Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
375 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Matthew School 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a community member
My child recently graduated from St Matthew and had the privilege of attending this school 5th thru 8th grade, after attending grades 1 thru 4 in a public school. While 5th grade was good, the real “gem” of St. Matthew is the middle school in my opinion. Your child will have the same teacher for each subject grades 6 thru 8. For example, my child had Mr. Moyer for Social Studies all three years. The middle school team of teachers is fantastic. They WANT to be in their jobs and they are good at what they do. They will love, nurture, and educate your child over the course of three years and your child will end up loving them right back. This special bond that develops between teachers and students cannot be found in most large public schools. Our family is not Catholic and we do not belong to St Matthew church. This was never a problem and we were always made to feel welcome. I paid the full non-Catholic tuition rate and would do it all over again. This is an excellent school.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
I have been a very happy parent with two children at St. Matthew school. The community feeling is probably what I appreciate the most. There is a lot of volunteerism and the parents and teachers are really involved in making the school A true community. I believe the academics are more challenging than other schools in the area at the same grade level. I also believe that the expectations of the students regarding their behavior and decorum at school really enhance the entire experience for everyone.I feel like my kids can be kids at St. Matthew and aren't growing up too fast.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
The academic rigor, discipline, parental engagement, teacher engagement and skill, and the administration's competence and clear-headed decision-making has made St Matthew an amazingly positive experience for our entire family. Our children have responded remarkably well to the moral education infused throughout the curriculum. The families welcome you and bring you right in; we never once felt like outsiders. The facilities are somewhat more bare-bones than many local public schools; it is not teeming with amenities and new technology. Instead, it is very much a back-to-basics feel where students are academically challenged and expected to do many things the old-fashioned way (hard work). Sending our kids there has been worth very penny and is the best decision we ever made.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
Everyone...and I mean everyone at St. Matthews is incredibly nice. We moved our daughter in the middle of the year and have had nothing but positive experiences. We get weekly emails from our Kindergarten teacher, the front office is always willing to answer questions and all the parents are friendly. The principal is outside every morning helping with the carpool line doesn't matter if it is rain, shine or snow. I have never felt so welcomed before!! Our daughter had started to shut down when it came to school work but she is flourishing at St. Matthews. She looks forward to doing her nightly homework so much so she will remind me! Just an all around excellent school!

St. Matthew School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
SMS is impacting my children in a positive and productive way every single day. The faculty and staff are helping us to nurture our whole child. Heart, mind and spirit. They are not only being well educated and prepared for the future but are also learning how to be good people who know right from wrong and do the right thing. I couldn't see my children succeeding at this level in any other educational environment. Thanks to the Faculty & staff for the positive impact you are making on our family and its future!!!

St. Matthew School 5

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
Several years ago I began a thorough search for a new school. I wanted one that would academically challenge my children and provide a safe learning environment, plus have strong leadership and caring teachers. St. Matthew was the winner in all categories. On their first day of school, the principal made a point of greeting my children by their first names. They felt welcome on day one! The community of parents welcomed me, too. I have never regretted my decision.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
My son is a student at St. Matthew and I am overwhelmed at the caring faculty and always impressed at the quality of other parents-their willingness to volunteer and help out. St. Matthew's is the perfect sized community and

St. Matthew School 3

Posted February 07, 2011
- a community member
i am aformer student at sms. the overall experience is good, but i Hated the uniforms.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
I am a former parent of a student that attended SMS from K5- 2nd grade. My son is now in the 4th grade during great because of the education he received at SMS. SMS is great and focuses on Catholic principals and education, therefore, the whole child is being developed. We moved to OKC and I've not seen great teachers like I did at SMS. Mrs. Marshall was the best teacher I've ever met and I'm happy to hear that she is still there. I highly recommend this school. Missing you from OKC.

St. Matthew School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a student
i am a student of st. matt. this is a great school and i will always remember the teachers a staff they are the best

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Matthew School
4100 East 56th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46220
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (317) 251-3997
Last modified St. Matthew School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top