Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Suburban Christian School 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
My boys are in their 1st year at Suburban. We transferred from Franklin Township Schools because I was unhappy with teachers and their level of commitment to the kids. We absolutely LOVE it here at Suburban. My boys are both sad the school year ended and cannot be here all summer long. The emphasis on their education by the teachers is such a refreshing change from their previous schools. The teachers are amazing at offering extra help to any child who needs it. They truly want them to succeed. I have and always will recommend Suburban to any parent looking for a school to help their child grow spiritually and academically.

Suburban Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are quick to offer help, either individual or group when ever it may be needed.

Suburban Christian School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
They usually have time at school to begin working on homework. There has never been any night where I disagreed and thought it was excessive as I had at previous schools.

Suburban Christian School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
A wonderful school with an emphasis on spiritual growth and academic success. I would recommend to any parent who wants a thoroughly Christian education for their children. Thank you SCS!

Suburban Christian School 1

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
Went to this school as a child between grades K4 9th. My parents loved the idea of a Christian education, as you likely do as well. However, this school really does a poor job of preparing you for the real world you will face as an adult. The level of adherence to legalistic rules and procedures (combined with vengeful enforcement) leads you to believe that Christians are just generally mean people, who don't share any of the values of the leader they purportedly follow and believe is in their hearts. In summary, I hope you seriously consider what kind of values you want your children to have as adults. If you want your children to be educated by poor, legalistic, and mean teachers who are just generally unhappy and unkind, then send your kids to this place. Personally, I am glad my parents wised up.

Suburban Christian School 2

Posted May 01, 2012
- a parent
Staff isn't consistent with following through on the rules written in the handbook. Staff is also friends with students Facebook some make inappropriate comments. This isn't allowed in a public school nor should be it alllowed in a private school.

Suburban Christian School 5

Posted May 01, 2011
- a parent
Great school for any age! The education is wonderful, the teachers are always striving to help the children be the best that they can be.

Suburban Christian School 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a teacher
At SCS we strive to provide each student with an academic experience that is superior to what is available in the public school system. We use the ABeka Christian school curriculum for the majority of our classroom education. Elementary students also receive weekly education in music, art, and computer skills. In addition, students begin foreign language skills development in third grade by studying Spanish. Students are able to receive the individual attention that they need due to our low student to teacher ratio of 12:1. Our teaching faculty is comprised of qualified, degreed teachers who have an average of 15 years of teaching experience. We also have tutoring and help classes available. In high school, we offer a diploma that is equivalent to the Indiana Core 40 as well as a college preparatory diploma with honors level classes. Over 90% of our high school graduates attend a college or a university. I hope that you will prayerfully consider the opportunities that SCS can provide for your children as it has and did for mine.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Suburban Christian School
722 East County Line Road, Indianapolis, IN  46227
(317) 888-3366
Last modified Suburban Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Suburban Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top