Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
47 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Children's House 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
The Childrens House is an AWESOME school. We are thrilled to be there and just regret that they don't have a high school!!!

The Children's House 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
My son has ADHD. In kindergarten (at a "good" public school), he was told that he was a trouble maker, and his IEP team basically said their efforts with him would be useless without him taking medication. After a year of torture, we decided a change was in order. We found The Children's House, and my son went from dreading school, where he was mistreated by kids and staff alike, to loving to learn and never wanting to leave school. The Children's House has excellent teachers who give one-one-one lessons to each student. The kids make their own schedules based on the requirements they need to fulfill, and through this method, they learn personal responsibility. My son just finished first grade and is a great reader, knows all the bones in the body, and gets to do art every day. He learns at his own pace, while also being challenged to do more. Also, the school is not required to do ISTEP testing, so the kids learn much more than what is on standardized tests. We started our younger son in the preschool midyear. He, too, has had an excellent experience at the school. We would not consider sending our kids elsewhere. Need a great school? You need The Children's House.

The Children's House 5

Posted April 02, 2012
- a parent
I started looking for a new school for my son while he was in kindergarten at a very well-liked public school. However, the long days with no recess/music/art/science became to much for my spirited learner. After a year at this school he has regained his confidence, began to enjoy learning and his independence and maturity has grown leaps and bounds. He has freedom but still has to abide by a schedule, can articulate his thoughts as well as any adult, and most of all, ENJOYS school. I'm not sure where we would be if we hadn't found The Children's House - here he has the opportunity to see musicals, participate in schoool plays (something only the older kids were allowed to do at his other school) and feels like an equal. It has truly made a remarkable difference in his learning and confidence.

The Children's House 5

Posted March 04, 2012
- a parent
This school saved my son. When he started in the 4th grade, he had been hating hi previous school because of the confines of traditional school. At Children's House he grew into such a bright, caring, intellectual yet playful gentleman. He remained there throughout Middles School. Such a community of diverse, respected learners and happy teachers! If every school were like this, the world would be a much better place. I am so happy we stumbled across this gem of a school! It was truly a game changer for my older son, and our preschooler just started there and loves every day!

The Children's House 5

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
A wonderful little school where every child is an individual. My son became a confident learner without labels.

The Children's House
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
What a joy it has been to have my granddaughter attend this school. She has been in the school since preschool and I have always felt that the teachers were interested in her success. I chose the school because of the individualized instruction that each child receives. She has blossomed into a self assured young woman in a safe and caring environment. I am just sorry that the do not go through high school.

The Children's House 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a parent
Fantastic school! best kept secret in Indy! This place really fosters learning! It teaches children how to be independent and individualistic,

The Children's House 5

Posted February 10, 2007
- a parent
So much better than normal schools! I wish they went all the way through high school. The teachers are fantastic with all of the students. I was so impressed when I visited the first time; teenagers who could look me in the eye and speak to me instead of mumble and look at the ground.

The Children's House 5

Posted November 04, 2006
- a student
The Children's House offers many activities including music, soccer, Spanish and Latin. Parent's can be as involved as they want to be so a parent uninterested in helping out is not required to do so. Children learn about independence much more then other schools because they are required to create their own schedules and they decide when and where they go. Children learn how to depend on themselves and if they slack and miss things there are consequences.

The Children's House 4

Posted September 15, 2006
- a parent
Lots of opportunities for a child to thrive, however I witnessed a teacher/counselor who spent a lot of time surfing the net...unfortunately!

Nearby schools

The Children's House
2404 West 62nd Street, Indianapolis, IN  46268
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (317) 253-3033
Last modified The Children's House is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top