No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gray Road Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2005

I have 2 students at GRCS, one is in the preschool and one in the elementary. Our family loves this school! The teachers and principal are readily accessible to us. When one of our children was struggling in a subject, her teacher put in lots of extra time and work to find creative ways to help her master the material, and did a fantastic job of keeping in touch with us so that we would know exactly where our child stood. They are also taught to have good character and are learning the Bible. I see that some other parents have complained of being asked about deliquent tuition in front of others. We choose to pay on time, so I can't address that issue. I also notice complaints about teacher turnover. I am only aware of one class that has had a change of teacher during the current school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

It is interesting that there are 4 very negative reviews all in the same month from someone masquerading as different parents when there were 2 reviews in the previous 2 years... hmmm... this is likely the work of a disgruntled former employee whose employment ended close to that time... hmmm... don't believe it. We have both of our kids at the school and love it. The previous comment about extracurricular activities (such as sports) is fair, but parent involvement is excellent, the principal is absolutely great with the kids and parents, and the teacher quality is excellent. Out kids will definitely be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Check out this school for yourself! They've got it going on! Gray Road has a loving, happy atmosphere with structure. The teachers genuinely care for the children. They love them and model God's love to them. That means so much to my family. (If my children are not with me, I want them with others who care about them!) The Administrator is very involved and concerned. She has alway made time and listened intently when I have had a concern about my child. I've been more than pleased with Gray Road. I praise God for Gray Road Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

I pay my tuition semiannually so I have never been approached about it personally. I do think that the education is of good quality and more advanced than most public elementary schools. The principal greets and hugs every student every day as they come in for school and my daughter's teacher genuinely wants to see her succeed. I don't believe there are enough extracurricular activities. They try to expose them to different things during the week...(i.e. music, spanish and art classes). I plan on sending my younger daughter there next year to get the discount on tuition. So far...no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

As a parent, I would not send my child to Gray Road again or suggest the school to others. The administration is poor and shows favoritism to their 'favorite' parents. They did not seem to see my perspective at all and did not honor my privacy, as I was approached several times in front of others about my tuition. My child did not seem to learn anything extra and above and beyond that of a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

I would never send my child here again! The adminstration is not very involved in the pre-school wing and does not understand the parents perspective! Their view is that 'maybe Gray Road just isn't for you.' I have seen too much turnover in staff because of the unhappiness in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

This school is not a good school! The administration is poor and does not understand the parental view on their children. The teachers seem to constantly change and there is no firm foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

Gray Road is not what it is cracked up to be. I was constantly approached in front of others about my tuition bill, which was a private matter, and the school did not allow parents to visit freely. I felt as if they had something to hide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My children have been attending this school for 6 years now & we are very pleased. The principle cares and is very active with everything as well as the teachers. My over all rating is a 5++. It is well worth the $ we pay! My kids are straight A students and they are learning about God. In public schools you can't even mention the word 'God' or you can get in trouble. Attending a Christian School is the only route for me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We love Gray Road Christian School! We love the teachers, we love the principal, we love it all! Our daughter scored 2-3 higher grades than her level, and her biblical knowledge was off the scale! We really love the fact that our daughter learns all about Jesus every single day and has chapel on Friday. We just can't say enough positive things about this school! It's worth it's weight in gold!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 74%
Black 10% 12%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Multiracial 1% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ann Wall
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (317) 789-4046

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Gray Road
Indianapolis, IN 46237
Phone: (317) 786-3559

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download