GreatSchools Rating

St. Matthew School

Private | PK-8 | 344 students

We are best known for family atmosphere and math program
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $171,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

The academic rigor, discipline, parental engagement, teacher engagement and skill, and the administration's competence and clear-headed decision-making has made St Matthew an amazingly positive experience for our entire family. Our children have responded remarkably well to the moral education infused throughout the curriculum. The families welcome you and bring you right in; we never once felt like outsiders. The facilities are somewhat more bare-bones than many local public schools; it is not teeming with amenities and new technology. Instead, it is very much a back-to-basics feel where students are academically challenged and expected to do many things the old-fashioned way (hard work). Sending our kids there has been worth very penny and is the best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Everyone...and I mean everyone at St. Matthews is incredibly nice. We moved our daughter in the middle of the year and have had nothing but positive experiences. We get weekly emails from our Kindergarten teacher, the front office is always willing to answer questions and all the parents are friendly. The principal is outside every morning helping with the carpool line doesn't matter if it is rain, shine or snow. I have never felt so welcomed before!! Our daughter had started to shut down when it came to school work but she is flourishing at St. Matthews. She looks forward to doing her nightly homework so much so she will remind me! Just an all around excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

SMS is impacting my children in a positive and productive way every single day. The faculty and staff are helping us to nurture our whole child. Heart, mind and spirit. They are not only being well educated and prepared for the future but are also learning how to be good people who know right from wrong and do the right thing. I couldn't see my children succeeding at this level in any other educational environment. Thanks to the Faculty & staff for the positive impact you are making on our family and its future!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

Several years ago I began a thorough search for a new school. I wanted one that would academically challenge my children and provide a safe learning environment, plus have strong leadership and caring teachers. St. Matthew was the winner in all categories. On their first day of school, the principal made a point of greeting my children by their first names. They felt welcome on day one! The community of parents welcomed me, too. I have never regretted my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

My son is a student at St. Matthew and I am overwhelmed at the caring faculty and always impressed at the quality of other parents-their willingness to volunteer and help out. St. Matthew's is the perfect sized community and
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

i am aformer student at sms. the overall experience is good, but i Hated the uniforms.


Posted March 6, 2009

I am a former parent of a student that attended SMS from K5- 2nd grade. My son is now in the 4th grade during great because of the education he received at SMS. SMS is great and focuses on Catholic principals and education, therefore, the whole child is being developed. We moved to OKC and I've not seen great teachers like I did at SMS. Mrs. Marshall was the best teacher I've ever met and I'm happy to hear that she is still there. I highly recommend this school. Missing you from OKC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

i am a student of st. matt. this is a great school and i will always remember the teachers a staff they are the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

This school is great. I am a former teacher of this school now living in New Hampshire. Mr. Erlenbaugh is wonderful with the kids. The office staff is excellent. The kids are very happy and the curriculum is age appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have three boys attending St. Matthew and it has been a wonderful experience. We came to St. Matthew from IPS and the boys couldn't be happier. The last six years the boys have gotten up for school and been happy to go every day. I believe that is half the battle when sending children to school, when they want to go the learning and progress follow with much more ease. St. Matthew has taken the time to help each child individually. My oldest will be graduating this year and he is very proud of himself and I am too. Thank you to all at St. Matthew.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Black 4% 12%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 10%N/AN/A
Special education 19%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
Source: 1 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010
Source: 2 Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Exemplary School Award - Indiana DOE (2012)
  • Outstanding Private Primary School - Indiana Business Journal (2008)
  • Carol M. White Physical Education Award (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr David Smock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 479-2381

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Red, White
School mascot
  • Warriors
More from this school
  • St. Matthew is a dedicated faith community committed to excellence in Catholic education and the total growth of each student.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $100.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Chatard High School
Cathedral High School
Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 East 56th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46220
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 251-3997

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download