GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral High School

Private | 9-12 | 1250 students

We are best known for Holy Cross values, academics, arts, and athletics
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

A brother of student My brother has been at Cathedral for 4 years and he is a senior this year. Over these years I have seen him bloom into a young man. He has been on honor roll all year this year and he refuses to give up. I honestly hope cathedral changes me like it did with him. This school is the best in Indiana and the good thing is you're all family. If you had an option for sending your son/daughter to a high school, I would definatley choose Cathedral. I will be a graham an next year and I hope I have a better experience than my brother.


Posted January 8, 2014

This school is very high academically. It also mandates volunteerism for graduation Both produce a well rounded student for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

I thank my parents for their hard work to send me to this stellar school. In every aspect, this school prepares their students. Before I attended college, for example, balancing schoolwork and extracurricular activities with all outside agendas (i.e. family, jobs, social lives) was a vital life skill that easily became ingrained in the habits and expectations of Cathedral students, such as myself. I could speak of fantastic experiences, but to sum it up, the school gave me experience, flat. Diversity exists; not everyone is Catholic at all; there are different political and economical backgrounds obvious to the student body-- and yet the place is family. It is an exceptional high school that contributes to a teenager's growing process into becoming rounded individuals with a sense of purpose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

I loved attending cathedral it was an experience like no other. It was definitely worth the money and you formed friendships with teachers and other students that last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

Cathedral is a fine school. As a graduate I can recomend it highly. However it is not the meca of education that the Cathedral community hypes it to be. Cathedral has two big problems, Its a political jungal and lower admission standards are granted to football recruits.


Posted October 3, 2007

Sending my son to Cathedral was the best gift we could give him. The academic and extra-curricular programs are outstanding, but the school is more than its college-prep classes and football team. It is a warm and caring community. Our son has made friendships that will last a lifetime. He has been mentored by caring teachers and will benefit from their tutelage for a lifetime. This is the only school we've ever attended where I do not have a single thing to complain about. Beautiful campus; kind and loving teachers and staff; strong school spirit; rigorous academics; spiritual guidance, assertive diversity program. Particularly meaningful to our son's experience have been the amazing theatre program, the small but wonderful choral department, and the language support program (a Godsend!). I can't imagine a better high school exists anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Excellence is the standard at Cathedral. Academics, sports, music, etc all areas meld to produce confident, well-educated, responsible individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

Cathedral was the best learning experience of my life. I loved all of the teachers, and the knowledge I gained, my four years at Cathedral has really helped me in the small liberal arts college I attend now. I was involved in the theatre while I was there, and the theatre productions at Cathedral are phenomenal. Sports teams excelled as well. I remember my freshman year we won something like 7 State Championships. The school is a really great place to send your children if you are looking for stellar academics, renowned extra-curricular, and an environment of racial and socio-economic diversity. Students at Cathedral want to be there, and if they don't they don't, it would only take participation in school functions to change thier mind.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 23, 2006

I went to Cathedral back in the day & the standards for that school are set high. They really challenged everybody and still today, it is a wonderful school with high standards in no matter what students do. My daughter is going into Cathedral next year & I couldn't be more proud.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2005

This is a wonderful school with a solid Catholic curiculam.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2004

As a former student, I can say that 'College Prep' means college prep! After 2 years at an Indiana State school, I have not had to study half as hard as my friends, and I have had a higher GPA than them, mostly due to the fact that I have already learned all the introductory material at Cathedral. It's a great place filled with community and family. A place based on tradition, and one that holds a special place in my heart.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2004

The faculty and staff at this school are incredibly dedicated professionals that treat each student with dignity and respect and set high standards for the students. The theatre and band programs provide opportunities for all students who wish to be involved and have been an important part of my teenager's education as well as the rigorous academics at this school. Parent participation is welcomed and encouraged. This school has been a wonderful experience for our teenager and for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The faculty takes a personal interest in each student, and strives to offer opportunities for all to be successful. My daughter is finishing her freshman year and it has been a wonderful experience for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

The expectations are high at this school and the students must live up to them whether its in academics, sports or extracurricular.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

98%

Average SAT score

1093

Graduation rate

95.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
91%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
14%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.9
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
28
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
91%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 83% 74%
Black 1 10% 12%
Multiracial 1 4% 4%
Hispanic 1 2% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St.. Simon
St. Matthew
Immaculate Heart of Mary
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
Purdue University
University of Dayton
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Step team
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Application Process Procedures
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:10 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr David Worland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 543-5050

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Language Support
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Application Process Procedures
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Brain Game
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Society of Student Scientists
  • Speech Team
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue, gold
More from this school
  • Cathedral High School's vision as a Catholic institution in the Holy Cross tradition is to be a model for all high schools as she profoundly shapes the way students think, serve, and leave. Since 1918, Cathedral has been creating lifelong connections among students, teachers, and alumni. By drawing from more than 130 schools in all neighborhoods in Indianapolis, Cathedral offers a rich, uniquely diverse atmosphere that promotes spiritual, intellectual, social, emotional, and physical growth.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
491
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
627
Students typically come from these schools
St.. Simon
St. Matthew
Immaculate Heart of Mary

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$11000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
Purdue University
University of Dayton
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Application Process Procedures
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5225 East 56th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46226
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 542-1481

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download