Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
This is my child's second year at Broad Ripple, and I can't stress enough how much we both love this school! Not only is this an arts magnet middle and high school, but it offers exceptional academics as well. They have an honors program in middle school, as well as AP classes for high school. My child gets to take her art class every day in addition to a class that is an introduction to all of the arts Broad Ripple has to offer (theatre, dance, music, media). They have a zero tolerance policy for violence that they truly uphold, so I always feel like she's safe even amongst students much older than she. This school is full of amazing, dedicated teachers and staff, and the students are exceptional themselves. Plus, there's nothing as mind blowing as their spring talent show! It's something to see all of the arts represented a such a professional level!

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted December 14, 2011
- a student
I am a student that attends BRMHS. I've been to several schools, and Broad Ripple is by far the best! We have great teachers, unbelievably good help, a diverse and ACCEPTING student body, and many wonderful programs each year!

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a student
broad ripple high school is the best school .! it's not necessarily a bad school just because you think it's a ghetto school .

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 4

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
I have had two daughters graduate from Broad Ripple, one in 2005 and one in 2008; the third is a senior this year. I can't speak enough as to the quality of the humanities program... the oldest attended and graduated Butler Univ. and more than one professor asked where she went to high school because she was so well read and wrote so well. Daughter #2 is a 2nd year student at IU and very successful. Daughter #1 particiapted in theatre; #2 in art... both valued those opportunities and they served them well in college also. Daughter #3 has participated in vocals and musicals, a bit in telecom and athletics. There are wonderful opportunities if you work hard and give it your best.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The students are amazing - the student body is diverse, creative, hard-working, active in many school and community activities, and focused on academics. The staff is dedicated to helping students do their best in the Performing and Visual Arts, in Humanities, and in Media/Communications. These are the three curricular programs offered at the school. As you walk through the school, you will see beautiful student art work, see dancers, musicians, singers and actors perfecting their craft, and students reading important works of literature, studying Chinese, French or Spanish, connecting periods and history and world cultures to our own time and place in order to make the world a better place.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a student
I am a junior at Broad Ripple High School. While principals and teachers change, the education doesn't. Many people believe that if you go to BRHS, you'll get caught up in a gang or picked on or get stuck in horrible classes. It's not true. The students who are the trouble makers go to Indiaanpolis Public Schools because township, private, and parochial will not accept them. When parents take their children out of IPS because there are too many 'bad' kids, it only makes it worse: all of the 'good' kids leave IPS and the schools look worse because it is more populated with 'bad' kids. It's a vicious circle that greatly has to do with the parents.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
Broad Ripple is honestly a horible school seriously teachers only notice you if and only fi your in the magnet other that that my high school years have been hell

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted April 23, 2007
- a parent
Broad Ripple High School is a wonderful place to send your children. Your child will receive a fantasitc education, especially if he or she joins the magnet.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted March 29, 2006
- a student
As a student at Broad Ripple, I can honestly say that my high school experience, both academic and social, has been a high quality, diverse and enriching one. Broad Ripple, especially in the Humanities program, has dedicated, knowlegable, and enthusiastic teachers that are willing to go the extra mile for any one of their students. The visual arts, theatre, and dance programs are outstanding; many Broad Ripple students have won such prestigious awards as Prelude awards and Project eXceL. Going to school with such a diverse group of individuals with all different backgrounds, cultures, classes, and races has given the students at Broad Ripple a decided advantage over township schools - we are more exposed to diversity and life in the real world and therefore more equipped to deveolp into well rounded individuals. Though it has its faults, I would not trade my experience at Broad Ripple for anything.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 3

Posted February 23, 2005
- a parent
My son goes to Broad Ripple, and I graduated from Broad Ripple in 1991. It is a decent school for an inner city public school. I would reccomend it over Howe or Arsenal Technical

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
1115 Broad Ripple Ave, Indianapolis, IN  46220
(317) 693-5700
Last modified Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.