No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Richard's Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 350 students

St. Richard's is best known for producing exceptional outcomes.
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 26 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2011

I have a boy (going into 7th grade) and a girl (going into 5th grade) at this superb school. They are both doing really well under the leadership of their new head Ms Swenson. The family atmosphere of the school, the academic excellence and the proximity to downtown make this a GREAT choice for parents working in locations in the city. I can make it to my kids events even in the middle of the day occasionally. Above all else I see my kids have great preparation for High School, 9 out of 10 get their first choice and many get a scholarship. We love the St Richard's experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

I have sent my kids to St Richard's school for over 9 years and it has been an excellent experience. The new head is making real progress on many fronts to make this an excellent choice in the City. The academic strengths of the school have been great for us and we love the discipline they instill in all the students. I love the fact that the student body is small, diverse and have motivated friendly parents. In addition, although it is an Episcopal school, all faiths and nationalities are embraced. We highly recommend it too for working parents in downtown firms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Great Foreign Language (French since PK3 until 8th grade, Latin and Spanish in Middle School), Physical Education, Visual Art and Language Art program. Math and Science program needs improvement. Music program is wonderful but limited to vocal/choir and hand bell. Students, teachers and parents are the main assets of the school. Most teachers are great, some of them are exceptional. Parents get involved a lot in classroom s activities and school s events. School administration and current headmistress ignore students and the majority of families. Division Head s role main focus is mainly on students behavior, especially for Lower School. Students are constantly reminded about consequences if they misbehave in school. Curriculum - one size fits all. Students are expected to move in the same pace. This is not a right school if you have a gifted child.


Posted August 19, 2010

We are about to send our third child to St. Richard s this year and, although the education is not cheap, we think it is worth every penny. They say the time to invest in quality education is during the grade school / middle school years, and our experience has affirmed this. The school's "classic" curriculum teaches kids, right out of the box, the fundamental building blocks needed for all future learning and advancement: reading, writing, math, science. Along the way, they learn logical reasoning and critical thinking, and develop an appreciation for the importance of analysis, questioning, and intellectual exploration. Also emphasized are personal and civic responsibility, and an appreciation for the diversity of the world inside and outside the school s walls. All of this is delivered in a positive environment in which every kid is treated with love, care, and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

One of the greatest assets for students of St. Richard's is the other students (and families) there. While the curriculum is "classic" and somewhat demanding, there is a strong support system there and a nurturing environment. I once talked to the head of counciling at a very large public high school nearby that many SRS students go on to attend, and she told me that SRS graduates are consistently among the leaders in their school - in academics, arts, and community service (and in top college admissions). I was told that private high schools offered over $300K in academic scholorships to SRS students last year. No place is perfect, but SRS is a great school.


Posted July 6, 2010

We chose St. Richard's over other private and parochial schools that we were admitted, including Orchard and Park Tudor. The combination of academics, faith and values, as well as the structure, provides our children with an opportunity not replicated elsewhere in the city. We know our children would do well at many schools. The question we had as parents is what school would challenge our children academically in a warm and nurturing enviroment.? What Indianapolis schools have their middle school students study Latin as well as spanish or french? What schools have students studying subjects, in an age appropriate way, that is often a grade ahead then the other schools? And, the question for St. Richard's graduates isn't "which high school will I be admitted" but "which high school will I attend", given St. Richard's graduates are sought after . The school is a wonderful little gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

We have had three St. Richard's students in our family. Our two oldest are graduates and are doing very well at the high school and university level in very competitive academic environments. Our youngest child still attends SRS. The school offers a classic education based on faith-based values. As an Episcopal school, St. Richard's is open and accepting of all students and families and the diversity featured at the school is a strength we appreciate. The school features students from 18 countries whose families have moved to Indianapolis and who chose St. Richard's School. The school offers a significant amount of tuition financial aid to students who qualify academically and financially. St. Richard's has met all of our expectations as parents. " Knowledge and values for a lifetime" is not only a tagline but truly what we have experienced as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

My daughter is a 2010 graduate. At St. Richard's she has been academically challenged and spiritually enriched. She was accepted to each high school to which she applied and each school was eager to enroll a SRS graduate. As a parent, I love the uniforms and the respectful manner in which students are expected to treat adults visiting the school. My daughter has learned time managament and self-discipline and leaves SRS well-prepared for high school. The current head of school is moving the school in the right direction and the faculty is the best in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

St. Richard's has given my children excellent preparation. My son is leaving 8th grade this year with three years of Latin, 10 years of French, strong writing and math skills, poise and a love of learning. He was accepted at three of the city's most competitive high schools - he only applied to three, by the way. He even recieved a merit scholarship. I could not ask for a better foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My son attened St. Richard's for nine years he did wonderfully the first six, after that the quailty of their staff went down hill greatly I do not feel he recived the education he should have also staff (adm.)very petty and small mined not what you pay for
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

The school is great and certainly meets the needs of both of our children. The teachers seem very caring and interested in each of our children. We enjoy the parental involvement and exchanging ideas. Teachers welcome parents suggestions and comments. The administration seems to neglect parents and students especially the head of school and rely on staff to do the work. They have laid off or eliminated positions or combined positions, that create discord among teachers and certainly parents. Great school, poor leadership, I am thankful that the teachers and staff continue to keep it going, however I feel that a funding problem is in the future and could price itself out of the private school market.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

We have two children at SRS. Our son and daughter both love the school and the environment the teachers and staff provide. Our children are growing into independent and caring individuals. The traditions of the school are wonderful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Having experienced SRS as well as another highly ranked private school in Indianapolis, I better understand why SRS was not a good fit for us. Yes, SRS is a superior school, but everyone is expected to follow a very strict curriculum in the same (very traditional) way, at the same pace. No allowance for different learning styles. My son's confidence plummetted at SRS, performing much better now at new school. In my view SRS should become a girls' school, as there is little patience and acceptance for boys' needs to be active and hands-on. So much for commitment to diversity...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

The teachers are some of the most caring and influential people you could ever leave your children with for eight hours a day; but if you can't afford over $13,000 per year (and rising) don't count on any help from the school even though during the admissions process they assure you that money isn't an issue!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

St. Richard's School is by far one of the best schools that exists in the state of Indiana. It offers a classic curriculum, an openness to faith, it celebrates diversity and cultural awareness to ensure global readiness for students, it encourages civic responsibility and philanthropy, and teaches to the whole child including a phenomenal music, art, P.E., and foreign language program. The faculty and staff are the most patient, giving, caring, and creative bunch. St. Richard's has a strong sense of family and community. The students learn respect of each other and develop lifelong friendships w/ their peers, teachers, and the school itself. It is a top notch place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

The resources are limited, and the approach is very much one-size-fits-all. For those who fit, this is a superior school. Not so much for the others. Having both a son and daughter, I would say that the school is not well suited for the average boywho requires activity and hands-on learning. Opportunities to be active are limited, and are the first thing taken away when discipline is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

I researched private and public schools extensively on the N. side and found St. Richards to be the best. It is challenging & students learn to budget their time immediately. Ambitious and high ability learners thrive. It is superior to any Gifted and Talented program I've seen in public school. It is a caring and progressive community of bright and talented students. Rarely do you have a school with such diversity and high academic expectations. Hardworking students are not excluded as they would in some programs or schools. The work ethic is respected and promoted which is just one of many intangibles received from this school. We drive 45 minutes each way because there is nothing better. Students take French beginning in elementary. Music/voice lessons, art enrichment and sports programs are some of the after school activities. St. Richards is not your typical Indiana school. It is so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I personally consider St. Richard's School a wonderful environment for children to grow up in. I believe my children left with confidence as well as an unparalleled education.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 7, 2004

ST. Richards is a school which needs major improvements in the educational field and the treatment of it's minority students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 29, 2004

St. Richard's is an excellent school with great traditions. My sons enjoy the academics, physical education and their friends. Please take a look at St. Richard's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 66% 74%
Black 1 14% 12%
Multiracial 1 6% 4%
Hispanic 1 4% 7%
American Indian 1 1% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Latin, French, Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Amstutz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (317) 921-3367

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Independent Study
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Super Bowl
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Foreign language club: Latin, French, Spanish
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Red, Green
School mascot
  • Dragon
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$13000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
CHOICE
Application fee
Yes. $75.
Fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School
Cathedral High School
Park Tudor School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 East 33rd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46205
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 926-0425

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download