GreatSchools Rating

Andrew J Brown Academy

Charter | K-8 | 667 students

We are best known for moral focus and back-to-basics educational program
 
 

 

Living in Indianapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

If you want your child to be able to eat, pee or have a desk the first two weeks of school you may want to look elsewhere. Children have only fifteen minutes to eat which include transit time to and from cafeteria and collecting trays. If your child needs to pee outside of breaks you are told it takes away from educational time and your child is told no. Teachers are there one day and gone the next. No stability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

I have been associated with Andrew J. Brown Academy since it's beginning. One of the things I appreciate is the standards set by NHA, and carried out by its principal, Mrs. Wyatt. One thing I believe needs to be expressed is that it takes the parents, teachers, and students working in cooperation in order to ensure the educational success of each child. An older educator once said, "When a student fails, it is not the fault of the student." So the blames has to fall on those who have been assigned the task of teaching. A child's first teachers are their parents. Respect, honor, hard work, confidence, a love for people and for learning are established long before a child enters a classroom. The opposite of these is true also. One of the major faults of the US as a whole, is the fact that we vocally and openly asassinate the character of our leaders. I learned as a child, "A house divided against itself can not stand". We are quick to judgement and slow to mercy not considering that what we sow comes back sometimes in a bomper crop.


Posted May 10, 2013

The demographics are incorrect for the 2012-2013 school year. The school is about 85% black, 10% Hispanic, maybe 2% white and less than 1% Asian/other.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2010

The principal is very mean and yells and does not listen to the dtudents
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

I taught at this school for several years. The students are allowed to disrespect teachers and other students with little to no consequences. Learning is compromised in every classroom due to behavior issues and poor administrative support. The enviromnent is unstable and unsafe.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2008

I pulled my child from this school after the first semester, this school has no direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Andrew J Brown is a great school. I have two children in this school and I have been dealing with the school, teachers, and the principle very closely for almost four years. I think the school is doing a great job in teaching, disipline and one on one contact. I am proud to be a parent in support of AJB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I originally enrolled my son in this school to take advantage of their all dcday kindergarten. I have allowed him to stay because of his enthusiasm for attending the school. I believe this is because of the teachers and the principal, Mrs. Wyatt. I am somewhat concerened about the school's lack of services for children with Special Needs. My son may be gifted, and he is just put in with the group, without any accomadations. I did not enroll my older son because he is Autistic, and I have not observed any services that would be available to him. I am considering changing my son to a school that can deal with children with exceptional learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

This school lacks in curriculum. My child is very bright. His 3rd grade class has no instruction for science or social studies. When I asked the principal about it, she pointed the finger at the teacher. The school does not provide its teachers with adequate resources to teach state required courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

My child attends this school and I am thankful for the support and encouragment that we have received. Andrew J. Brown Academy has been dilligent in assisting my son in obtaining a good education and better social skills. The principal as well as the staff, have been very patient and have shown much concern with my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

10/2/2007- I pulled my child from this school after two months. The school has no direction or discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My children are excelling at this school. Great principal.
—Submitted by an administrator


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 12%
Hispanic 19% 10%
Multiracial 5% 4%
White 2% 72%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 14%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State Champion 100 Black Men (2011)
  • State Champion 100 Black Men (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Thelma Wyatt
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 891-0908

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Black History Team
  • Math club
  • Spell Bowl
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Navy blue, white
School mascot
  • Brown Bear
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
200
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
445
Students typically come from these schools
George Buck (IPS 94)
John Marshall
Imagine East

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Warren Central HS
Lawrence Central HS
John Marshall HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3600 North German Church Road
Indianapolis, IN 46235
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 891-0730

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download