GreatSchools Rating

Curtis Wilson Primary School

Private | PK-6 | 115 students

challenging curriculum, dedicated and nurturing staff, personal excellence

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2011

This is my daughter's eighth year at Curtis Wilson/ BTH and I have nothing but glowing reviews for the students, teachers and staff. The curriculum is top notch, the teachers are nurturing and caring, and the environment is warm and comfortable. I am only saddened by the fact they only go thru 6th grade. Maybe as the economy improves, enrollment will improve enough to add a 7th and 8th grade. You won't be disappointed with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

My daughter has attended Beech Tree / Curtis Wilson since she was 6 mths. old. This will be her 8th year at CWA. We have NEVER had one single complaint with the level of her education, teachers, staff, principal or curriculum. Our older children attended other publin and private schools, yet none come close in comparison. It's an experience you and your children should not miss!! Absolutely amazing, I give this school and A++ and so will you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I have been a student at Curtis Wilson for over 8 years. Sadly, I had to graduate this year. However, I would highly reccommend this school. Students are always warmly recieved by the teachers because we are all family. I have nothing but good things to say about this school. I love this school and I am extremely disapointed that I could not attend at least one more year.


Posted August 4, 2009

We spent 8 years at Beech Tree & Curtis Wilson. I cannot say enough good things about the owners, teachers, staff, classmates & parents. My son is now entering high school and received the only merit scholarship they award. I feel he was well prepared for the next step and learned many life skills as well as how to be successful in his education. My daughter was at Beech Tree from 6 mos. and had a wonderful, nuturing experience. Wouldn't change a thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Our daughter and her parents love this school. The academics are well beyond that of the local public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

Our children have attended CWP and BTH for the past 9 years and we have nothing but WONDERFUL things to say about this school. If you are looking for a place where your child is nurtured, educated and kept safe this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

I love Curtis Wilson. It has provided my children with a high quality education. Critical thinking skills are emphasized. I appreciate the individualized attention that chilren receive.I am pleased with their focus on being a good citizen. Children are taught to respect one another and to respond to each other in kindness.Curtis Wilson is a special place for children to grow, learn, and form lasting friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

My child has attended this school for several years. They have been warmly received and encouraged to do their personal best. They have been given a challenging curriculum and have been encouraged to reach their highest potential. The academic standards are high and the teachers are there to make sure that the students meet and excede the standards. I am pleased that God and his teachings are focuses of the school. Curtis Wilson Primary School is not only educating my child, but is preparing my child to be a functional, resonsible, loving, and caring person. The administration is support and responds to concerns quickly. I can't imagine my child recieving a better education or a more caring environment anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

This will be the 5th year for both of our kids at Curtis Wilson Primary School. Every year CWPS continues to meet, even exceed our expectations at providing an excellent educational opportunity for our kids. The environment has always been nurturing, and at the same time the instruction is stimulating and invigorating. We have felt very comfortable working with all the teachers so that our children's individual experiences are enriched both socially and academically. Teachers have always responded constructively to feedback and the school continues to work hard at bringing novelty to the classroom dynamics. We wish that the school will grow beyond 6th grade so that our kids could continue into middle school with CWPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

This year will be my daughter's fourth year at Curtis Wilson, she will be entering the 6th grade. It is an excellent school with excellent teachers. The class sizes are small enough to allow for individual attention, yet big enough to allow the children socialization. My daughter attended Arlington Elementary in Franklin Township and was getting a very poor education. I pulled her and put her in Curtis Wilson and she has excelled beyond my broadest expectations. My daughter will go to Curtis Wilson until she is too old to attend, I would never dream of pulling her out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

Both of my children have gone to BTHCCD/CWPS for the past 5years. I believe they provide a well-structured learning enviornment and positive experiences that encourages family participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 74%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 2% 12%
American Indian N/A 0%
Hispanic N/A 7%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 1%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Heidi Dowell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (317) 882-8640

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Southside Special Services of Marion County
  • First Steps
  • Perry Township Special Services
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Checkers Club
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lego Club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • forest green, navy blue, and burnt red
School mascot
  • soaring eagle
More from this school
  • Curtis Wilson Primary School and Academy promotes the emotional, physical, intellectual, social, and spiritual development of each child. Our exceptional teaching staff is dedicated to presenting a challenging and enthusiastic learning environment that recognizes each child as a unique learner. The experiences provided at Curtis Wilson Primary School and Academy encourage students to approach all areas of life with a sense of obligation and an expectation of personal excellence.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
115
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
115

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Application fee
Yes. $275.
No fee waivers available
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7850 South Emerson Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46237
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 882-8636

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download