Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Cummings is always available to talk to and help rectify any problem we may have. She is kind, compassionate, and caring.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
They take names of families that are in need and provide them with a big brown grocery bag of food every Thursday. They also help families with coats, gloves, hats, Christmas...I could go on.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
This school as a character education class. How much do our children need that in today's society?

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
I don't know why these reviews are stating that they do not have textbooks. This school as plenty of textbooks. Although, aren't we as a society trying to go to more online and blended classrooms with technology? This school has excellent curriculum, teachers, support staff, and administration. They go above and beyond for all their students and families. They have after school tutoring that is FREE! They even have after school clubs that are free as well. They do home visits just to see how our family is doing. They take lots of field trips to make sure the students get real life experiences. I have nothing bad to say about this school. Keep up the good work.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
DO NOT send your student to this school. Classrooms do not have textbooks or do not have enough for every student. Students cannot bring home a science book for fear some students will lose theirs. How are they supposed to learn?! When kids gets papers back they are not graded for correct work but effort. Corrections are supposed to be made during class periods and most of them are spent with some teachers yelling, kids getting pulled out, and presentations that aren't explained. At the start of the school year they were still painting, back to school night was unorganized, agendas were not passed out for more than a month. There are multiple unlicensed teachers in classrooms and students receive copious amounts of homework that do not get genuinely graded. I don't know how any child is to get help when these policies are not explained. A large group of students spend a lot of time in the office for trouble and they make it hard for other children to get any information. The administration is not present and many of the kids don't know who their principal is or the assistant principal.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My son attended on two separate occasions , for kindergarten and 2nd. I thought id give them a second chance because public school in our area doesn't rate well and my son has ADHD. Way too much homework he could not even keep up . He literally did homework from the time he came home until like 8 pm. They lost his homework binder at school and gave him An F for all assignments in it! I can't follow him to school , help my son ! It's on his IEP to have assistance turning homework in ! And they never let him make it up. I had to transfer him back to public so he would pass 2nd grade

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 2

Posted December 14, 2013
- a community member
This school is very unorganized. This year, they are suspending anybody for what they do no matter what. They do not keep up with files, have teachers every different month. I will not recommend your child to go to this school but the teaching part is great though. But the children acts up a lot and i do not see nothing changed about it.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 4

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
my school is a good school with amazing teachers. It also has great extra-curricular clubs to extend learning opportunities.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a teacher
IMSA South is a joke. The school opened and most of the teachers had no books, no computers, and no phones in the rooms. Smartboards were installed incorrectly and weren't working even when computers were delivered. Teachers had to figure out how to trouble shoot and get everything up and running, as there were no IT people on staff. Enrollment changed on a daily basis, with very little prior notice. Kids just showed up to class and teachers had to add them to their list. It wasn't like teachers could receive an email due to the fact that there were either no computers or there was no internet connection. The dismissal procedure left much to be desired. To say it was chaotic would simply be too kind. Construction on the rooms should have been completed prior to opening, but it wasn't. Picture kids trying to learn in a classroom with LIMITED resources (translation for many teachers even into the fourth week of school: no books); no air conditioning, no screens in the windows, and contractors coming and going repeatedly out of the classroom. Let's not even mention the aimless, unorganized curriculum and discipline policies.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 1

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
No one should allow their children to attend this school. They treat kids like adults and they and focus on holding back your children for no reason.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
4575 West 38th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46254
(317) 298-0025
Last modified Indiana Math & Science Academy - West is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Indiana Math & Science Academy - West Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top