GreatSchools Rating

Southport Presbyterian Christian School

Private | PK-7 | 166 students

"Our school is best known for achieving academic excellence with a Christian per
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2012

Our child attended Southport Presbyterian Christian School from preschool through 8th grade. We found the overall mission of the school to be Christ-centered. We knew staff members to be Christians seeking to grow in their relationships with Christ and praying daily for the school, parents and students. We were encouraged to see a Christ-filtered lens at the school for everything from activites to curriculum to choir and band to reading material and school musicals. The academics available at SPCS are superior and if students, encouraged by their parents, are willing to work and take advantage of all the education provided, a student will be very well prepared for high school and beyond. Our family found the transition to high school seamless. Last, and certainly most important, is the SPCS staff's sensitivity to the leading of the Holy Spirit in sharing the Gospel with the students and at His prompting leading students to a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Our family has been richly blessed by God with Southport Presbyterian Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

SPCS is a loving environment. Our children are viewed as special creations from the hand of a loving God. We love our families and are very supportive. Staff meets for prayer time regularly. We all feel so blessed to be at SPCS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2012

Southport Presbyterian Christian School (SPCS) is an excellent school that focuses on academics and character. The students who attend SPCS through eighth grade are well-prepared for high school. All students receive instruction and attention from caring teachers who help each child reach his/her full potential both academically and personally. As a teacher, I am privileged to work with such a dedicated, hard-working, professional teaching staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 14, 2012

The March 2010 comment below is obviously a parent with an axe to grind. It certainly has not been our experience! My three children have attended SPCS since the 2 year old class, and my oldest is in the fifth grade this year. SPCS teachers and staff have been a true blessing to our family. My chidren are thriving under their instruction, and because of small class sizes, receive individual attention and extra help when needed. The teachers are nurturing and work extremely hard to make sure that all of their students excel in academics (as you can see by their ISTEP record over the years), but are also vigilant in teaching Christan education and caring for others. I would recommend this school to anyone...preschool through eighth grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Southport Presbyterian Christian School (SPCS) exhibits, in general, significant teacher and administrative weakness in the middle school grades. Academics are weak -- especially math and science. Children are targeted with uneven discipline. Children of politically connected parents are favored. Even the students themselves recognize the inequity of treatment by the teachers. The faculty and administration seem primarily for their own reputations rather than the development of the gifts of each student. Ironically, it is this very sin of pride that convicts them. Faculty emphasis on student homogeneity, compliant behavior, and group think results in "Stepford" children whose development is impaired at SPCS. Social development, personality growth, and independent thought are punished by the teachers and administrators. This is a great disservice to children whose full character, communication skills, social navigation, collaboration and critical thinking skills which are essential to their success in high school, college and beyond. Were we able to revisit our middle school choice for our child, we would absolutely not choose SPCS again. It was a grave error on our part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I think SPC is great. I don't think I could've sent my daughter to a better pre-K. I wish there were more schools like it. I recommend it for all. Great, great school, especially for the price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

SPCS is a wonderful school. The teachers are absolutely amazing, and love God. You can really see this in their teaching.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

Our two children both attended SPCS and had a fantastic experience there. We have since moved out of state, and I can say with total confidence that there is not another school like Southport Presbyterian Christian School. We will never forget the eternal investment the teachers and faculty made in the lives of our little ones. Thanks to the wonderful Godly examples of the people at SPCS, our children came home everyday knowing how much Jesus cares for them. SPCS is truly a rare gem; to have the Christian foundation, the committment to academic excellence, and the resources to keep their programs competitive. May God richly bless SPCS for many years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My son goes to SPCS and I have been truly impressed with his growth. They maintain a Christ based foundation in the education. When he comes home a tells me what he has learned today, it will almost always involve a mention of Jesus. The foundation is being put in place by these wonderful teachers that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

We have been so impressed with this school. The teachers are so caring and really, geuinely help our children to be successful. We have never had a single problem there- it has been amazing. And above all- they really do maintain a Christian atmosphere. We have never had to worry about our children's safety or emotional well being- and that is absolutely priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Wonderful school. The atmosphere is friendly and warm. Staff is always smiling. Teachers are intelligent and caring. Great after-school activities. The only draw back is it only goes to 5th grade and not 12th grade. My grandson went to kindergarten and now first grade at the school. He walks in smiling in the morning and walks out smiling. He loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian 1% 0%
Black 1% 12%
Multiracial 1% 4%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 10%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Individuals speak French and S
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Miss Susie Manning
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (317) 534-2921

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Individuals speak French and S
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French
  • Game club
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • Gold, Green
School mascot
  • Eagle
More from this school
  • We are a small, Christian school able to address the needs of individual students. As our mission statement proclaims, . . .Our purpose is to educate each child according to individual needs in an atmosphere which fosters the child's optimum growth." Our teachers make the difference! They are loving, well-qualified and enthusiastic with the students' best interest at heart. They are our "Living Curriculum". We foster a strong family atmosphere and teach from a Christian worldview.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
30
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
37

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
approved SGO
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High School
Area public schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7525 McFarland Boulevard
Indianapolis, IN 46237
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 534-2929

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download