GreatSchools Rating

Nativity School

Private | PK-8 | 351 students

We are best known for high achievement, service and our fine arts program

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted September 12, 2011

Nativity Catholic School continues to grow in enrollment, programs, and academic achievement each and every year. In October 2010, Nativity was featured as one of Indianapolis' Best Schools by Indianapolis Monthly. We are ranked as high achieving with high growth in Mathematics by the Indiana Department of Education. We encourage to visit us to see for yourself that Nativity is truly "The School of Choice.

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2012

First off, this is the BEST school my daughter has ever attended! She was in public school since the beginning of her school career until she reached the 7th grade when she came to live with me. Anytime that I tease and ask if she would like to go back to public school, she says, "No Way!". That is good enough for me! The teachers have been extremely supportive of her in her transition and continue to be. Nativity is #1 in my book! God Bless! -Lou Everett
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I continue to be impressed by everything this school has to offer! My children continue to flourish academically, spiritually, emotionally and physically. Nativity has wonderful values, teachers, administration and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I couldn't be more pleased choice we made to send our children to Nativity. Some things I have experienced with my kids: *Expectation of good conduct and hard work by students *Interactive learning via online technology for math and reading *Volunteer activities within the school *Older students who mentor younger students *Teachers and staff who care very much about our students *A principal who listens, is caring and is fair *A priest who the students (and parents) adore *A community of friends for students and parents *Christ-centered learning My children continue to 'wow' me with what they learn each and every day in math, reading, specials, but I love when they come home and talk about their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Nativity is a wonderful place to teach. Students are very engaged, parents are very supportive, and faculty members encourage each other to do their best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2011

An excellent school! I would highly recommend for any parent searching for a school who teaches catholic values integrated into the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2011

We have 2 children at Nativity Catholic School and could not be happier with our school of choice! Nativity Catholic School provides students wtih a well-rounded Catholic education with its challenging curriculum, state of the art technology, and wonderful fine arts and physical education programs. The academic standards are high and the students are encouraged to reach their highest potential. Students are also encouraged to give back to their community by participating in monthly service projects that help those less fortunate. Nativity Catholic School has strong leadership and an exceptionally talented faculty and staff. As an added bonus the parish priest is a visible presence as he greets students each morning and actively participates in many school events. Sending our children to Nativity Catholic School is worth every penny especially when we hear our preschooler praying grace while playing tea party with her dolls or when we listen to our 2nd grader singing songs he learned from attending weekly class Masses. We cannot imagine our children receiving a better Catholic education in a more caring environment than our school of choice, Nativity Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

My son has attended Nativity for two years and I have been extremely pleased. He had difficulty learning his letter and sound association in K but his teacher was very caring and attentive to his individual needs. Now in 1st grade and reading with confidence. He calls school his "second family" and absolutely loves it there. He is learning in leaps and bounds and it seems they are helping instill a love of learning every day while challenging the students to learn beyond what they believe is possible. The staff is very helpful and it is clear they truly love the students. The parents are involved and you can tell... what an exceptional group of families, students and staff. Wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

I would not sent any of your children to this school. No discipllined is enforced. Save the money and you will be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Considering some of the posts here are getting outdated I would just like to state for the record that the technology department at Nativity Catholic School is brand new this year and is state of the art. This is a building wide improvement plan and we have been very busy making sure that we are not simply par with the township schools, but are surpassing the technology found in those schools in every what possible. I strongly believe that the computer lab in our school would be a very familiar sight on most university campus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2010

This our second year at Nativity and we love it. In addition to being academically challenged, my daughter is learning more about responsibility and accountability. It pleases me to know that Nativity is helping to instill such traits in tandem with my parental efforts at home. Nativity offers an outstanding challenge for students academically. When compared to public schools, I find that Nativity appears to be at least a year ahead. At "Back To School Night", the Principal shared the Nativity ISTEP scores by grade level compared to the state average. Nativity blew the state average away and far surpassed the "average" scores. Again, further justification for me that my daughter is in the perfect school for us. I would not send her anywhere else. I highly recommend Nativity to any prospective parent(s).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I discovered Nativity when I was looking for a school that provided all day kindergarten. We fell in love with Nativity from the start. The teachers are so invested in the success of the students and their love for teaching shows. There is a strong sense of community at Nativity and the students take pride in their school. The academic expectations and achievements make this school stand out. We have been here 4 years now and I will continue to make sacrifices in other areas if need be in order to continue to send my child to Nativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This is our first year at Nativity. We have a 1st & 2nd grader currently enrolled. We have been so impressed with everyone at Nativity. The teachers in 1st & 2nd grade are exceptional. One of the things that surprised me right away was how the entire faculty & staff knew the names of every child. The involvement & continuous accessibility of the Principal & Priest are exceptional. We have experienced true care toward our children and our concerns. We just finished up the Advent & Christmas Season & I can not imagine the thought of my children EVER missing this wonderful time year at a public school again. The everyday presence of Christ in our school is priceless. I was raised in public school & always argued that I had a fine education... I had no idea what I missed until now. Nativity is a blessing to our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I have put all 4 of my children through Nativity. Currently, 2nd grade - 7th grade. We did public schools for 4 years and then made the switch to Nativity and have been a part of this great community school for 5 years now. My son had difficulty with Adams elementary with the large number of students and the inability of the teacher to give much time to each student. Nativity is small enough, that my children get a lot of personal attention/help. All of the teachers know all of the students so there is accountability at all times. Most of the parents are involved and the teachers freely talk to the parents - this means the children know that we will hear about everything they do! All of my children love this school and are very happy to be a part of something special. Anita and Todd Schneider
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Having grown up in a small town, I was a little nervous about putting my children in such a large public school system. My husband and I attend Nativity Church and when it came time to choose a preschool, we stopped looking after we found Nativity School. After five years at the school we couldn't be more pleased. My kids learn everything from respect for themselves and others to the educational subjects - all with the lessons of Christ interwoven. Parents are truly vested in making Nativity the best school and giving their children the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

I have four children who attend Nativity, from Kindergarten on up through middle school. As a family, we love Nativity, the quality academics, the faith based education, the caring and dedication shown by the faculty, staff, and administration, and the great family atmosphere that exists within the school. I would not trust any other school with the education of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

This is our fourth year at Nativity Catholic School. We spent one year in Warren Township schools prior to coming here. We continue to be amazed at the focus on community, academic excellence and faith filled education that Nativity offers. One of my favorite parts of the school is the pairing of younger students with older students - as reading buddies and church partners. It helps the younger kids to feel important and involved and reminds the older students that they are an example to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Nativity offers my kids so much more than just an education. I love the fact that the education they receive is not only faith based, but also is taught with so much love and encourgement from the administration and staff. Not only have my children made wonderful friends through Nativity, but the parents have as well. The focus of community runs strong at Nativity and I am proud to be a part of that community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

One of the best decisions my parents made for me was choosing Nativity Catholic School for my education. For that I am deeply grateful as it was the foundation for my deep faith, successful professional career, understanding of the importance of community and service for others and long-lasting friendships. I am excited to now choose Nativity Catholic School for my children. Some of the things I have appreciated as a parent of a Nativity student include the following: *The positive leadership of our administration *The encouragement of and large participation of parent volunteers *The team effort of faculty, staff & parents to provide the best experience for our students *Inclusion of music, art and physical education in the curriculum *Opportunities for extra-curricular activities including sports, clubs and organizations *Incredible enhancements to our computer/technology area, playground, library/literacy center and cafeteria/lunch program Each day when I pick up my child from school and hear I had a great day at school today I know I ve made the best choice for my children s education and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

My family has been part of this school for 8 years. In the beginning we started out with a good principal then moved on to a principal who did not seem to have our childrens best interest at heart. Last year a new principal joined our school and I knew from our first meeting things were looking brighter. As the year moved on Mrs. Rodriguez proved in words and deeds that she put our children first. Thanks to her and good luck to our returning and new teachers this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

My children have attended Nativity for the last 4 years and we have been nothing but pleased with this school. My children are not only doing exceptionally well academically, but they are learning about Christ daily, and we cannot get that in our public schools. Our new principal is excellent and has made many wonderful changes to our school. Go Titans!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 97% 74%
Multiracial 1 2% 4%
Hispanic 1 1% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Black 1 0% 12%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 10%N/AN/A
Special education 24%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: 1 Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Innovations in Education (2007)
  • Indianapolis Monthly Best Schools (2010)
  • Excellent Educational Opportunities (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:15 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Terri Rodriguez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 357-9175

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • Fee-based
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Cafeteria
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white
School mascot
  • Titan
More from this school
  • Nativity has an excellent art and music program.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Franklin Township

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$1000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.
Application fee
Yes. $125.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roncalli High School
Cathedral
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3310 South Meadow Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46239
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 357-1459

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download