GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 279 students

We are best known for parent involvement and family feel

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

Great environment with engaged parents and students. Teachers and staff inspire performance. The school is consistently high in academic achievement. Top it off with deep Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

What a great school. The sense of inclusion at this private school is very high. We were knew to the community when our youngest was in Kindergarten and were welcomed with open arms. Teachers (through the TAP program) meet and build individual plans to help each student succeed to the best of their ability (92 pass rate on ISTEP). The participation rate for CYO is also off the charts and high parent involvement w/o being overbearing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

Honestly the best school on the eastside of town. Not only for catholic families but for non catholic families. The rate of returning graduates (myself included)sending their children to this school or parish is just amazing. Let alone all the great education they will recieve being at Lourdes and the many lifelong friendships they will gain is just phenominal! The school literally draws families from all over the city and surrounding counties. GO LYONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Besides having the highest ISTEP scores in the area (92%)! Our Lady of Lourdes has the most dedicated staff a parent could ask for. This school has a solid foundation in the community and in our students lives. Academically and spirituality you counld not ask for a better place to educate your child.


Posted September 28, 2009

Lourdes is awesome Im in 6th grade and the staff, students, and activities are great! ( like field day, catholic schools week, fall festival, etc.)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2009

Great school! Both of my children graduated from Our Lady of Lourdes Grade School. One is now a graduate student at University of Chicago. The other is at Indiana University on a full academic scholarship. I attribute their success to the solid academic foundation they received from the caring and professional faculty at Our Lady of Lourdes Grade School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

My daughter is a 2nd grader at Lourdes and has been there since kindergarten. We're not catholic but we just love this school. Her grades are great and her teachers really care about the students. Parent involvement is extreamly high as well. I would tell any parent that this is the best neighborhood school available. It's more expensive than public school but completely worth it. There are music, art and science programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

I've been attending Lourdes for nine years, and I've seen it undertake lots of changes. It has good teachers, and above average ISTEP scores. However, popularity seems to seep through out the school, and control every student. The other students, however, are kind and don't poke fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

We love OLL. The teachers and staff are wonderful, we have a large offering of extra-curricular activities, and our ISTEP scores are better than the local pulic school and the neighborhood charter school. Lourdes is a very nutruting environment, and they strive to make sure every student excels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

We are new to the preschool this year and we have been overjoyed and confident our child is in the right place. I was scared to let him go and now I have no worries. My child loves school and we love the school too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

We have had children at Lourdes for 7 years. We know every parent in their grade. My children are growing into wonderful leaders and respectful citizens, all while getting a 1st class education. This is a school where nearly every parent is involved in some capacity, where the administration knows every child by name and where Gospel values are taught every day. We cannot imagine a better place for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

This is our 5th year at Lourdes and we are inspired by the quality of education and the sense of community. Our daughter loves the school and teachers. She has many friends, sports opportunities and activities. The teachers and staff truly have the kids' best interest, safety and growth in mind. We love the school, teachers and families at Lourdes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

My daughter will begin first grade at Lourdes this year and was in the kindergarten class last year. We are not Catholic. I love this school. The teachers are fantastic and the students are respectful and eager to learn. Even though we do not belong to the parish there are many opportunities to be involved in the school for us and we never feel left out. This is a great community school in Irvington and a tight-knit school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 90% 74%
Multiracial 1 5% 4%
Black 1 2% 12%
Hispanic 1 1% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 1%N/AN/A
Special education 15%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:05 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jennifer Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 357-0980

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • navy, gold
School mascot
  • Lion
More from this school
  • Check out Our Lady of Lourdes Indianapolis on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @OLLIndy.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
279
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
15
Students typically come from these schools
IUMC

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$4000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $250.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Scecina High School
Cathedral High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 South Downey Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46219
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 357-3316

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download