Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

700 students|Herron Charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herron High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
Mr. Benzel, he has a very likable personality and if you do not understand something he will re-explain it differently that before and will keep working with you until you have mastered the skill.

Herron High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
They get some bad ones now and then but they don't last long usually not even a semester before getting fired.

Herron High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
They hold the student accountable and not the parents for everything from homework to arriving on school on time, unlike many schools.

Herron High School 4

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
I love this school, however Latin should be an elective as students should have the option to choose what language they would like to learn. Personally I would like to learn Spanish, which is not even offered, as it is needed for nearly every job you can get. Additionally the electives are very limited to the arts; theatre, painting, music. Having more electives would be great, other than that this school is awesome.

Herron High School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Herron has been wonderful! This is my son's first year (9th grade) at Herron and he already feels he is part of a great community of learners. The teachers at Herron really do care about each student. They challenge students appropriately, but guide them while encouraging independence. My son has become involved in many before and after school clubs and activities. They offer so many that it was difficult for him to choose. The times offered before, during, and after school to receive extra help and complete classwork really lightens students' loads at home. I'm sending all my children to Herron!

Herron High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter would have been thrown away , if not for Herron high school. After being pushed into algebra as an eighth grader at her public MS/HS, she was failing in algebra before she even got to high school. Herron had her tested and we had our first case conference, all within two weeks. She went on to take four years of math, take many AP and college courses, and graduate with honors . She is beginning her Junior year at Ball State University, studying film. Herron taught her SO much more than math... They literally saved her life. Cannot thank them enough!

Herron High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Herron High School has offered my son and my host son from Mexico a great learning environment upheld by character development and values. The faculty are second to none. They knew my son's strengths and areas for growth.

Herron High School 4

Posted May 31, 2014
- a student
I've been at Herron since my freshman year and I'm now currently a junior (soon-to-be senior). There are some aspects of Herron that I love and some aspects that I hate. Firstly, the majority of the teachers are all great at what they do and are very knowledgable in their subject. All of the teachers I have had strive to make us better students, as well as better people. I think that students who complain about the rules haven't experienced the "real world". I currently have a job so I understand the importance of a uniform and being on time. Herron is trying to prepare us to be above-average citizens. I do, however, think that the way the administration goes about giving demerits to students is disrespectful. The administrators strut around the school pointing out any minor flaws and then make a point to embarrass the student for it. Also when it comes to teasing or bullying, I've noticed that it's been towards religious people most of the time. I understand that everyone has different opinions, but on multiple occasions, I've seen religious people be criticized and teased for what they believe. Herron prides itself on its equality, but from what I've seen, it hasn't been so.

Herron High School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a student
You get in trouble for everything here and it's ridiculous. I hate it here! Ugh

Herron High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Herron is a wonderful school with top notch faculty and administration, a safe environment and a multitude of opportunities for children to grow into world class citizens within a culture of acceptance and openness.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herron High School
110 East 16th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46202
(317) 231-0010
Last modified Herron High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herron High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top