Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 3

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
The lower elementary program is quite strong, but there is continual teacher turnover in the middle school. Also, the principal is a poor communicator, takes parent support for granted and is sometimes even hostile to parents.

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Sidener Academy has played a pivotal role in developing our gifted child in a setting where he is valued and appreciated by other students.

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Sidener Academy is an amazing, close-knit school for the gifted and talented. The students at this school strive to learn every day and the teachers care so much about each and every student and it shows. Despite budget cuts the last couple of years, Sidener has held fundraisers in order to purchase the materials each classroom needs. I love this school!

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
My son is a 5th grader at Sidener Academy. He started there was he was in 2nd grade and prior to that he had a lot of behavior issues in the classroom. Once he was challenged with his school work, he became a different child. He loves going to school!

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
My son attends 2nd grade at Sidener. We moved our son from a private school to Sidener because we felt he needed a more challenging and inspiring environment. The material is based on the curriculum provided by the College of William and Mary. The work is well-rounded, thought provoking and challenging. Our son loves his teachers, classes and has made many friends. IPS can be presented with less than stellar reviews, but this school is awesome. We are a fairly new school with less than eight years of experience. Our principal is innovative and smart and is working with parents to make it a parent and community driven school.

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
Teachers and staff at this school TRULY understand the gifted student and care about the future of each individual child. They teach and nurture the entire student to help them grow and flourish. It's a family atmosphere-bullying is taken very seriously. Academics are top notch. Your child is allowed to flourish at his/her pace. The parents are supportive and kind. The principal is approachable and will make changes if necessary. My child is completely different since attending this school. He's mature, confident and happy. This is an amazing school.

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Sidener Academy is innovative and dynamic. My son finally enjoys going to school everyday. In addition, he likes the challenging and aggressive learning experience. Being a parent, I also appreciate the involvement of their principal, very hearty and very responsive. This school definitely deserves a 5-star rating.

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a community member
My school is the best school in the world! There are two specials in one day. Sidener has really nice teachers. -2nd Grade Student

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a teacher
Sidener Academy is a great school! The students are an amazing group of individuals. Staff members work very hard to have differentiated instruction for their students. This way, students get the most out of their learning!

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was invited last summer for her 4th grade year and loved school for the first time. She loves that she doesn't already know everything and is looking forward to going back. I'm much happier with her school then my son's. Normally her teachers would say oh she knows everything and not worry about her but she's now challenged and they seek to improve her skills and knowledge not just teach test.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sidener Academy for High Ability Students
2424 Kessler Boulevard East Drive, Indianapolis, IN  46220
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (317) 226-4259
Last modified Sidener Academy for High Ability Students is a Public school that serves grades 2-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top