Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,293 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cathedral High School 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a community member
This was a fantastic institution to attend. They have a rigorous curriculum with updated facilities and an outstanding faculty. They encourage participation in wide range of extracurricular activities and have an elite athletics program. The Catholic element adds an additional faith-based addition to the curriculum, but I wouldn't consider it "in your face" and they encourage a wide range of views and debate on hot topics.

Cathedral High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a student
They had a priest come in and tell us why gay marriage is wrong. If we can't respect our community who can we respect? This school teaches bigotry and discrimination.

Cathedral High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a student
This school teaches students that hard work doesn't matter and that all that does matter are grades.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted September 23, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is currently a sophomore at Cathedral. Our family is truly humbled and blessed for her to attend such an outstanding institution! Cathedral is focused on the development of all students - emotionally, spiritually, and academically. We are grateful for the attention that is given to developing well-rounded, young adults who are well-prepared for college and life, in general. For example, an emphasis is placed on building leadership skills, as well as community service. We also love the beautiful campus, which provides a small college atmosphere. It is an honor to drive up the hill every morning!! :)

Cathedral High School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
A brother of student My brother has been at Cathedral for 4 years and he is a senior this year. Over these years I have seen him bloom into a young man. He has been on honor roll all year this year and he refuses to give up. I honestly hope cathedral changes me like it did with him. This school is the best in Indiana and the good thing is you're all family. If you had an option for sending your son/daughter to a high school, I would definatley choose Cathedral. I will be a graham an next year and I hope I have a better experience than my brother.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is very high academically. It also mandates volunteerism for graduation Both produce a well rounded student for the future.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted March 04, 2012
- a student
I thank my parents for their hard work to send me to this stellar school. In every aspect, this school prepares their students. Before I attended college, for example, balancing schoolwork and extracurricular activities with all outside agendas (i.e. family, jobs, social lives) was a vital life skill that easily became ingrained in the habits and expectations of Cathedral students, such as myself. I could speak of fantastic experiences, but to sum it up, the school gave me experience, flat. Diversity exists; not everyone is Catholic at all; there are different political and economical backgrounds obvious to the student body-- and yet the place is family. It is an exceptional high school that contributes to a teenager's growing process into becoming rounded individuals with a sense of purpose.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
I loved attending cathedral it was an experience like no other. It was definitely worth the money and you formed friendships with teachers and other students that last a lifetime.

Cathedral High School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2008
- a community member
Cathedral is a fine school. As a graduate I can recomend it highly. However it is not the meca of education that the Cathedral community hypes it to be. Cathedral has two big problems, Its a political jungal and lower admission standards are granted to football recruits.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
Sending my son to Cathedral was the best gift we could give him. The academic and extra-curricular programs are outstanding, but the school is more than its college-prep classes and football team. It is a warm and caring community. Our son has made friendships that will last a lifetime. He has been mentored by caring teachers and will benefit from their tutelage for a lifetime. This is the only school we've ever attended where I do not have a single thing to complain about. Beautiful campus; kind and loving teachers and staff; strong school spirit; rigorous academics; spiritual guidance, assertive diversity program. Particularly meaningful to our son's experience have been the amazing theatre program, the small but wonderful choral department, and the language support program (a Godsend!). I can't imagine a better high school exists anywhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cathedral High School
5225 East 56th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46226
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (317) 542-1481
Last modified Cathedral High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top