GreatSchools Rating

Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

Private | 9-12 | 758 students

Providing an excellent college preparatory education for a lifetime of service.
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2011

scholl does fantastic job of preparing students for college. very challenging environment academically . Students well grounded in learning self reliance. while catholic, non catholics are not pressured to conform to catholic rituals . Very diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

I m guessing that the previous review is most likely from someone who never attended Brebeuf. I went there and graduated in 2009. I can assure you that I am not a drug addict, nor were any of the students I knew at Brebeuf. This is a silly stereotype that other schools tend to place on it. I also don't entirely understand the statement that we are all from rich families. One of my best friends was a 21st century scholar and I paid for 15% of my tuition out of my own pocket. In any case, I am in the Nursing School at Indiana University, and I am so grateful that I went to brebeuf because it prepared me academically and socially for college in ways I never knew it would. Brebeuf has some of the most amazing teachers in the world. They are open to questions and always want their students to succeed. I graduated with lifelong friends, memorable teachers, and a stable academic background. I will never forget or regret my days at Brebeuf. And I never felt like it was a prison, I felt like it was one of the most intellectually open environments I could have had as a high school student. I would send my children here if I were a parent..
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2010

Brebeuf provided an excellent high school experience. At my liberal arts college in New England, I quickly learned that not all students are privileged enough to not only have gotten a great college prep curriculum, but also have such a supporting and loving learning environment. Even though I was in many AP classes and participated in several academic competitions, I never felt as though Brebeuf was a competitive environment. The idea was that we were all smart enough to be there, so why bother with public student rankings or other statistics to force students to compete with each other over grades and accomplishments. The teachers at Brebeuf are superb -- I still find myself thanking my honors and AP English teachers for the incredible writing foundation that they instilled in me. In college and graduate school, I have felt prepared thanks to the foundation that Brebeuf offered me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

Our daughter visited several schools public and private and none had the combination of superb academics, community service opportunity and personal growth and acountablity. I highly recommend this school to parents and students who are serious about a high quality education and preparation for a collegiate career at the school of their choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

It gives the students such wonderful opportunities, while pushing them academically and gives them an opportunity to partake in the freedom that you will recieve in college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

This school fully prepared my daughter for her latter years in life. Brebeuf made her the well rounded person she is today, giving her not only the academic tools to succeed, but also life lessons. Sending my daughter to Brebeuf is one of the best decisions of my life, and is money well spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

Brebeuf Jesuit continues to graduate students prepared for a college education. The Jesuit way of 'Men and Women in service to others.' instills a sense of volunteerism into the students, too. Our daughter has gone on to graduate summa cum laude from a Jesuit university and is presently pursuing her Master's degree - on a fellowship grant. Brebeuf is not for every student. If your son or daughter is self-motivated, intellectually curious and has a passion for learning, this may be the right school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

When we chose to send our daughter to Brebeuf, we did it because we wanted to avoid the overcrowding and institutionalized nature of the northern suburban schools (carmel, zionsville, etc). The size of the school is an obvious advantage, as teachers can spend more time with each student and students feel like they are cared for in a smaller student body. However, once considered an environment where faculty trusted students and students were given more rights than the public schools, Brebeuf is now no less institutionalized than the public schools and has become a police state of sorts. Random drug tests and police searches of cars are the norm now at Brebeuf. Seniors have few privileges that their underclassment don't already have. Once a school that stood above the subruban schools in the area, now just a waste of 12 grand a year...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Truly a school that sculpts and shapes who you are and what lies ahead in your future...


Posted July 26, 2007

I am a recent alum, and I had a fantastic time at Brebeuf. The schedule really does prep you for college (where I am now) because you have to learn how to manage your time efficiently while maintaining healthy relationships with your peers. The teachers are great too! I ran into a '78 alum (who incidentally works across the hall from my lab), and we brought up Sara Compton and Claire Baker. Fabulous thoughts, fabulous people, fabulous memories. Such a positive high school environment, not forcing religion on anyone. In fact, I firmly believe that Brebeuf encourages deep thought and philosophy - and most importantly, inflection. I sorely miss the well thought-out retreats.


Posted February 23, 2004

Brefeuf provided an excellent curriculum which prepared my children well for their college studies. The teachers there provided individual guidance as warranted which helped to guide both of my Brebeuf grads into their areas of college study. Community service and caring for fellow citizens are expected and embraced. The extra-curricular activities provide a great opportunity for building self-esteem as well as learning sportmanship. The education is well rounded, well developed and well taught. The teachers are fine, dedicated individuals who honor their vocations. The administration is accessible and involved. This is truly a great institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

Brebeuf is an outstanding college preparatory school that offers quality teaching, motivated students, small classes, dedicated teachers in an atmosphere that places an emphasis on student integrity and character. Community service is required.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
77%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

100%

Average SAT score

1232

Graduation rate

97.5%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
91%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
1%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
3.1
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
27
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
93%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Black 8% 12%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 2%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school The Orchard School
Creekside Middle School
St. Luke's
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
Purdue University
University of Notre Dame
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Russian
Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Indiana Four Star School (2011)
  • Indiana Four Star School (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Special olympics
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms Latonya Turner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • General visits
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
Fax number
  • (317) 524-7144

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Associations
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Maroon and Gold
School mascot
  • Brebeuf Man
More from this school
  • twitter.com/brebeufjesuit facebook.com/brebeufjesuitpreparatoryschool
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
260
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
350
Students typically come from these schools
The Orchard School
Creekside Middle School
St. Luke's

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
State Voucher Program
Application fee
Yes. $50.
Fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
Purdue University
University of Notre Dame
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 0%
4 year college - 99%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 West 86th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46268
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 872-7050

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download