Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Wolinski is a wonderful teacher and a wonderful human being. She reminds me of teachers that taught you back when I was going to school that actually cared about that I was learning the material.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 3

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
This Is my second go around at Broad Ripple high school. I had a child that graduated in 2010. I have another child that is there currently. This school cares more about policies and beating their chest and to see who has more authority than they do about the children. The principal and the Vice Principal I don't know what kind of school they are running but I will it make it known downtown. They are rude and very unprofessional.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 2

Posted October 15, 2015
- a community member
This school's staff are rude and two-faced, there is no general care for the students or their education, only their discipline, and the parents are left out of almost every situation. This school has a robotic call system that harasses my house every time there are new activities or happenings that have nothing to do with anyone in my household, and even harasses my emergency contact. A select few of their staff are also prejudice. Half of the clubs this school seems to claim to offer are non existent. This school cares more about whether you're wearing leggings than they do about you graduating. They encourage forced labor. The current vice principal of the High School is disrespectful, and the principal's situation handling is god awful. They have yet to let the Middle School go, which is overpopulating the school, meaning less space and lesser opportunities to be placed in classes you need. The school is dirty and disgusting, and every time you report something to a staff member they pretend it's none of their business. There are food splatters on the walls from four years ago. They got rid of the Junior College Summit class, so now you have literally a month out of your first semester of Senior year to learn all there is about college and scholarships and financial aid. Positively, the school does offer diverse courses. There has been an added Psychology course made available, and select teachers do actually care about the students. The current principal and dean both seem to listen and care about the students as well. The amount of tardiness, fights, and overall bad behavior have seemed to drop. But there's honestly not much positive to say about this school. My recommendation: Don't send your child here unless you want to hear them complaining every other day or getting suspended for being late to class three times.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
This is my child's second year at Broad Ripple, and I can't stress enough how much we both love this school! Not only is this an arts magnet middle and high school, but it offers exceptional academics as well. They have an honors program in middle school, as well as AP classes for high school. My child gets to take her art class every day in addition to a class that is an introduction to all of the arts Broad Ripple has to offer (theatre, dance, music, media). They have a zero tolerance policy for violence that they truly uphold, so I always feel like she's safe even amongst students much older than she. This school is full of amazing, dedicated teachers and staff, and the students are exceptional themselves. Plus, there's nothing as mind blowing as their spring talent show! It's something to see all of the arts represented a such a professional level!

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted December 14, 2011
- a student
I am a student that attends BRMHS. I've been to several schools, and Broad Ripple is by far the best! We have great teachers, unbelievably good help, a diverse and ACCEPTING student body, and many wonderful programs each year!

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a student
broad ripple high school is the best school .! it's not necessarily a bad school just because you think it's a ghetto school .

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) 4

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
I have had two daughters graduate from Broad Ripple, one in 2005 and one in 2008; the third is a senior this year. I can't speak enough as to the quality of the humanities program... the oldest attended and graduated Butler Univ. and more than one professor asked where she went to high school because she was so well read and wrote so well. Daughter #2 is a 2nd year student at IU and very successful. Daughter #1 particiapted in theatre; #2 in art... both valued those opportunities and they served them well in college also. Daughter #3 has participated in vocals and musicals, a bit in telecom and athletics. There are wonderful opportunities if you work hard and give it your best.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The students are amazing - the student body is diverse, creative, hard-working, active in many school and community activities, and focused on academics. The staff is dedicated to helping students do their best in the Performing and Visual Arts, in Humanities, and in Media/Communications. These are the three curricular programs offered at the school. As you walk through the school, you will see beautiful student art work, see dancers, musicians, singers and actors perfecting their craft, and students reading important works of literature, studying Chinese, French or Spanish, connecting periods and history and world cultures to our own time and place in order to make the world a better place.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a student
I am a junior at Broad Ripple High School. While principals and teachers change, the education doesn't. Many people believe that if you go to BRHS, you'll get caught up in a gang or picked on or get stuck in horrible classes. It's not true. The students who are the trouble makers go to Indiaanpolis Public Schools because township, private, and parochial will not accept them. When parents take their children out of IPS because there are too many 'bad' kids, it only makes it worse: all of the 'good' kids leave IPS and the schools look worse because it is more populated with 'bad' kids. It's a vicious circle that greatly has to do with the parents.

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
no rating

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
Broad Ripple is honestly a horible school seriously teachers only notice you if and only fi your in the magnet other that that my high school years have been hell

Nearby schools

Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12)
1115 Broad Ripple Ave, Indianapolis, IN  46220
(317) 693-5700
Last modified Broad Ripple Magnet High School for the Arts & Humanities (9-12) is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top