Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

FTMS West welcomes open and honest feedback from parents. Our goal is to continually improve our service to students and parents. The more information we know, the better we can respond to your feedback.
October 18, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Township Middle School West
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
No. They expelled my niece for defending herself in a fight, did not attempt to get her help with her grades (tutoring), and picked on her. Her counselor is not a good person.

Franklin Township Middle School West
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
No. They treated BOTH my niece and my nephew horribly. My nephew was no longer allowed on the bus, they expelled my niece. It is a TERRIBLE school!!!

Franklin Township Middle School West 2

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
There is bullying at this school. Recording it due to the fact my son was suspended for fighting back and defending himself. Turning the findings over to the state to show schools neglect is children's safety.

Franklin Township Middle School West 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
FTMSW has teachers that are truly concerned about the students. There are regular communcations sent out leting the parents know what is going on in their classrooms. The FTMSW Facebook page is always posting information about what is going on regarding sports or club activities.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
FTMS West welcomes open and honest feedback from parents. Our goal is to continually improve our service to students and parents. The more information we know, the better we can respond to your feedback.
Posted October 18, 2013

Franklin Township Middle School West 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
My school is Middle School West in Franklin Township. My daughter is a seventh grader there and I have been so impressed with the level of education she has received over the last two years. She was a very average student till she started there. Now, she is an honor roll student! She feels valued by all her teachers and that has made all the difference for her! I also know that she is safe when she is at West. Their level of security is top notch! All the classroom doors remain locked during instruction times. Mr. Nathan Day is the primary reason why West is so awesome! He puts the students first in every decision he makes. He has organized fund raisers for kids with serious illnesses, gone Christmas caroling to the homes of students that teachers have recommended that need holiday cheer. He even shaved his head to raise money for cancer research. I live in a little crummy house but a big reason I haven't moved is because I want all of my children to have the benefit of attending Middle School West!

Franklin Township Middle School West 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a community member
I've been going to Middle School West since 5th grade and I'm currently in 7th grade. I personally don't think this school is all that bad. I've enjoyed my years so far. Yes, this school does have a few things that I don't like (for example, the lunches they provide) but not every school is perfect and I understand. The teachers are great and I'm looking forward to my 8th grade year. It's going to be my last year but I know I'm still going to miss it,

Franklin Township Middle School West 5

Posted December 16, 2012
- a parent
I switched my children back to public schools afer attening a private school. The students are nicer and the education is much better in the public schools.I think the staff truly cares about their studetns.Discpline is taken very serious in this school. No child is allowed to treat or bully others. It is not tolerated in public schools and that very important in the life of a child.

Franklin Township Middle School West 1

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
MY son has been at FTMS West since 5th grade and now is in 7th. My husband and I are very displeased with the leadership and education level. The teacher don't care about teaching or being mentors. My childs grade have always been A's and B's since kindergarten and now they are the low C's and even D's. I have asked for help from the guidance councilor and the teachers to help determine what is causing his grades to fall. They don't seem to care and it almost seems like you are being inconvenient when you want to help your child. I will not be sending my 9 year old to this school once she reaches the age. We will likely look in to Middle school East or even another township school.

Franklin Township Middle School West 4

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
I have had excellent response when needing attention, suggestions and some assistance with my son regarding his grades and education in general. My son does not have disciplinary problems, because that is supposed to be the parents' job. Teachers educate---parents discipline. Obviously, if you simply compare the passing scores/percentages of the ISTEP tests to other local schools, this school is doing a great job. I love this school and the dedication of the teachers, guidance counselors, principal and anyone else that works so hard to make a difference for our future by way of teaching our children.

Nearby schools

Franklin Township Middle School West
7620 East Edgewood Avenue, Indianapolis, IN  46239
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (317) 862-2446
Last modified Franklin Township Middle School West is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top