Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-3|Private
604 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 1

Posted July 30, 2016
- a parent
The Head of School, David Garner needs to go. There is no leadership within the school from the top down. Administration is incompetent at best. Lower School Principal called in each child from one classroom and asked each, "Who is the worst child in your class." Unprecedented! The unprofessionalism and lack of care about the school by David Garner, is ruining what used to be a great school. They need to replace Garner with someone who actually earns the money. Staff is living in fear of being fired, as they work on a one year contract. Several teachers were fired last year by the Lower School Principal, Trina Haygaru. The campus has "trailers" in the parking lot for classes. The qualifications of administration are in question. No concerns are ever addressed, the attitude is divide and conquer by admin. For 18K go look at the other private schools, Sycamore, Park Tudor, Orchard....no comparison. This school is a train wreck due to the lack of leadership and a person who is coasting to retirement and could care less about anything other than playing his guitar.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3)
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 29, 2016
- a parent
I think that the teachers are working in a toxic environment currently and have expressed anonymously that they are afraid of being fired and the tactics used by the administration have greatly diminished their ability to teach. There was an atmosphere of fear among the staff.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3)
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 29, 2016
- a parent
There are major discipline issues in the Lower School and nothing is done to address them. There are children in the classrooms with needs that cannot be addressed by ISI. These children take up much of the teacher's time and take away from the learning experience of others. There is no counselor for these children and no disciplinary action like expulsion happens. Some of these kids need to be in schools that have the resources to manage their behavioral, social and educational needs.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 5

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
The 37 students in ISI s Class of 2012, many of whom had been at ISI since pre-school, have also been accepted at outstanding colleges in the US and overseas and have been offered $4.2 million in merit scholarship awards. This school model is working!!

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a senior and has been attending ISI since she was four years old. In that time, of course, the school has seen some changes, but overall I am very pleased with the education my daughter has gotten at ISI. The small class rooms, the native speaking teachers with such enthusiasm about education, have just been wonderful for my daughter. Yes, occasionally I have had incidents that have concerned me regarding parent-administration communication, but so very few in all the years my daughter has attended.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 3

Posted July 31, 2010
- a parent
We moved our middle child to ISI after some bullying at her then elementary school, in a good public school system. She has had a wonderful experience at ISI and we've not regretted the decision to move her. However - we also sent our youngest to ISI. She has been there since Kindergarten, and has had problems since then. She was consistently bullied by a class mate for over 5 years, and it only stopped when we threatened the school with legal action and calling the police to have the child arrested. The school does not keep records of when the children are sent to the office for misbehavior, so every time is considered the first time. They do not communicate with the parents of either the child being bullied or the child doing the bullying. Education is okay. Math is not done well and needs work.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 4

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Native speakers who are licensed to teach work teach languages to the children. They are able to provide the students with a tremendous amount of culture, awareness of peoples of other countries, and different ways of thinking about the world. T

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter is in first grade French- There are two French 1st grade classes and each only has 9 kids per class!! The curriculum and the quality of education she receives are exceptional and unique in Indiana. She can read and write both in French AND in English! Her level of fluency in French is amazing. The teachers are all caring and dedicated to promote both diversity and a multicultural vision. We love our school and are excited for our daughter's future!

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Last years High School class had 20% admitted to Ivy League schools and some of the great schools in the world. Their success rate on the International Baccalaureate exam is unsurpassed in the United States and one of the best in the world. We are lucky to have such an elite school in Indiana.

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
What a great school. My kids are confident in languages and learning things that I couldn't imagine. I am most impressed at how all the kids respond to the high expectations.

Nearby schools

International School Of Indiana (Pk-3)
4330 North Michigan Road, Indianapolis, IN  46208
(317) 923-1951
Last modified International School Of Indiana (Pk-3) is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
Top