Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
Most the students don't respect each other and there is a lit of drama there

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Grateful to: Student

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
I felt bullied by a girl at the school but I didn't really speak out I should have but I didn't have the guys

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
I did not enjoy going here didn't like the teachers they didn't make me feel welcomed

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
They give you packets of work that won't get graded most if the time it maybe even thrown away

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 1

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
(LONG BUT I PROMISE ITS WORTH IT!!!!!) I moved districts, and didn't want to attend ips because I thought it was terrible I promise you to choose ips over this school. I attended for 5 months, and I learned nothing here I feel like I lost IQ points, In math I learned nothing literally if you didn't finish the packet of homework you could write down random stuff and get the same points as everyone else who did the assignment. In Science I understood nothing the teacher was saying because English was his second language and his accent got in the way (I by no means am trying to offend anyone.) In Language Arts I had one teacher for reading and writing I still don't know which class I was in when I was in his class. When In lunch you don't get a choice on what you eat and I promise you the only choice you het is disgusting the smell of the food is disgusting. The food isn't even cooked at the school which is worst its cooked at IMSA south. Now imagine a room that is 6x7 ft wide, now imagine everytime your child did anything wrong instead of getting disciplined by the teacher (by using there words.) the teachers just send them to this room where they sit in the floor a wait for the principal to release them and any amount of children can get sent there at anytime causes remember this achool is k-8 grade. Also one last thing I attended this school in 2015 and my friends went there for there last year and told me a few things have changed but not much has. So you choose if you want your child to assist this school.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
I don't know if this school has developed since I left maybe it has maybe it hasn't

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 20, 2016
- a community member
Miss Zeno is always friendly and helpful. Mrs. Cummings is always helpful and understanding. Mr. Orozco is a great teacher.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West 5

Posted March 20, 2016
- a community member
I like this school. Mrs Cummings is amazing. She is the assistant but should be the principal. She is understanding, calming and gets things done. If I have any issues, I can count on her to help in anyway she can. My son is in middle school this year. The teachers my son has this year are great too. I really like Mr. Orazco. They have lots of after school activities. When I come in the building, Mrs. Zeno in the office always has a smile on her face. My son got in a little trouble this year and his grades were dropping. Mrs. Cummings talk to him and his teachers worked with him to get his grades up. They really care at this school and it shows. If I had a complain about this school is that the PTO is not very good.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Cummings is always available to talk to and help rectify any problem we may have. She is kind, compassionate, and caring.

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
They take names of families that are in need and provide them with a big brown grocery bag of food every Thursday. They also help families with coats, gloves, hats, Christmas...I could go on.

Nearby schools

Indiana Math & Science Academy - West
4575 West 38th Street, Indianapolis, IN  46254
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (317) 298-0025
Last modified Indiana Math & Science Academy - West is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Top