GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Christian High School

Private | 9-12 | 325 students

We are known for being a community committed to developing life-long learners.
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2013

They offer very few practical AP classes. The curriculum is rigid compared to the public schools. Grades are not recorded promptly. You may not know how your kids are doing until the end of the grading period. If you need a transcript for any reason, good luck trying to get the grades on it. Some of the office staff can be rude and excuse me for saying this so bluntly but I feel that if I am paying for my child to attend a school when we could have chosen to place him elsewhere, I don't believe I should be treated rudely by school employees. The kids do seem to enjoy the family like atmosphere with their peers. If the office staff and a few of the teachers were given a customer service class, like other businesses put their employees through, and things ran a little more efficiently in the guidance office, it would be much better. Some of the teachers and the office staff need to remember that the kids and their parents are customers, and that reputation can make or break any business, even a school. Improve the staff-improve the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

This school is ok. They don't offer many AP classes and if you transfer here during a school year you probably wont find matching classes so you may lose some credits like I did. The kids are for the most part nice to everyone. Some of the teachers are really nice as well. I think Bible classes should be optional or at least have a different option like "world religions" or something. It takes up credit time that you don't need for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2013

My daughter went to this school. The kids all get along pretty well. They do not have any AP classes available to freshmen, and they must wait until junior year her to take some of the classes that other schools allow freshmen to take, such as Biology. They do not even offer AP world at all, or any history/geography classes to freshmen at all. If you transfer your kids out of here they will be behind the kids at the public schools. They only offer Chinese and Spanish, so if your kid wants French or German you are out of luck. And trying to get updated grades here is a joke. no one records them in a timely manner, and it is next to impossible to get a transcript if you need one. If your kid isn't a jock or have musical talent, and if they don't quite "fit in", you may not like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

As a CCHS class of 2010 graduate, I have to say that my time CCHS was without a doubt, the best 4 years of my life. The faculty genuinely care about their students both at school and at home. The classes are small which was fantastic for a one on one experience in class where truly no one was considered a number. The school doesn't feel like a school by the time you graduate. It really does feel like you are leaving family when you walk out of the doors on your graduation day. I can't recommend this school enough as it has provided me with a strong religious education that was both challenging and rewarding. This doesn't feel like school, it feels like family and it's the best place I could recommend sending a High School student.


Posted June 20, 2013

I attended this school for 2.5 of my 4 high school years and after leaving, missed it dearly. You develop familial bonds with faculty and grow in the positive environment. The only issue that I encountered was favoritism. Due to the area in which I was from, I was treated differently and often targeted. Many of the students came from the same area/schools/churches and have already developed strong relationships with the faculty. Cliques and exclusion are an issue. Overall, the curriculum, culture and faculty are excellent. -Class of 2011
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2013

Part II: On the note of AP classes, while Covenant does not offer as many AP classes as some schools, I really do not see any issue. The non-AP classes are terrific! The AP classes that are taught are much better than other schools from what I've heard talking with my engineering peers. I strongly believe that many other school's AP classes strictly teach to the AP test and do not really teach the student the material. While this may result in a higher AP score, the students have a very small understanding of the course content at college where it is taught to Covenant s standards. As a side note, I do not believe in Freshman AP classes. NO freshman is intelligent enough to be taking actual college level classes (and if they are, they should be in college. Not high school!). More fluff AP classes look good on paper for a school but amount to very little in my mind when compared to Covenant s extremely high standards for all classes. Covenant is a small school and cannot offer a billion classes while maintaining its high standards. I can, however, guarantee that Covenant will leave any student who applies himself prepared for college and with a well-rounded education. GO COVENANT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2013

I was a part time student at Covenant Christian, involved in the music department for three years. I also was able to do the Spring Musical this year and participate in a class for the SAT. The teachers here are amazing - they really connect with the kids, expecting excellence from them, teaching them with excellence themselves, and being true friends, confidants, and counselors. It is an amazing community that focuses the students on the Lord and on honoring Him through school and through life. Although my time there was limited, it was the greatest experience of my high school career, and has helped shaped me into a more confident individual focused on serving Christ!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2012

I graduated from Covenant in 2009. I am very happy to say that. The lessons learned and the knowledge gained from Covenant are second to none, specifically the Spanish program. I was virtually fluent by the time I graduated. In addition to academia, Covenant has a strong athletic program. I played soccer for 4 years and loved every minute of it. I felt as if I were a part of a second family. The school's community is amazing. When one family is in trouble or hurting, several others quickly come to help and support them. I would definitely encourage a visit to the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2012

We are on our 4th student at Covenant. I cannot say enough good about the school. It has truly been a blessing to my family. I have 6 children, & I am confident that ALLwill attend CCHS. Of the three graduates, all attend very challenging colleges on academic merit based scholarships. One will be graduating this year as a mechanical engineer from the #1 undergrad engineering program in the US. Another is on Dean's list in a very challenging nursing program. The other is a freshman Finance major & econ minor at the #1 liberal arts school in the Midwest. All are Spanish minors because the program at CCHS was so strong that they test out of much of the college Spanish curriculum. Two are also college soccer players. More than that, the Spiritual impact on these kids is priceless. Those teachers love them & their relationships are still strong. CCHS prepared my kids to own THEIR faith and be able to defend it intelligently and with confidence. It may be wrong, but wife & I covet our children's CCHS experience. The minute you walk into the place, you can tell it's different. God is there & He is doing a tremendous work. I have referred MANY parents to CCHS. I encourage a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Covenant Christian is more than a school, it's a community. The students learn to think for themselves and embrace their faith as their own. Students are encouraged emotionally about their faith but also are taught to be intellectual Christians. The teachers go out of their way to foster relationships and encourage the students. Even the office staff is amazing and know each student by name. The administration is on point and aligned with Christ's mission. This school is very special. It was an investment in our child's life that has been well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Entering my second semester of undergraduate studies, I can say that nothing could have prepared me better than CCHS. Many of my peers in college struggle to grasp difficult concepts after years of memorizing meaningless facts. From a liberal arts background, I know how to learn. From a spiritual perspective, I am ready and eager to engage those of different beliefs in intellectual discussions. Propelled by a great staff, strong Christian values and a student body like none other, CCHS is sure to satisfy a motivated student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2009

As a previous reviewer pointed out, CCHS' credo is 'Minds enlightened. Hearts inflamed. Lives transformed.' Quite pertinent to what actually occurs at the school. Covenant reaches far beyond the traditional Christian stereotypes (not to the point of being liberal, though) and seeks to provide non-limited education. The student body cap will always remain at 400 (I've been told) so that class sizes will be smaller and more intimate. I recommend this school wholly. Visit covenantchristian.org. More importantly, go visit the school. It is worth the drive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

You will get a return on your investment in your child's education, over and over. They grow educationally, emotionally, spiritually, and physically. I am amazed all the time with what might children have learned and how they interact with the world. It is truly a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

This school is awesome. No place on earth is perfect, but they do a great job of teaching the kids to think for themselves and to have a Christian worldview that will help in years to come. They have great sports activities, super drama, and a spanish department that is hands down the best in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

Covenant Christian High School has a motto that it lives by: Minds Enlightened, Hearts Inflamed, Lives Transformed. This is seen in every aspect of the school, from teachers, to students, to the staff. Everyone comes together to educate and train each other in life, in school, and in Christ.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

98%

Average SAT score

1070

Graduation rate

91.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
88%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
7%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
3.1
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
27
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
86%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 83% 74%
Black 1 6% 12%
Multiracial 1 2% 4%
Hispanic 1 1% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 110%N/AN/A
Special education 10%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
Source: 1 Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school 40+ local middle schools
Kingsway Christian Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 96% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 1% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
Purdue University
IUPUI
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Indiana 4 Star School Award (2011)
  • Lilly Teacher Creativity Grants (2010)
  • Spanish Teacher of the Year Award (2009)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Indy Star Top Workplaces Award (2011)
  • Indy Star New Ideas Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club: modern
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr Brian Hudson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (317) 390-6823

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Wayne Township Schools
  • Ben Davis Career Center
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Dance club: modern
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Chinese
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Rock Climbing Club
  • Rocket Club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Writers' Club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Booster Club
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • dark green, maroon
School mascot
  • warrior
More from this school
  • Covenant is a unique place! The best way to learn about it is to come and see for yourself. Take a tour or "shadow" a current student for a school day. See our beautiful facilities, meet our caring staff and hang out with our friendly students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
126
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
140
Students typically come from these schools
40+ local middle schools
Kingsway Christian Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$9000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $50.
Fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
Purdue University
IUPUI
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 96%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7525 West 21st Street
Indianapolis, IN 46214
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 390-0202

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download