Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
St. Joan of Arc is an amazing community and educational environment. The thing our family loves most about this place is how faith is integrated into every part of our kids' education. Kindness and consideration seem to be as important as academic skills - which aligns with our own personal values. The school is diverse economically, ethnically, and includes students with many different faith backgrounds. The principal puts great emphasis on teacher development, which the staff seems to appreciate. I feel privileged that my children attend school in this wonderful environment.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
St. Joan of Arc has made remarkable progress over the past decade - it now is truly an excellent school that we are extremely proud to have our children attend. More and more parishioners are sending their children to the school, as the quality simply increases every year. Enrollment is up, standards are very high, academic achievement is very high, and the teachers are simply fantastic. The tuition rates are very reasonable compared to other quality Catholic schools in the city, and well worth the expense. Our hope is that more and more parishioners send their children to St. Joan of Arc, as the gains made will be solidified.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 2

Posted August 15, 2011
- a parent
Expensive school- not a great value.Seems like low tuition but then add in all the extra fees and it is more than other private schools. Constant fundraising- more than most school. Art program is very weak. Large class sizes. Most of the resources go to getting remedial kids up to speed and little progaming for advanced learners. High teacher turnover. Better than IPS but still not worth the money.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
An amazing environment providing our children with a strong foundation that will last a lifetime. SJA is going places, don't miss your chance to be a part of it! Join us for an Open House on January 30th at 11:30am & January 31st at 5:30pm.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
St. Joan of Arc just keeps getting better. Enrollment has steadily increased due to the special blend of excellent education, Christian values, and extracurriculars. We have a daycare, preschool, and K-8 in the same building, which lets the older kids be leaders and interact with the littler kids (reading to them, leading teams of students, etc)! This is really special as I have seen older kids from other schools that are mean to little kids ... you never see that at SJOA. We have a fine arts program, a community garden, and strong athletics. The staff are great at winning grants for items like smartboards in the classroom, a Safe Routes to School program, and special programs (i.e. the 1st grade just won a grant for a trip to the Challenger space program). The reading and math programs are great too, resulting in stellar ISTEP scores and kids that have really learned the skills. All the kids read constantly, and compete to be in the Millionaires Club (for reading 1,000,000+ words!). Another favorite is the strong parental involvement. If you are looking for a great learning environment for your kids, please come schedule a tour with our principal - you will love it too!

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of 2 children at St. Joan of Arc I am pleased to share what a wonderful school it is! SJOA focuses on academics, leadership, and service. The school has racial, economic,and religious diversity that creates a truly loving, talented community. Diversity is not just a buzzword here. The students have a well rounded, enriched experience in academics, arts, sports and service as they are transformed into future leaders. We have it all at SJOA- early childhood education from infants to pre-k, k-8th grade, an exceptional NYO/Afterschool care, athletics, arts, a progressive open library concept and more. SJOA is an all around great value at an affordable cost.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
St. Joan of Arc is the best kept secret in the neighborhood! It is an intimate school family, diverse socioeconomically & culturally, has an excellent staff to student ratio, the ISTEP scores are 92.7%, my children are challenged, the faculty is top notch, etc. etc.! In addition, the Family Supporting Faculty (PTO) was rated top in the nation among Catholic schools. If you are looking for an excellent Catholic education that truly follows its Christian mission, you can't beat St. Joan of Arc! On a side note, check out the church. It's breathtaking and the pastor is such a man of Christ.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
We took great care in deciding where to send our children to school. We wanted to make sure our involvement would be welcomed, and our suggestions would be heard and considered. St. Joan of Arc has proven to be exactly what we wanted! Not only is parental involvement appreciated, it is expected of each parent. I love the nurturing environment and the sense of family. The reading program is awsome and has made my child a life-long reader. Every day he reads something! I love the fact that there is a freah salad-bar and deli option for lunch. To top it off, they take the opportunity to teach kids about proper food portions during luch time. An added feature is the community garden/recycling program. And, I always feel connected to the school and teachers through the constant flow of communication through blogs, great website (sjoa.org) and daily e-mails from the administration.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a community member
St. Joan of Arc is an outstanding school with an open caring environment in which students, parents and teachers treat one another with respect. The academics are outstanding. It was recently named and Intel School of Distinction.

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School 5

Posted May 16, 2009
- a community member
St.Joan of Arc has gone from 55% passing ISTEP 5 years ago to 92.7 % passing this year. exemplary status has been received each of these years as well. The success of this school is a combined effort of administration, excellent teachers and parents who want to see their children be succesful! Come join a winning team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Joan of Arc Catholic School
500 East 42nd Street, Indianapolis, IN  46205
(317) 283-1518
Last modified St. Joan of Arc Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. Joan of Arc Catholic School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top