Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
The history, math, and english teachers are the bomb! They do an excellent job! If they left the school I wouldnt know what to do!

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
No students treat other students poorly, and this is because it doesnt count as bullying. The school needs to take some more control and try to prevent gossip.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
They try to promote anti-bullying, but their tactics are lacking. They had a speaker come in and talk about bullying. If it was done by a student it would have been more effective.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
The school tries to promote honesty, and fairness. Sometimes they dont do the best job because they pull us out of class to sit through a talk.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
The school year ended on a good note for my child. All in all he was able to accomplish what needed done to complete his 5th grade.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
This is to reflect one teacher only. The special education teacher is outstanding. I can't say enough about how this lady went beyond the call to assist my child.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
I had concern with a particular teacher, not the staff or other teachers, that she was unable to discern children with an IEP and those not requiring one, being able to complete assignments or interact the same way.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis 2

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
I will be honest, K-12 in Indiana is not the greatest with the Hoosier Academy. Of course they could have improved a little in the past two years I suppose. I found that it wasn't so flexible for your child to learn at their own pace, and stuck to a pretty restricting schedule. Your child has core classes to attend on certain days, and they might have two different times to select from to join the live virtual class in order to keep attendance up with their teacher. Also, if your kids need help, as in asking your teacher something, they are NOT always available, and you might have to call repeatedly before they contact you back. We had my oldest son in a K-12 program in another state that was outstanding, more flexible truly, for you to adjust your child's learning activities to meet your family's needs much better than the Hoosier Academy allows for. I was under-impressed, and overwhelmed with the way Indiana had structured the K-12 platform, verses what my child had been doing with K-12 public school before.

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a student
I love this school. The teachers are great and very helpful. The staff is great and helpful. There are very few problems and they are minor ones. I recommend this school to everyone. (I put a detailed review on the Hoosier Academies Virtual School page about this school. Oops)

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
I am very pleased with this school. My child started 9th grade it first it was confusing, but ones you understand everything it is very easy. I have not had a problem with kmail and teachers were quick to respond, and the teachers were concerned with student sucess in offering one on one help and extra practice class sessions. This is a lot more than what my local brick and mortar school would have done. I also like that parents can be more involved I can see all my childs assignments , which means no missing assignments. Also my child struggles in Math and with k12 the live class session are recorded so if my child is struggling with a concept we can go over and review the session as much as needed. My child is learning more and is enjoying school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis
2855 North Franklin Road, Indianapolis, IN  46226
(317) 495-6494
Last modified Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hoosier Academy - Indianapolis Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top