughter in the same school for Kindergarten and Pre-K before moving into the public school system. After we started attending the sense of community and parent support has convinced us to continue to make St. Chris our home. The teachers are amazing, the families are involved and it has a feeling of community that is hard to find now a days. We could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I thank my lucky stars each morning that my daughter attends St. Christopher School! We knew from the beginning that we wanted a Catholic school for our daughter. As we began researching schools prior to enrolling her in PreK, we were consistenly impressed with what St. Chris has to offer. She ADORES the faculty and staff; we are completely grateful for the phenomenal education they provide to our daughter! The curriculum is stellar, each member of the school is a member of the family (for example, after her first week at school, the older students and ALL members of the fac/staff knew her by name!) and the student that St. Chris "produces" is top-notch. We are always bowled over by their maturity and politeness. I HIGHLY recommend St. Christopher to anyone considering a private school education. There is no other school I would EVER consider for my daughter. I wish I could give them 10 stars instead of just 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

I currently have two children that attend St. Chris. Both absolutely love their little school. When I take them to public schools they thank me for sending them to St. Chris and not making them go to the big schools. What they don't know, is we are extremely happy with our choice. Our children are constantly challenged, and although their grades are good, the teachers see their potential and challenge them to do better. The teachers genuinly care about each student...I knew we were in the right place when my daughter was in kindergarten and was a little scared to attend aftercare after school (which is also a terrific program!!). She cried every day!! The kindergarten teacher noticed her distress and assigned two 6th grade girls to take her aside each day and stay with her until she was comfortable and willing to join the other students. Where else can you find that level of caring both at the teacher level and the "upper-class" level? The children are taught to be caring children through the actions of the staff at St. Chris. There is no other option for our children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

St. Christopher is a great school, and I'm thankful we have been able to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

Run!, don't walk to enroll your child at St. Christopher School. The principal, teachers,staff ,and priests are an extension of family. They know ( all of them) the students by name and welcome them to school each day. We have felt a sense of family and peace of mind when our boys are at school. Our boys have become self motivated and confident in their demeanor all because of the education received at St. Christopher School. A great place to live, learn , and pray!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

The best thing about St. Christopher School is the sense of community. I love that all the teachers know my son by name, even the ones who have not taught him yet. I love that I know all the students in his class and most of his parents. I feel so very fortunate that he is able to grow and learn in such a safe, nurturing, and loving environment. This is the most important reason we chose St. Christopher School for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

St. Christopher School has been such an amazing part of our family''s life for many years. My boys attended prechool through sixth grade at this school. The staff feels like family. The excellent education they received has prepared them for Jr. High and Highschool. They have become such well rounded young men and I attribute much of that to the years they spent at St. Christopher School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

I have had several children attend St. Christopher and what makes (made) it a great school for each of my children was the fact that each one of them was seen for his/her own strength and weaknesses. In addition, I never saw the teachers stagnate in their teaching ablilites. Each teacher had grown in their personal development as educators throughout the years. Finally St. Christopher is such a small school, I always felt a sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

The staff at St. Christopher School truly work in connection with the parents. What it taught at home is reinforced at school and vice versa. Every staff member has gone above and beyond for both of my kids. If there is a need all you have to do is let someone know and it's taken care of! We are a true family. My Son is a freshman at Cardinal Ritter now and he started at St. Chris as a preschooler. He and his group from St. Chris were well prepared for Jr. High and now High school because of our awesome staff at St. Chris. We set our standards higher in every facet of education and our students rise to the challenge. I've heard from others that our students are the most respectful they've ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 72% 74%
Multiracial 1 10% 4%
Black 1 7% 12%
Hispanic 1 5% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Ronda Swartz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • dguenin@saintchristopherparish.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 244-6678

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiation based on student needs
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • RTI (Response to Intervention)
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Team
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Geography Team
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white
School mascot
  • Cardinal
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cardinal Ritter Jr./Sr. High School
Speedway Jr./Sr. High School
Avon Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5335 West 16th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46224
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 241-6314

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download