Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
354 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christ the King Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Develop a relationship with your child's teacher so that lines of communication can be open. My kids have had different challenges. Their teachers worked with me to find solutions.

Christ the King Catholic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
There is homework. There are spelling lists. There are occasional projects. (My kids are in 1st and 3rd grade.) There are online resources and links. One of my kids is a self-starter, the other needs more direction.

Christ the King Catholic School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Persistence, grit, and determination are more parent-driven traits, in my opinion. There are extra-curricular activities which assist in this endeavor.

Christ the King Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Catholic values, MOP rules as previously mentioned. They also instruct kids about the Circle of Grace for children to develop self-awareness and self-respect.

Christ the King Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
Older kids have service hours to be completed, but there are other projects, too. My third grader is a reading buddy to a kindergartener.

Christ the King Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
It is a faith-based Catholic school with approximately 20% non-Catholic students attending. They use MOP rules (myself, others, property) to help the younger kids have and show respect. The school reinforces the values that I teach my kids at home.

Christ the King Catholic School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
This school community has been a blessing for our family and my two kids. I'm a single mom and the fellowship at this school is amazing. My kids LIKE to go to school. There have been challenges and they've overcome them. My children are learning to have faith and act with values in addition to an excellent education. I don't understand the negative review and each person has their own path, but you get more when you give more. By that, I mean, as a parent, you have to remain engaged with your child, teachers, and leadership and always advocate for your child along the way.

Christ the King Catholic School 1

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
High teacher turnover. Poor testing scores especially in the math portions. . Arts program is lacking. Multiple car break ins. As stated in a previous email does not prepare the students for entering high school.

Christ the King Catholic School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
Let's face it, really smart kids do well anywhere. However my daughter has reading challenges and was floundering in a different parochial school, not really failing but sliding by. All that changed at CKS. Her teacher's have made a point of identifying areas of weakness and coming up with a plan that is more than "resource room". Her teacher's "know" her and are as excited about her successes as I am! She feels loved there and that is priceless to me.

Christ the King Catholic School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
We have been extremely happy with the faith based education our children have received at Christ the King. The administration is caring and knowledgeable which I think sets the right tone from the top. The teachers are fantastic and their commitment to the kids, the school, and the community is top notch. Our children's success thus far at school has been about being in an environment that they are comfortable in, along with great teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christ the King Catholic School
5858 Crittenden Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46220
(317) 257-9366
Last modified Christ the King Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Christ the King Catholic School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top