Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Indianapolis, IN
Students enrolled: 235
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Baptist Academy 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
I unfortunately went to this school from 2nd -8th grade. This school believes in corporal punishment for literally every mistake a child makes. There's a lot of things that went on at this school that nowadays would land the teachers in jail. Such as duct taping the entire class' mouths shut and leaving bruises from paddling's. But my favorite memory was when we spent 2 fun filled weeks learning about exorcism. We had to endure cassette recordings of supposed exorcisms that would make an adult fearful. We were only 11 and 12 years old. I'm 40 years old and I still have issues with it. I have 4 children now, 3 that are still in school and I would rather die than send my children there. There's a reason the state only gives it a D rating.
1 person found this helpful

Baptist Academy 3

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
I believe that ALL the teachers, as well as the staff and volunteers care about each and every child enrolled in Baptist Academy. I attended Baptist Academy back in the early to mid 1970's. They had the same caring attitude then as much as today. The education is superb after coming from a public school. My child did not have any homework until the second semester while attending a public school. That to me was ridiculous since he was in first grade and just learning how to do everything academically, or at least he should have been. He has attended Baptist Academy for three years and we have had no problems whatsoever with either the staff or the academics. I would recommend BAPTIST ACADEMY to anyone looking for a quality, Christian education with caring administrators and teachers looking for the best in every student there.

Baptist Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Exceptional caring school that my son loves. The teachers go beyond teaching and help students in areas they need it most and go the extra mile with them to help them succeed. My son is in 8th grade and this is his 2nd year at Baptist Academy. He has had struggles all his schooling, but BA helps students strive to their best. I couldn't ask for a better school for my son to go to. I feel so blessed to have found this wonderful school.

Baptist Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a community member
The education students receive at Baptist Academy is exceptional! The teachers are caring and many go above and beyond the call. Our kids are learning and being taught to think! I love the fact that teachers will actually pray with students and spend time getting to know them.

Baptist Academy 4

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Very good school. My son went there, and the teachers were very caring, and tried hard to work with parents for any problems or concerns. Regarding the parent that wrote about her child being "duct taped", I find this hard to believe, and even if true, that teacher (the Pre-K teachers) are all gone now. If you are looking for a reliable, God-centered school this is a very good option.

Baptist Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
I am a 2009 graduate of Baptist Academy, and I can proudly say that, after looking back on who I have become, I don't wish I could've gone somewhere else. Every school has its faults, and BA is no exception. But BA is a great school, no matter what anyone says otherwise. Of course, it is taught from a Christian perspective, and therefore certain rules are enforced such as dresscode and behavior--but these rules are reasonable and are designed to help students behave professionally and respectfully. Each student is treated fairly and appropriately--the teachers don't show favoritism. The academics are great--because of my SAT scores, I was able to get more than 75% of my college tuition paid for--BA's curriculum and teachers had a great part in that. If you are searching for a good place to grow intellectually and spiritually/morally, I would whole-heartedly recommend Baptist Academy.

Baptist Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Baptist Academy 4

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
They challenge my son and they have a good sports program. They don't let my son slack off.

Baptist Academy 4

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
Our children have been at the school for 2+ years and have excelled as they have outstanding grades and score extremely high on the SAT10 and ISTEP. The teachers are excellent and view their work as a ministry. Classes targeted for gifted/talented students and a stronger vision for the future of the school would add to quality of the education.

Baptist Academy 2

Posted January 06, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baptist Academy
2565 South Villa Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46203
(317) 788-1587
Last modified Baptist Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baptist Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top