GreatSchools Rating

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 351 students

We are best known for culture and diversity of religion, race and socio-economics
 
 

 
 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

St. Joan of Arc is an amazing community and educational environment. The thing our family loves most about this place is how faith is integrated into every part of our kids' education. Kindness and consideration seem to be as important as academic skills - which aligns with our own personal values. The school is diverse economically, ethnically, and includes students with many different faith backgrounds. The principal puts great emphasis on teacher development, which the staff seems to appreciate. I feel privileged that my children attend school in this wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

St. Joan of Arc has made remarkable progress over the past decade - it now is truly an excellent school that we are extremely proud to have our children attend. More and more parishioners are sending their children to the school, as the quality simply increases every year. Enrollment is up, standards are very high, academic achievement is very high, and the teachers are simply fantastic. The tuition rates are very reasonable compared to other quality Catholic schools in the city, and well worth the expense. Our hope is that more and more parishioners send their children to St. Joan of Arc, as the gains made will be solidified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

Expensive school- not a great value.Seems like low tuition but then add in all the extra fees and it is more than other private schools. Constant fundraising- more than most school. Art program is very weak. Large class sizes. Most of the resources go to getting remedial kids up to speed and little progaming for advanced learners. High teacher turnover. Better than IPS but still not worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

An amazing environment providing our children with a strong foundation that will last a lifetime. SJA is going places, don't miss your chance to be a part of it! Join us for an Open House on January 30th at 11:30am & January 31st at 5:30pm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

St. Joan of Arc just keeps getting better. Enrollment has steadily increased due to the special blend of excellent education, Christian values, and extracurriculars. We have a daycare, preschool, and K-8 in the same building, which lets the older kids be leaders and interact with the littler kids (reading to them, leading teams of students, etc)! This is really special as I have seen older kids from other schools that are mean to little kids ... you never see that at SJOA. We have a fine arts program, a community garden, and strong athletics. The staff are great at winning grants for items like smartboards in the classroom, a Safe Routes to School program, and special programs (i.e. the 1st grade just won a grant for a trip to the Challenger space program). The reading and math programs are great too, resulting in stellar ISTEP scores and kids that have really learned the skills. All the kids read constantly, and compete to be in the Millionaires Club (for reading 1,000,000+ words!). Another favorite is the strong parental involvement. If you are looking for a great learning environment for your kids, please come schedule a tour with our principal - you will love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

As a parent of 2 children at St. Joan of Arc I am pleased to share what a wonderful school it is! SJOA focuses on academics, leadership, and service. The school has racial, economic,and religious diversity that creates a truly loving, talented community. Diversity is not just a buzzword here. The students have a well rounded, enriched experience in academics, arts, sports and service as they are transformed into future leaders. We have it all at SJOA- early childhood education from infants to pre-k, k-8th grade, an exceptional NYO/Afterschool care, athletics, arts, a progressive open library concept and more. SJOA is an all around great value at an affordable cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

St. Joan of Arc is the best kept secret in the neighborhood! It is an intimate school family, diverse socioeconomically & culturally, has an excellent staff to student ratio, the ISTEP scores are 92.7%, my children are challenged, the faculty is top notch, etc. etc.! In addition, the Family Supporting Faculty (PTO) was rated top in the nation among Catholic schools. If you are looking for an excellent Catholic education that truly follows its Christian mission, you can't beat St. Joan of Arc! On a side note, check out the church. It's breathtaking and the pastor is such a man of Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

We took great care in deciding where to send our children to school. We wanted to make sure our involvement would be welcomed, and our suggestions would be heard and considered. St. Joan of Arc has proven to be exactly what we wanted! Not only is parental involvement appreciated, it is expected of each parent. I love the nurturing environment and the sense of family. The reading program is awsome and has made my child a life-long reader. Every day he reads something! I love the fact that there is a freah salad-bar and deli option for lunch. To top it off, they take the opportunity to teach kids about proper food portions during luch time. An added feature is the community garden/recycling program. And, I always feel connected to the school and teachers through the constant flow of communication through blogs, great website (sjoa.org) and daily e-mails from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

St. Joan of Arc is an outstanding school with an open caring environment in which students, parents and teachers treat one another with respect. The academics are outstanding. It was recently named and Intel School of Distinction.


Posted May 16, 2009

St.Joan of Arc has gone from 55% passing ISTEP 5 years ago to 92.7 % passing this year. exemplary status has been received each of these years as well. The success of this school is a combined effort of administration, excellent teachers and parents who want to see their children be succesful! Come join a winning team.


Posted September 22, 2008

If you are looking for a quality, christian education with a strong family support system, look no further than St. Joan of Arc. We are diverse, we appreciate the arts, we have a wonderful faculty and the education is top notch. St. Joan of Arc begins with the Mini Monarchs program from 6 months to 3 years old, offers preschool and prekindergarten and then is an established K-8th grade school. Come take a tour of our school and learn all of these wonderful things for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Both of my children attend St. Joan of Arc. It is a wonderful school and community. The teachers are top notch and work hard to make the school an enjoyable place for learning. The principal of the school is dedicated and has developed a loving, respectful culture of academic and social learning for our kids. The environment is diverse and the parents are very involved at so many levels. Besides the strong academic curriculum St. Joan offers well rounded opportunites for our kids through athletics, the arts, music, technology and social clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I am very honored that my son attends this school. As far as I am concerned my son loves this school. This school has helped my son learn values, of being a worthy Christian, homework habits that were built with the help of such caring teachers that worked with him one on one throughout the school year. The staff has helped me and my husband with our child financially with tuition choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

St. Joan of Arc School will help your children build a strong base. This involves academics, arts, sports and extracurricular activities. There is strong parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

Absolutely everything which was addressed in the negative review is the exact opposite of how the school truly is. My daughter attends this school thru a grant and is treated the exact same as every other student. She has been very protected due to unnerving problems in our lives and has been encouraged to continue her intellectual pursuit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

The last review concerning the supposed negative aspects of St. Joan is pure nonsense. Obviously, the reviewer has an ax to grind and doesn't hav ethe nerve or decency to address the situation properly. St. Joan is a wonderful school with incredibly hard working teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2005

My godchildren attend St. Joan of Arc. They absolutely love it there! The teachers are supportive, friendly, and most of all Christian. I have walked through the halls and been so impressed with the quality of education going on! I am a teacher at a nearby school, and would definitely recommend St. Joan of Arc!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

Unfortunatley this school had the potential to return to its greatness, however in the past year has taken a nasty turn. The nurturing family enviornment has dissolved and the administration is not supportive of the children, faculty or parents. The test scores are some of the lowest in Indianapolis and the attempts to rectify this are shallow. The new principal has just come from the school with the LOWEST test scores in the archdiocese. There is a lot of talk and no action. Attention is given only to parishoners even though its the children of the community who make this school special. There is minimal extra curricular activities. Unfortunatley I do not see success for this school's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 45% 74%
Black 1 41% 12%
Multiracial 1 13% 4%
Hispanic 1 1% 7%
American Indian 1 0% 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2 N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 10%N/AN/A
Special education 214%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/AN/A
Source: 1 Manually entered by school official
Source: 2 IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Pat Sharpe
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 931-3380

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Printing Partners
  • MKNA
  • SRTS
  • CYO
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • CYO sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • CYO sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white, black
School mascot
  • monarch
More from this school
  • Join us for our Open House: Friday, Oct 19, 2012 6:00PM for preschool through Kindergarten. Sunday, January 27, 2013 Open House for all grades
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes. $300.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cathedral High School
Bishop Chatard High School
Brebeuf High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 East 42nd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46205
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 283-1518

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download