GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 529 students

We are best known for excellence in education
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2012

As a school that has received an "A" or "Exemplary" 3 years in a row, I am not sure how that equates to a "6". Come visit us and see how good we really are!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2012

I have one child attending this school now and one who will soon be going there. Recently I had an experience where I spent the day at another elementary school. That experience opened my eyes to what a wonderful principal and teachers we have at Arlington. Mr. Henriott is an involved and caring principal. The staff is extremely friendly and caring. This school makes me feel welcome when I am there. My child has LOVED every teacher she has had. Arlington is a fantastic school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

I have 3 children ranging in age from 8-17 that have all attended Arlington Elementary. The teachers and staff and principal truly care about the students and aren't just there awaiting their retirement. I am so proud to be a Patriot parent!!! We would love to move elsewhere in the township but will not do so until our youngest is out of Arlington because our children go to the best elementary school in Franklin Township!! Join the PTO and help this school continue to be AMAZING!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

As the parent of 2 children who currently attend Arlington and 1 who attended K-4, I can honestly say this is a phenomenal school! The staff truly cares about each and every child's education. They strive to ensure each student reaches their full potential and has a successful school experience. In addition to receiving a quality education, my children are made to feel special and that their talents are important. A parent couldn't ask for a better school environment or more dedicated staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

Lead by a Principal who sets the tone, this school is a place of inclusion, excellence, passion, and drive. He expects excellence from Teachers AND students. His staff is talented and passionate. After sending a daughter through Arlington, now we are Thrilled to have a son who started kindergarten this year. We are confident he will be set up for success just as our daughter was. Can't recommend this school highly enough. Jolene
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Our daughter is a second grader at Arlington Elementary. We have been exceedingly impressed with the quality education she is receiving. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure that everyone is learning and reaching their full potential. The principal, Mr. Henriott, takes the time to know his students and support his staff. They go beyond the regular curriculum to create critical thinkers who are challenged to make the world a better place using the talents they have. We are thrilled by the education our daughter is receiving and enjoy being a part of the Arlington community. Our daughter loves going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

The teachers at this school go above and beyond for the students! They care about each student individually and make sure each child is set up for success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My daughter started kindergarten this year and I couldn't be happier with this school. Her teacher is incredible! She has been very understanding and patient, but has a real concern for academic learning at the same time. I trust that she is in good hands and her education is too... that is saying a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Have 3 children in Arlington Elementary. The principle is a wonderfully dedicated man and the teachers are top notch. They have the best test scores out of all Indianapolis public schools. Truly an inspirational place for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

The staff here is truly inspiring! The Principle sets the tone and everyone, truly everyone I've come in to contact with has been amazing. Dedicated, creative, commited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Arlington Elem. has wondrful staff and personel. They are simly wonderful. You couldn't ask for a better school to send your child/children to. There at Arlington they work hard in making sure the child/children get the best education possible. They do an excellent job there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

I'm surprised at how few parents there are at the Parent/Teacher/Organization meetings for Arlington Elementary. I was even more surprised when I found out that most of the teachers don't live in the same township. It is profound how much the school is dependent upon the funds that the PTO raises. Not only does Arlington Elementary PTO need more parent support but, we also need to see more teacher support. The funds we raise today will help our children of tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 72%
Hispanic 12% 10%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Black 2% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 4%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Exemplary Progress (2010)
  • Exemplary Progress (2011)
  • "A" Grade from Indiana (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40 am
School end time
  • 3:40 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr David Henriott
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 784-6698

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white, and blue
School mascot
  • Patriot
More from this school
  • Come and visit us! You'll be impressed and we'd love to show you around!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Franklin Township Middle School West
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5814 South Arlington Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46237
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 782-4274

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download